We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unique, eclectic food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Junction

The Junction
Reserve with OpenTable
The Junction is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #120 of 781 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The Junction is the first full service restaurant in Asheville's River Arts District. We feature Southern-inspired farm to table fare and seasonal craft cocktails with fresh ingredients. We brine our fried chicken, smoke our pears, handcraft our soups and visit tailgate markets weekly. We make our own bacon and ketchup, squeeze cases of citrus each week for cocktails and work with other local, small businesses whenever possible. We invite you to join us after work for a casual beer and a burger at the bar, or to bring your beloved or whole family for a unique dining experience. Our menu features a combination of soups, salads and sharing plates as well as hearty entree options so that every dining experience is unique. Please visit our website to preview menus, as they change weekly.
huntersville, nc
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very unique, eclectic food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Enjoyed our experience at The Junction. Found it on a whim on a website, and so glad we checked it out. The menu is so unique - the flavor combinations were great! And the cocktails to die for! Amazing combo of natural, local flavors, in the heart of the Arts District - a must-eat-at place! Highly recommend!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JFtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    30
    20
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Charles, LA
Level Contributor
206 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Casual Greatness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Wow! This place is great! It is located in a renovated space in the River Arts District, right down the street from the Magnetic Theatre(see separate review). They do not take reservations, but may have to start if the word spreads about the food here. We shared a bowl of winter root vegetable soup that they said was made with onion, parsnips, carrots, potatoes and celery, topped with garlic creme fraiche and truffle oil-BUT the flavor was WOW!!! We fought over every bite. We both had fish, prepared differently, but all the dishes seemed to be placed over some type of vegetable puree(different for each dish) and absolutely yummy. My pan seared speckled trout with a Dijon creme fraiche was superb! The lady next to us had the fried chicken soup and was literally swooning. They had a special on a French Chardonnay that was great and a steal at $8.00 for a very generous pour. We did not have dessert because we planned on going to the French Broad Chocolate Lounge after the theatre(see review).

Our waitress was excellent, friendly, and attentive. This restaurant should be packed every night-spread the word so it still be there when I come back to Asheville!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LATaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go out of your way for this eatery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

The Junction is a wonderful, relatively new restaurant in the River Arts District in Asheville. The young owners are doing their best to provide a scrumptious dinner. Go and try the pork chop with the sweet potato/pork belly hash...you won't be disappointed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank achapelhilltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
575 reviews
309 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
“Revisited and enjoyed but didn't find Asheville's best burger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We took out-of-town family to The Junction in the River Arts District. Excellent service, great cocktails, nice atmosphere (but WAY loud) and overall primo appetizers and entrees, but once again on my devoted search for Asheville's best burger I did NOT find it here.

The Junction Burger ($14) is a sizeable patty of dry aged house-ground beef, with house bacon, smoked pimento cheese and homemade ketchup on West End Bakery bun. It is served with a small green salad. The burger is tasty but it's so juicy you may have to eat it with a fork, the bun was toasted but cold and I missed house cut French fries.

All in all a good evening, but at over $250 for four (with tax and my usual generous tip) a little expensive for a casual restaurant. And for us older folks The Junction really does need to do something about the noise level -- a few judiciously placed baffles would go a long way.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LanSluderBelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Restaurant Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

I have been to the Junction 5 or 6 times. My wife and I started going here before we moved to Asheville from Atlanta and we still continue to go there. The chef at this restaurant puts together some flavor combinations that are far superior than what I have seen at some of the best restaurants in Atlanta. The quality of the ingredients are also top notch. The owners are great people and truly care about their business. They want to make sure you enjoy your meal and the entire dining experience. I read the review that said it was expensive. Of course it is going to be more than a chain restaurant. The food is far better quality. The prices are by no means over the top. $8-$12 for an appetizer and $20-$27 dollars for an entree is not outrageous at all. Their cup of soup is $4 and it is the size of a bowl of soup anywhere else. The cocktail menu is original and unlike any other place. Bartender creates their specialty drink menu and it is always changing. Service has always been great and attentive. This is one of, if not the best restaurant in Asheville and rivals anything in the Southeast.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MidtownNole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Junction also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing