We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and top quality pastries...”

Karen Donatelli Bakery and Cafe
Ranked #5 of 25 Bakeries in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $10
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Beautiful and top quality pastries...”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

As good as anywhere in Europe. You will not be disappointed! The brioche are delicious. Her cakes are beautiful works of art.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ALP62_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    17
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Catering!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Attending a symphony fund raiser today (Feb. 18, 2013 ) we were presented a wonderful lunch. The croissants, quiches , tarts and petit fours were big hits with the crowd. When we were told that they were made by Karen Donatelli , most everyone there admitted we were regular customers of her cafe and bakery.
We eat there weekly and believe she is the best baker Asheville has to offer.
Bon Appetit !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eugene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenville, sc
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The real deal!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This place is awesome, last trip to asheville we made our first visit in by chance to get out of the cold... we will 100% be back. We ordered an eclair that was incredible, very delicate and delicious, & we had some excellent coffee - haven't had a latte that perfect in a long time. The only thing you will regret by dropping in this place is that you don't have more calories to spend on all the tasty looking tarts, pastries, and cakes. Equipped with an awesome atmosphere, chefs hard at work in traditional cooking jackets and hats, and beyond excellent food makes this place a "can't miss" establishment in my book!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travellin_smiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WNC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great pastry, so-so service”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stopped here for a pastry and coffee one day last week with my 10-month-old. I was waited on initially and got my order and then was ignored the rest of the time. The couple at the next table was offered coffee refills which were brought to their table, but I was not, nor I was acknowledged when I left. There were other customers there but it was not especially busy. Perhaps it was not the place to go with a chatty baby but I have to say that this kind of service really irks me.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarthaStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stepped in out of the cold...”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Basicly stepped in to escape the cold and warmed up with tea and pastries. Beautiful cakes and deserts...great hot tea. Love this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karen Donatelli Bakery and Cafe also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Karen Donatelli Bakery and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing