We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view is worth it!”
Review of Sunset Terrace

Sunset Terrace
Ranked #43 of 793 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Charlotte Street
Description: Located on the back porch of the historic Main Inn, Sunset Terrace is a classic, iconic chophouse featuring the finest hand cut steaks, premier chops and fresh seafood. Partnering with local farmers, our chefs and staff are committed to providing you with a truly memorable Asheville dining experience. The Sunset Terrace is an outdoor dining venue and open seasonally as weather permits.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The view is worth it!”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We actually searched for a restaurant with a view and this came up. So glad we went, the view was beautiful and the experience was very relaxing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reht75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    155
    63
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Salalah, Oman
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“What a view!”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Seriously, the view is amazing! Sunset is the way to go if you have the option. The food is good and the wait staff is professional and on point. The only aggravating part was actually finding the place in the resort.

Helpful?
Thank Littlefoot2985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“View & Atmosphere”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

The building itself was breathtaking, the overall atmosphere was great, the view was nice, the food was average. I was expecting to see the colorful sunset but it actually sets behind one of the wings of the hotel. You can catch a quick glimpse of pink color over the roof for a minute & then that's it. So I was a little disappointed in not seeing a full on sunset. The overall feeling of the place & views of the mountains is what your paying for when dining here, the food is just average. The walk from the parking lot was quiet steep so you may want to consider valet if you're not up for the hike. Overall it was a nice experience, staff was friendly & we even received a free dessert for celebrating our anniversary with them.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StefLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnation, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful everything !”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Open air seating with a beautiful view ! Nice menu selections, food was terrific. Local craft beers, fresh seafood. Excellent service ! The entire setting and resort was wonderful as well !

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mphmactravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Grove Park M, Manager at Sunset Terrace, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Thank you for being our guest and for the wonderful recommendation you took the time to provide us. We are so glad you enjoyed our menu selections including our local craft beers and fresh seafood as well as the service you received and hope to welcome you back someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great location, good food”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

The setting is spectacular. The food (pork chops, salmon, trout) was good, but not great. You are paying for the ambiance.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Terrace also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Sunset Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing