We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere”
Review of Jack of the Wood

Jack of the Wood
Ranked #85 of 788 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Hickory, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice atmosphere”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I loved the murals on the walls, and ended up sitting right next to the mermaid. The place was dark, and quiet. The food was excellent, and service was friendly. I will definitely go back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SamanthaS670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    164
    42
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse NY
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fun pub”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We happened to stop at this place on a night when they were doing a trivia game called "quizzo" . The place was packed so we found our own table in the back where we had to wait for the staff to clean from the previous diners. They were clearly overworked and understaffed. That being said, our meal arrived in a timely manner and they were very nice. We had fish and chips. The price was good, but the portion of french fries outweighed the fish. Still it was very good fish. The fries were better with lots of malt vinegar.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great spot for blue grass”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Went here with California musician friend in July. The two groups who performed were a pleasure to hear. We had a table close to the stage which we enjoyed since we were there to hear the music and enjoy some interaction with band. Food was prettymgood and the beer was great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great food”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Excellent Shepard's pie, fresh duck special. My kids loves the fish and chips and bison nachos. Great beer selection and awesome bluegrass jam going on

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank shannon500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
525 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Great place to have a beer”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stopped for a beer and were pleasantly surprised to find they had a group of musicians playing Irish music. Not too loud either. Very nice atmosphere -
The beer selections were great - be sure to check out what is in the cask. The service was good. we will go back.
We didn't have any food but plenty of people were eating - and the menu looks to be more than the usual bar food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Riverliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack of the Wood also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Jack of the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing