We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At home at the Hill House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“At home at the Hill House”
Reviewed March 20, 2007

Staying at the Hill House in Asheville was a first for my husband and me, neither of us had stayed at a B&B before. We had a wonderful and relaxing time during our stay there and only wish we could have stayed longer. From the beauty of the gardens to the details of the rooms, nothing was overlooked. We enjoyed the quiet atmosphere of the house as well as spunky conversation with the other guests during breakfast. Terry & Bill were so welcoming and they're great chefs as well! Breakfast was wonderful. I'm certain that others will enjoy the Hill House as much and even more than we did for years to come!

  • Liked — The charm of the B&B
  • Disliked — That we couldn't stay longer.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NcTravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    66
    22
    4
    4
See reviews for
69
354
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blairsville, GA
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2007

I researched many B&B's before booking the Hill House, and I must say I was lucky I did! My husband and I never stayed at a B&B before, and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We stayed in the Jackson room, with it's luxuriously comfortable bed and charming decor, complete with fireplace! Bill and Terry were fabulous! They made us feel right at home and were very friendly and helpful, but not overbearing as to infringe on our privacy. And the breakfasts were FANTASTIC! Apple caramel french toast the first morning and sour cream omlettes the next! AMAZING! The next time we are in Asheville we will definitely be staying at the Hill House. I highly recommend Hill House to anyone wanting to stay at a B&B in Asheville.

  • Liked — Charming atmosphere with home-like feel
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Frankenwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2007

We stayed in the Biltmore Suite for two nights during Valentine's Day Week and it was a wonderful trip. The Suite was beautifully decorated and very comfortable - the couch and fireplace, very cozy.

Both nights we were at the Hill House, there was only one other couple at the Bed & Breakfast so it was relatively deserted. Notwithstanding the lack of guests, there were always drinks and snacks in the guest kitchen. The breakfast each morning was delicious and sophisticated.

We were interested in a quiet, romantic trip and definitely got it.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karanas_mangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2007

We stayed there over New Year's 2006/2007. The property is very nice. Clean, plenty of parking, well located. We enjoyed the company at breakfast and of course, Bailey.

We were only disappointed in the innkeepers. They seemed very tense. Understandably, running a B&B is not an easy job, but it seemed as if they were too concerned about just getting the job done. We have stayed at numerous B&B's and truly enjoy the interaction with innkeepers, and their knowledge of the local area, etc. That didn't happen here. I guess we were expecting a bit more "southern hospitality".

Otherwise, a very nice place to stay if you are in the Asheville area.

  • Liked — Bailey (their dog) and the cookies.
  • Disliked — small room, tense innkeepers
  • Tips/Secrets — Asheville is not quite tourist oriented, plan ahead and make sure you check hours of business.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrianinFla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hill_House_Innkeeper, Owner/Innkeeper at Hill House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 14, 2007
New Year’s was a special weekend in many respects, so we’re a little puzzled by these comments. We had several return guests – one couple even got married in our parlor Sunday afternoon after being engaged last year at the Inn. Bill and I stood as witnesses and were so touched to be part of such a special occasion. And we repeated our New Year’s tradition of placing a split of champagne in each guest room to toast the coming year.

During the late afternoon/early evening hours we are checking-in guests and doing work in the kitchen to prepare for the following morning’s breakfast for up to 20 guests. We help our guests in planning their days and offer a glass of wine while they relax in the evening. Some people enjoy their privacy and others like to chat – we think we’re pretty good at balancing the two. We both have a pretty low-key style, so the term ‘tense’ seems a bit out of character.

As this couple mentioned, they LOVED our dog Bailey. Occasionally guests will play with Bailey in a way that gets her a bit excited and boisterous, as happened this particular weekend. And Bailey was enjoying every minute of it – tail wagging, smiling, and unfortunately, loud barking!!! With a guest room right across the hall, it was a delicate balance to try to quietly shush the dog without appearing to be a party-pooper to these fun-loving guests. We suppose this came across as being tense – well, I do recall having to take a few deep breaths...

Unfortunately, we also had to provide a short note reminding these guests of no candles in their guest room, a policy which we strictly enforce for fire-safety reasons. To us, ‘getting the job done’ is ensuring the comfort and safety of all of our guests.

We experience so many genuine heartfelt thanks and appreciation from our guests that it makes the long days worth it. And if you ever need to find us at the Inn – just check the kitchen! All those fresh-baked scones, muffins, cookies, brownies, cakes and other goodies are baked right here. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2006

Stayed for one night in the Arcade room, and would go back again in a heartbeat. I admit, part of my excitement about the Hill House is due to my new-found love of the bed and breakfast experience. How nice to actually interact with your hosts and fellow travelers!
But back to the specifics about Hill House. The Arcade room is cozy, with a nice bathroom (including a bathtub), a window seat, and a small tv (which I never turned on). It is located at the back of the main house, on the ground floor. Had all the amenities you would expect in a larger hotel - a heater controlled in the room, two bath robes, an iron, hair dryer, etc.
Breakfast was at nine, and was delicious. The reservation form you send in asks for any allergies, so they can customize the menu if needed. Thoroughly enjoyed the Starbucks coffee, juice, tea, fruits, biscuit and preserves, frittata, etc. Yum! No rush to leave the table - even after the plates were cleared, we all sat for a while chatting about our vacations.
I reserved my room using the form on their website - easy and very user-friendly, because you can see which rooms are available on which nights, pictures of the property, etc. Rates were reasonable. The hotel was close to downtown, but located on a wooded residential street.
The Hill House seems to inspire you to relax, and enjoy the day. Wish that I had brought a thick book and could have sat reading for a few hours in either the front parlor or out on the porch! I will definitely stay here again the next time I'm in Asheville!

  • Liked — Home-like atmosphere.
  • Tips/Secrets — A tip on tipping - The B&B leaves an envelope in the room to assist you in leaving a tip for the cleaning staff. They suggest $5 per day. They do a great job - don't be as forgetful as me and not have any cash on hand!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Traveler_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2006

We stayed for one night at the Hill House B & B in mid-October, in the S&W room. We enjoyed everything about our experience. B Bill and Terry were very gracious, and we enjoyed meeting Bailey, their golden retriever. The common areas of the inn are very nice, and we enjoyed the blondies and cookies available in the lobby at all hours. The S & W room itself was lovely, with everything we might need. Because the S & W room is on the first floor near the back hallway, we appreciated the fact that guests were instructed to enter through the front door during hours when guests might be sleeping. Breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed talking with the other guests at the big table in the dining room.

Our only regret is that we did not have enough time to enjoy sitting in the hammock in the side yard or relaxing in the lobby.

All in all, a great B &B experience, and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Everything was thoughtfully taken care of.
  • Disliked — The S & W room is right next to the dining room, so not quite perfectly private.
  • Tips/Secrets — This inn is quite close to downtown Asheville, but in a very nice and quite neighborhood.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lindyjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2006

We stayed at the Hill House in Asheville for four nights. The inn is an old victorian style home with two floors (and a separate accommodation at the rear on the inn) and just a few rooms. When booking a room at the inn the website provides a description and photo of each named room to make your selection easy. We stayed in the Drhumor room. The bed was extremely comfortable and the linens silky. The bathroom was very clean and had a whirlpool tub/shower. A small flat screen TV and radio was provided. There is no in-room telephone (which makes the inn very nice to "get-away") and a fireplace at the foot of the bed made the room very cozy on cool mornings.

The hosts were exceptional (as was the occasional visit from the family canine, Bailey). They sit and talk with you like you have been their friends for many years. Bill & Terry provide a bottomless jar of chocolate chip cookies and other late night treats every day in the parlor. There is lemonade, ice tea and coffee available 24 hours a day in a small guest kitchen. Wine/tea/coffee is provided in the afternoon and sitting on the front porch is the ultimate "de-stresser".

The breakfasts are first class. We enjoyed fruit each morning, egg dishes, stuffed french toast and pancakes during our visit. Each morning was a gourmet delight. We met the nicest folks from around the country while at the inn. Breakfast was served in the house but during warmer days can be eaten on the front veranda overlooking the beautiful front and side yard gardens. A hammock is stretched between a couple of side yard trees for a relaxing afternoon nap.

You can hear other guests waklking up the creaky steps to the second floor, but that is all part of the experience and was not a disturbance. Outside noises occassionaly are heard, such as fire truck sirens but the town is small, compact and the buildings old where soundproofing was not a priority 100 years ago. We sometimes heard other guests talking but were respectful of the hour and other guests. Parking is ample at the rear of the inn but be careful on the street in front as it is very narrow in a quaint mountain neighborhood. UNC-Ashveille is close-by.

Be sure to visit the Biltmore, the Blue Ridge Parkway, the Grove Park Inn (for a glass of afternoon wine on the patio) and downtown Asheville during your stay. The downtown area is a little further that most people would want to walk, but it can be done. There are many restaurants and shops nearby especially in the refurbished Grove Arcade downtown for wine and great food.

  • Liked — The hosts
  • Disliked — The room was a little smaller than we usually like to have.
  • Tips/Secrets — Rooms are less expensive on weekdays and not during leaf-season in October.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 66 in Asheville
6,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 39 in Asheville
769 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#19 of 39 in Asheville
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 120 Hillside St, Asheville, NC 28801-1206
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Five Points
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill House Bed & Breakfast Inn lies in the heart of Asheville, NC, just minutes to downtown and Biltmore Estate. Enjoy those extra special touches, from exceptionally restful beds and delightful breakfasts to our expansive wrap-around porch overlooking the gardens. You'll feel comfortably at home in the casual elegance of this 1885 residence with an eclectic mix of antique, traditional and unusual furnishings. Choose from ten guest accommodations, most with fireplaces and/or whirlpool tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hill House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing