We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I love Edna's!”

Edna's of Asheville
Ranked #593 of 781 Restaurants in Asheville
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I love Edna's!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Edna's of Asheville's serves creative and delicious snacks and beverages often made from local ingredients. The ambiance is kitch 50's diner enhanced with a few really comfortable couches. The food is great (try a fresh fruit smoothy!), but I love the waitstaff! They always greet me with warmth and humor - they've got pizazz and personality, and clearly enjoy working there. We meet as a group of friends there every Saturday morning and I follow it with a walk around nearby Beaver Lake. All of this makes for a great morning. As I said, I love Edna's! Thanks folks, for creating such a warm, inclusive and inviting environment; we appreciate you! Luz Rosengren, Asheville

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank erikrosengren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    21
    14
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“seriously, guys?”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

So this was my first visit to Edna's, but not to the location, which has housed several equally disappointing coffee shops over the years. The service was beyond awful/awkward/ridiculous. I had to wait forever to even place my order (with squirming toddler in tow) with NO LINE. I was told my name would be called then waited forever for our food/drinks to come up. nothing. went back up to the counter to buy my child her second banana, then I watch our food being brought to the table? see my smoothie sitting on the bar, ask if said smoothie is mine to which too old to work at a coffee shop girl replies "I've been calling and calling..".. are you sure you don't mean whispering? I was sitting less than 10 feet from the counter.. then my friend has to go BACK up to retrieve his coffee. The employees don't know their a$ses from their elbows, as per usual. I wouldn't go back to this coffee shop if they were handing out 100 dollar bills at the door. LAME. oh, and no highchairs. All adults were once children.... just wanted to point that out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ksadnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Edna's”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I love Edna's! Food is delicious and reasonably priced. Coffee and tea are excellent, and the staff is friendly. This is truly one of the most welcoming places in Asheville. I'm comfortable running in for a quick lunch or pulling out my laptop and getting a lot of work done. There is nothing hurried about this place. It's all homemade goodness. And Mike, the owner, is delightful!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 18EmilyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Must have hired the snooty baristas.”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Went there for a cup of coffee and felt likes we were putting them out, by ordering coffee and tea in a mug. No nice greating, just ''next person''. Felt like I was being glared at by the staff. They used to have more friendly folks working there. If you don't like waiting on people you should not be in this business. I've been in hospitality for 23 years and realize you have good and bad days but I'd say the people working today need a bit of customer service training.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trbbbbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapphire, North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cute Place!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Went there for breakfast yesterday, and had the sausage egg and cheese english muffin. I know..... I could of had that McDonalds right up the road, but the difference is, this wasn't soaked in grease. It was nice to have a breakfast sandwich minus the grease. Breakfast isn't my favorite meal, but my husband likes to eat first thing in the morning, so I did too. I didn't feel all heavy and yucky afterward, I actually felt really good, so YES I would go back there again.
They also have wifi, and a nice selection of coffees and teas. You can sit by the nice fireplace and socialize, or enjoy the quiet space to do your computer stuff.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank o2bnchanted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edna's of Asheville also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Edna's of Asheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing