We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such good dessert”

Karen Donatelli Bakery and Cafe
Ranked #5 of 25 Bakeries in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Such good dessert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

I come late nite for a dessert. the almost close the door. but they make me a box to go with delicious merengue tart and more thinks i like and i will be back. i like the box too is cute

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brazil_cat_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    15
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
200 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A wonderful respite in downtown Asheville ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

This wonderful Parisian-inspired bakery is amazing! I got a croissant and a slice of a fig tart to bring home. The croiassant was fabulous ... light and crispy and delicious. The fig tart was the perfect ending to an evening meal. I only regret that I haven't had the time to stay and enjoy a coffee and a pastry. The atmosphere is peaceful and very French. Definitely worth a try!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank localfoodluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
“Best Croissants in Town!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

This relatively new cafe/bakery (opened spring '12) already takes the cake for being the best in town!!! The best croissants in town!

And her cakes are very elegant looking, btw. Order for your formal event!

Her staff was also Very Helpful and Courteous, and the service was with a Radiant Smile!)

(My only complaint is that she doesn't have a baker's dozen! (That's been going on since the Middle Ages!!)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abilenedream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Level Contributor
165 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The Best Bakery/Cafe in Asheville !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

i can't say enough about this jewel of a bakery. It is without a doubt the best service, pastries, food or espresso. The showcases are visually loaded with the most beautiful pieces of art, and they taste even better! I moved into an apartment down the block and cannot think of a day that goes by that I don't think about going in there and buying the place out!!! It is that good. I pray they never leave our neighborhood. We love you guys!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BadNews1320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

We ordered a German Chocolate birthday cake for my father in laws 80 th birthday. It was ready as promised and absolutely divine! It came covered in chocolate covered strawberries, blackberries and raspberries. Everyone loved it. This is a truly exceptional bakery!!

Helpful?
2 Thank seallen76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karen Donatelli Bakery and Cafe also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Karen Donatelli Bakery and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing