We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great bar in Asheville” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jack of the Wood

Jack of the Wood
Ranked #91 of 775 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Another great bar in Asheville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

The Jack of the Wood bar had a great calm, quiet, mature atmosphere. Not full of old people or the college crowd. It was relaxing and hip. No TVs, no loud music, just great beer with great people.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hjordislakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    156
    41
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
167 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Good place for late night bluegrass and countless local brews”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went to the bluegrass jam session Thursday night at 10 p.m. We were pleasantly surprised that there was available seating and it never got too crowded. The bar has a great selection of local brews and the menu was still available when we arrived at the later hour. A large order of cheese fries and 2 local brews cost $15 which we thought was very reasonable. The bartenders were surly but that's our only complaint.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Megan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“my favorite bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

love love loved this place. great little country band playing and a fun crowd. good bartenders and decent prices for drinks. i didn't want this place to shut down!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank lisa10002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great for music......sorry excuse for food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Always a good stop to catch some music, but when it comes to pub grub, over the years as the prices have gone up the portions and quality has gone down. With a constantly changing staff, service is so so, with not the happiest crew. After living in this town for years, and Jack once being my favorite spot, it takes a great band to get me in the door. I would never order food there again with all the good food in town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 32Suzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A must stop when in Asheville!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I live in Greenville, South Carolina, so all I've ever done is take a Saturday ride up to Asheville since it's so close. This is one of the places I always find myself. Great food, great drinks, and a super atmosphere. My wife and I have had many things on the menu and have been disappointed by none. They have live music some nights, so whenever I get up here to stay over night I will be coming here to check out the night life! One of the greatest little bars in Asheville.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Monroe7311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack of the Wood also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Jack of the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing