We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the Sunday Irish Session”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jack of the Wood

Jack of the Wood
Ranked #89 of 781 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
metro Atlanta
Level Contributor
136 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Love the Sunday Irish Session”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for a drink and to enjoy the Irish Session which occurs on Sundays. My original plan was to head off for dinner, but I was enjoying the music so much I stayed and ate there. Not a wise decision for me: the fare is standard pub grub - deep fried, cheesy, heavy food. I paid $12 for a salad which didn't satisfy at all.

Beer - excellent. Staff - excellent. Atmosphere - quiet, but not dull; full, but not crowded. Very enjoyable. I will definitely return, just not for dinner.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ladytez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    157
    41
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Beers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

real irish food, live music and love the set yourself, low key atmosphere.
We are from Atlanta and it reminded us of being in little five points.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tripscreen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

love beer and they have a lot of it and good prices. I love the local brews and this is a great place to hear music and drink copious amounts of the nectar of the gods!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mattelrod12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun entertainment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had a great time visiting Jack of the Wood for drinks and listening to the open mik entertainment (it was a Wednesday night). We didn't eat, so I can't comment on the food.

I recommend going when The Stillwater Hobos are playing - we enjoyed them immensely!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hollylu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great pub and live music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a nice evening at this bar/pub/restaurant. The night I was there the music was mountain jam. Lots of local musicians playing my kind of music. Great bar atmosphere with people of all ages. Nice bartenders and a huge selection of beers.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tommy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack of the Wood also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Jack of the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing