We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best kept secret in Asheville”

The Montford Park Players
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: North Carolina's longest running Shakespeare Festival, the Montford Park Players presents free classical theatre under the stars all summer long - donations are welcome. The Montford Park Players also presents a free indoor season from October through April in downtown venues.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Belmont, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best kept secret in Asheville”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is something that every visitor should work into their calendar. These guys are amazing. The show was witty and entertaining.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank supermo2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    23
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Entertainment abounds”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I haven't had as much fun in years as last night with "Shakespeare in the Park". Located in an intimate amphitheater with grassy stepped tiers, you can bring a blanket, picnic, favorite beverage, and your dog to enjoy a very well done contempory version of the "Bards" plays. A two story midieval stage, inventive costumes and the night sky above complete the setting. This is a "must do" just minutes from downtown.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Christmas Carol”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

What a great troupe!
A very funny and scary spin on a classic. I was amazed with the creativity of their interpretation.
I generally do not go to the theatre, these folks will have me coming back!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Akiba F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a summer must!”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

this is a favorite in the summer. great performers! free in the summer! love to pack a picnic and bottle of wine and enjoy the show ! very relaxing!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Merry Wives, Merry Audience”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

They clearly UNDERSTOOD what they were saying.
They brought the characters and situations to hilarious life and it was the PERFECT introduction to Asheville.

We can't wait to see another production. Thank you MPP!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontfordParkPlayers, General Manager at The Montford Park Players, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thanks for sharing with us! We strive to make our guests' experience the best it can be, and we look forward to your next visit with us.
John Russell, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Montford Park Players also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Montford Park Players? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing