We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved dinner, went back for Brunch”
Review of The Junction

The Junction
Reserve with OpenTable
The Junction is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #115 of 793 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The Junction is the first full service restaurant in Asheville's River Arts District. We feature Southern-inspired farm to table fare and seasonal craft cocktails with fresh ingredients. We brine our fried chicken, smoke our pears, handcraft our soups and visit tailgate markets weekly. We make our own bacon and ketchup, squeeze cases of citrus each week for cocktails and work with other local, small businesses whenever possible. We invite you to join us after work for a casual beer and a burger at the bar, or to bring your beloved or whole family for a unique dining experience. Our menu features a combination of soups, salads and sharing plates as well as hearty entree options so that every dining experience is unique. Please visit our website to preview menus, as they change weekly.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Loved dinner, went back for Brunch”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Our group of 3 went for a Saturday night dinner. Just from the start, the service was great and we enjoyed the location and decor, checking out the art on the walls. We were seated quickly and our waitress chatted about the music festival we were attending. She had tried most of the food and was great with suggestions. When we received our appetizer (Sweetbreads), we already knew we'd like our entrees. Get the pork chop, if it's available when you're there - just do it. A rotating menu full of creative and genius pairings, I was only disappointed I couldn't try them all.

While there we glanced at the Brunch menu...and decided to go back. So the next morning we sampled the brunch fare, which was equally as delicious. We had the same waitress, who remembered us and continued our previous chat about our trip. We also has some cocktails - unique twists on classic drinks for a lovely combination. The cocktails took awhile, but our waitress came by to explain the wait (large drink order ahead of us) and apologize...then the owner himself came by with waters/coffee to apologize again. Needless to say I'll be sending my friends there and will eat there again when visiting.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amber P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    32
    20
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Funky atmosphere and the food is good too”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a funky place in an old garage. We were disappointed when we got there that all the outside tables were taken, but the restaurant opened the glass garage door right next to our table and we ended up with a delightful indoor/outdoor arrangement. There is very contempo art on the walls that is pretty funny.

The bartender was somewhat miffed when my husband said he didn't like the cocktail very much and treated him to a far too long explanation/justification about how it was made. It would have been better if the guy had just offered to get a new one instead of making my husband feel bad. The food made up for that faux pas. I had an outstanding steak which was truly dry aged beef - a deep, rich taste.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cslnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The Junction is Twisted Southern”
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Saturday afternoon at The Junction in The Arts District was the perfect place to be. The Shrimp BLT included the tasty surprise of a pickled fried green tomato & the burger was to die for. The tea was sweet and the staff attentive. Loved it!

Helpful?
1 Thank dbroome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yum!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The Junction was a great spot for a slow-paced Sunday brunch after a night out on the town. The owner, Charles, was extremely flexible and served us coffee at the bar while he readied an outdoor table, and we waited for the rest of our party of five. Our guests were late, and I never felt rushed to order. Charles gave us a lovely (as well as entertaining and brief) history of the river arts district of Asheville and the area's past significance. Our food and cocktails were delicious (fritatta, fried chicken, bloody Mary, and early byrd), and our server was friendly and helpful. I'd go back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjorie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Delicious Brunch”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

It was a gorgeous day and we sat on the patio for brunch. We started with delicious fresh o.j., freshly brewed coffee, and we both had the salmon hash it was delicious also. Then Ben ordered
a dessert which was a hybrid of cheesecake and red velvet cake, amazing. I would like to try them next time for drinks and dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Junction also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing