We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Extraordinary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karen Donatelli Bakery and Cafe

Karen Donatelli Bakery and Cafe
Ranked #5 of 25 Bakeries in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $10
Cuisines: French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Asheville NC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Extraordinary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Well into their second year, the Donatelli's have proven that all the early raves were well deserved. In my opinion, this is probably as fine a bakery as I have ever frequented (and I have been lucky to visit many throughout the world). From their croissants to their incredible cakes, the quality of all they do is outstanding. Soon to have breads available, I doubt that anything you purchase will be a disappointment.....but if it's croissants you're after, best get there early or they'll be gone.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fredfrogAshevilleNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    14
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Asheville
Level Contributor
139 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best Birthday Cake EVER !!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stopped in Karen Donatelli's shop in Asheville for my birthday and had the most delicious cake EVER !!! It was a dark chocolate rasberry torte cake, with fresh chocolate dipped strawberries, and fresh blueberries and raspberries surrounded by a dark chocolate sauce and raspberry sauce. The cake was TO DIE FOR !!! It made my day. The Donatelli family has made us feel like family every time we're in there......It is an honor as well as a pleasure
to have them on our neighborhood's block. Abby and I love you guys!!! If you live in or ever
visit Asheville, NC .... you MUST stop in this place. Simply the best !!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BadNews1320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Wow! Delicacies as delicious as they are art to the eye! In a hard-core food town, Karen Donatelli impresses those with the highest standards. Don't miss this shop!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AshevilleDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Donatelli Bakery creates a tasty and uplifting confidence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My first stop in Asheville for the Small Plate Crawl lands me with a possible Internship with Karen and her Husband. Both Baker's have attened classes at The Culinary Institute of America in New York. Karen and the girl behind the counter we're very friendly, and open to tell me about the business. The dessert I enjoyed during my visit consist of three seperate Pastries. The first an Almond-Raspberry-Pistachi mini-cake which had a delicate cloud texture and great flavor combination. The second dessert is a Cherry-Brandy Tart which did have a slightly harder crust, but amazing flavor profile. Finaly, my personal favorite, a caramel chocolate mousse to die for!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shedlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Beautiful and top quality pastries...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

As good as anywhere in Europe. You will not be disappointed! The brioche are delicious. Her cakes are beautiful works of art.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ALP62_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karen Donatelli Bakery and Cafe also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Karen Donatelli Bakery and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing