We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super convenient, super friendly service, could use a few more luxuries for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2010

We planned to spend most of our recent trip seeing Biltmore House and Estate and chose this hotel because it looked like a nice, luxurious place for a getaway, offered packages including estate admission and was the most conveniently located - right on the estate with shuttles to the house and other estate attractions like gardens and carriage rides. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this hotel for anyone planning to spend a lot of time visiting Biltmore (as opposed to downtown Asheville, which has a lot of other hotels located much closer to it). From the estate entrance gate, it's a drive of a couple miles over fairly narrow, winding roads that are quite dark at night, just to get to the hotel. But once you are there you won't need your car as long as you stay on the estate, as the shuttles staffed with very friendly drivers run regularly and take you right where you need to go, usually dropping you off closer and with less hassle than if you tried driving around in your own car.

The hotel itself is nice with a vintage feel, even though it's only a few years old. It features beautiful vistas of the estate from the public areas and restaurants - and probably from some of the rooms too, though we didn't want to pay the premium cost for a room with a fancy view when you can enjoy it from the spacious public areas. The hotel has several restaurants and we ate in the formal "Dining Room" for breakfast (included with the package) and dinner, and the Library Lounge for afternoon tea. The food and wait service in both places was very good, and the servers were very nice. All the hotel staff we dealt with were extremely friendly and helpful, right down to the telephone operators, and the friendliness was really a cut above the sometimes snooty service you get other places.

The room decor is pretty standard "fancy hotel" but the room itself is very comfortable. Ours featured a large TV, a very comfortable king-sized bed, and Wi-Fi that was free (though a little bit slow). I was disappointed in the bathroom though. Usually, higher-end hotels have deep or Jacuzzi tubs (unless they have modern shower stalls). Our room had the standard type of bathtub you'd find in a business hotel like a Marriott - nothing special at all, though the bathroom itself was huge. Also, the room was lacking in food- and drink-related amenities such as a minibar, a refrigerator (for leftovers from that fancy restaurant or for casual snacks), or even wineglasses and a corkscrew (a particularly glaring omission given that the estate pushes the wine very heavily and the hotel gift shop has racks of it on sale). I realize you could probably get a corkscrew from room service, but then you have to tip them or at worst pay for the use of the corkscrew, and most rooms just have one already there.

Our terrace room did have a pleasant outdoor seating area, which we utilized (especially because for some reason our cell phones and blackberries did not work inside the structure - they did work outside). However, the Inn website had made it look like the terraces faced out on a rolling hillside and trees, when actually ours faced out on a hedge and a hotel entrance/ exit path. I considered asking for a room change but since we would be spending a lot of time out of the room seeing the estate attractions, I decided to keep the room we had. However, I probably would not pay for a terrace room again since there was zero view - it was like being outdoors in some apartment shrubbery.

Our biggest issue concerned the Dining Room. Apparently there's some disorganization down there. We called more than 24 hours ahead and made a dinner reservation for Saturday night (figuring Saturday would be a busy night), we were assured that our reservation was all set, only to arrive and find that our reservation was nowhere on the list. The restaurant managed to seat us anyway, but we were placed next to a table with a very large family group including two children under age six and one baby in arms who screamed (not cried like a baby does - I mean screamed, at an earsplitting level) for the next hour. There were also kids' handprints all over the window we were looking out of (although we noticed they had been cleaned the next day). We decided not to ask to be moved because at this point we were like "What next?" and the restaurant was quite full. The entire experience detracted from our dinner and caused us to cut it shorter than we would have if the atmosphere had been more relaxing. A shame because there are several other nice restaurants either at the Inn or on the Estate and if we'd known we'd have so much hassle we would have made our reservation elsewhere. Also, since the Dining Room is the only hotel restaurant that serves breakfast (which is included in many of the hotel packages), there is sometimes congestion getting a table at breakfast time and no way to make a reservation for a specific time in advance. It would have been nice to have another breakfast option besides room service, maybe something a little more casual, or else set up the packages with a "breakfast included/ no breakfast included" option as I don't really want a big fancy breakfast every single morning anyway.

Overall, this Inn gets four stars, mostly for the great service, and we would definitely come again if we were going to tour the Estate. However, we would avoid the Dining Room and would hope the rooms eventually get a bit of an "amenities upgrade" considering that they are not cheap.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bunnydots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,971 - 1,977 of 2,313 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2010

We spent 5 nights at the Inn on Biltmore Estate to celebrate our 30th anniversary. It was a perfect choice. The hotel is luxurious and in beautiful surroundings, and (since its only about 7 years old) the facilities were in excellent. We chose one of the few rooms with balconies, and loved our morning views of the mountains. The staff was friendly and attentive, but not overbearing. The food in the dining room was excellent (although we only ate there for one dinner and 2 breakfasts, since we wanted to try other local restaurants). The spa was small but provided top-notch (and, full disclosure, top price) services. The small pool was charming, overlooking the mountains. It was great to be able to take advantage of the property shuttle service instead of driving all the time, which took us to the mansion and to other restaurants in the property for dinner.

One small complaint--other than breakfast in the dining room (or room service), both of which were expensive, there were no other choices for a quick, light breakfast other than leaving the estate (there's a Starbucks at the entrance to the estate, but that's a 7 min. drive from the hotel). Even for snacks, one has to go to Antler Hill Village (on the estate), a 15-min. walk (or shuttle ride) away from the hotel. We had arranged for a small refrigerator in our room and we brought some snack food with us, but we would have liked a small cafe closer by.

We had lunch one day at the Grove Park Inn (Sunset Terrace--also wonderful!), which was our other possible lodging choice. The Grove Park in is much larger, very mountain cabin-like (reminscent of Mohonk Mountain Lodge in upstate NY) and more of a "resort" hotel (scheduled activities, etc.). It has lovely views, too, but it's in a neighborhood, while the Inn on Biltmore Estate is surrounded by the thousands of acres of Biltmore grounds. I'm glad we made the choice we did.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siouxknox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

My husband and I have stayed in many hotel/resorts in our lifetime, but never have I been more completely satisfied as I was with The Inn on Biltmore. I truly had no complaint. Every single person we came across went out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. I need to go back, for I did not have enough time to do all the many things they offer. The grounds are beyond beautiful. The service is impeccable. The food in wonderful.
My family would attest that I might be the pickiest traveler on the planet. I'm never satisfied with anything less than a Four Season's or Peninsula, The Inn is easily as nice if not nicer. I plan on going back as soon as I can!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khofstetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We scored a "stay 2 nights, get a 3rd free" deal at the Inn on Biltmore Estate. It was a fabulous experience. The Inn is truly on the grounds of the Biltmore Estatee -- you can see the House about 3 miles across the valley from the large patio of the Inn. There are almost no other structures or roads in view, so the place has no road noise at all. However, we got a good laugh one evening on the patio, listening to the Black Angus cattle mooing in the distance.

Our special deal also included length-of-stay tickets to the Biltmore House and grounds, a $100+ value.

Here's how it all went: We entered the long drive up to the Biltmore House, and when we came to an intersection, we had to give a guard our name. He checked it on the list and then gave us a parking pass to put in our windshield as verification. We then drove up to the Inn, which was striking. A man came right out and loaded all our suitcases, bags, hanging stuff, etc. onto one of those trolleys, and then waited while we checked in and got our room assignment. We knew from making our reservation that we would have a "property view" room, but as we planned to spend very few daylight hours in the room, we didn't care. Our room was right over the entrance but I swear we hardly ever heard a thing from there.

In the lobby are comfortable chairs, 2 concierge desks, stands with the day's menus, and 2 hops -- a clothing boutique and a souvenir shop. At one end is a huge fireplace, with the hotel's bar on one side and the library, where afternoon tea is served, on the other.

Our room had 2 full beds, a desk with 2 chairs (where we set up the laptop), an upholstered chair and side table, a big TV armoire, night stands, etc. The bath was well-equipped with towels, toiletries, hair dryer, and a pullout magnifying makeup mirror. I hadn't bothered to pack any shampoo or conditioner or a blowdryer because I knew they would be provided.

The TV armoire also contained a safe large enough to hold a laptop. We stored the laptop, Kindle, cell phones, and jewelry in there when necessary. Cell phone coverage was spotty in the building but fine outside. Our laptop worked just fine.

Unlike other places we've stayed that have a stated "green" policy of letting you re-use your towels and sheets, the Inn really did put it into practice. We would return from a day's activities to find that only our washcloths had been replaced, and that our towels had merely been neatly folded and the beds made up with the original sheets. This pleased me no end. I've gotten used to hotels that swear they'll just hang up your towels if you request it, but then they always replace every single one. This was great.

Our beds were comfortable, with plenty of pillows for propping up and reading in bed if you want. The room temperature was cool, which was fine since Asheville was having an unusual hot spell. At night, there was almost no noise from the hallway. Other guests were either early-to-bed types or very considerate. Every morning, there was a USA Today hanging in a bag on our doorknob. Turn-down service included chocolates, a fresh rosebud, and fresh ice for the ice bucket. There was no mini-fridge or microwave in our room, but we hadn't planned for them anyway.

Dining at the Inn was worthwhile. There were always vegetarian choices on the menu, and lighter bites for those with smaller appetites. I believe there was a children's menu, though I didn't check personally. Service was prompt, friendly, and attentive but not hovering.

Although we never ate the breakfast buffet, which was apparently vast, the a la carte menu choices at breakfast ran the gamut from a cereal-fruit-yogurt parfait to smoked trout on a bagel to brioche French toast with fruit and a hazelnut maple syrup. I even had a breakfast salad one morning, 2 eggs any style with croutons, grape tomatoes, asparagus, and green onion over frisee lettuce. Different and tasty.

One afternoon we had the full tea, which consisted of a choice of a dozen teas (ncluding fruit/herbal teas), a tray full of little savory sandwiches, and another tray of scrumptious desserts. Each offering was just 2 or 3 bites so we never got tired of any one item. Everything was delicious and some were just killer!

We had dinner there as well. The menu ran from steak to lamb to all kinds of seafood. It was all wonderful. Portions were not enormous, so we generally had room for some terrific dessert. Everything was well-seasoned and interestingly presented on the plate.

The Inn has a heated outdoor pool with a spa pool next to it. We swam there one evening and had a grand time. The views from the pool are of the mountains, with the Biltmore House in the distance. Occasionally birds would fly past, but it was generally quiet and serene.

Just down a short walk from the Inn is Antler Hill Village, a cluster of shops and eateries that just opened in March. There is a great pub, Cedric's, that has live entertainment some nights. There's also an ice cream shop, a winery, an outdoor adventure shop where you can sign up for a Segway tour, and an exhibit of the Vanderbilt legacy in the region. There's a bistro, and a wine shop that is adjacent to a shop selling kitchen items, regional foods, and some souvenir-type things as well.

The Inn on Biltmore Estate is more expensive than places we usually stay in, but the service, location, food, comfort, and other amenities made it well worth the splurge. It has been highly rated in travel magazines, and we believe deservedly so. That's why we gave it a 5 rating for value -- we had a great deal. Of course, this type of bargain will not be available during the high season of autumn when the leaves turn color, or at Christmas.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LarryPNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

We spent one night here last spring, paid $500 for a room with a view, figuring we would splurge for this supposedly amazing place. What a mistake. The grounds are lovely, yes, but the hotel does not pamper - as we expected for the price - and instead nickle and dimes you for everything. The room had a nice view of the valley (we paid extra for the view) but the room itself was a typical upscale hotel room, like a Marriott or Omni; no charm or added features. We arrived around 5, asked about getting a before-dinner drink - maybe at the bar or on the deck? No, no such service available. We went to the room, with wine we had brought - want wine glasses or a corkscrew? Call room service and pay for it. Want to use bikes? bring your own or rent them. Want to walk the gardens? Pay a fee. Want to drive or walk around the estate? nope, not unless you have paid for a tour of the mansion. I completed both the in-room card and the email survey afterward, expressing disappointment, and heard nothing back from management.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BarbaraJ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

This inn is expensive for my tastes. The additional $60 fee to tour the Biltmore castle also seems high. However I'd easily do both again. The location of the inn, right on the Biltmore property, is phenomenal. Lovely views of the rolling hills and meadows. We brought our bikes and had a nice ride around the property. The outdoor pool is not big but its a great spot to relax and take in the scenery. The lobby and dining areas are large and well-appointed. We went in to town for our meals so we could save a few dollars and see some of Asheville. Free wireless internet. I guess the really distinctive element here is that the castle and grounds are gorgeous and to stay on the property is a very memorable and unique experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Backstreets_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

The Biltmore Estate has many natural advantages. The sheer beauty of the estate in its pristine mountain setting is enhanced by careful preservation of the entire 8,000 acre site by it's conservators who are direct descendants of the Vanderbilt family.
Imagine entering the estate through a magnificent gate house,driving a winding private road through field and forest to the imposing inn high on a hill overlooking the estate and surrounding mountains.
The inn feels like a small country hotel. It is elegant, tastefully furnished, immaculate and maintained to five-star standards.The staff are excellent. We booked a "Premier King" room and found the room to our liking with one exception..the entry portico filled 80 % of the view. We asked to be moved to another room and were shown to a larger one with a wonderful view. It is room #432,( even-numbered rooms have the better views), although you may prefer a higher floor. Tip: book through the inn website and look for web specials. We chose the bed-and-breafast plan and were able to reserve tours and other activities as well.
We found much more to do on the property than on our previous visit. Many guests visit Biltmore House and gardens, the centerpiece of the estate. We recommend the self-guided tour and if time permits one or more of the guided tours. A new spa, horseback riding, carriage rides, bike and walking paths and fly fishing instruction are available. There are several restaurants on the property. Do not miss the inn dining room; excellent cuisine in a white tablecloth setting. The lobby bar serves lunch and afternoon tea; the ambience is fine, the luncheon food we experienced was disappointing.
There is an estate winery,shops and a new village of shops, dining and entertainment a short walk from the inn. We dined at Cedric's, an English pub-themed restaurant which was very busy, necessitating a wait if you do not wish to dine in the bar. The food:so-so.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CamdenIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
2.2 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
2.3 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#27 of 68 in Asheville
1,246 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Asheville
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Village Hotel on Biltmore Estate
5.2 mi away
Hilton Asheville Biltmore Park
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate), NC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Biltmore Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Biltmore Estate

Address: 1 Antler Hill Road, Asheville, NC 28803-8692
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#1 Family Hotel in Asheville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#2 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#5 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: $218 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn on Biltmore Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Biltmore's tradition of warm, gracious hospitality as an honored guest at the Inn on Biltmore Estate. Choose from 210 beautifully appointed guest rooms including nine elegant suites. Flawless service. Fine dining. Marvelous mountain views. A relaxing veranda. Afternoon tea in the library. Other amenities include an outdoor pool and hot tub, fitness center, access to Biltmore--America's largest home--and much more. Concierges eager to assist you. Carefree transportation around the 8,000-acre estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn on Biltmore Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Biltmore Estate Hotel Asheville
Hotel On Biltmore Estate
Biltmore Inn Asheville Nc
On Biltmore Estate Asheville
Inn Biltmore Estate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing