We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unforgettable and Fabulous!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hill House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northern VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unforgettable and Fabulous!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2006

After deciding that I wanted to visit Asheville for the first time - I did tons of research online and this place looked great so I booked well in advance. My husband and I stayed here for our 3 year wedding anniversary back in October 2005 for 2 nights and I completely fell in love with this place. The atmosphere is so warm and inviting. This was our first time ever staying at a bed and breakfast and I really though it was a neat experience. Getting to know the other guests at breakfast time is fun (if you aren't a social person then maybe a B&B stay is not for you).

The bottomless cookie jar was a wonderful touch as well and the "Vino Therapy". The calmness and serenity of this quaint bed and breakfast makes you yearn for more long after you've left. I honestly felt so relaxed here (which is something that is very hard for me). The inn keepers are incredibly friendly and this place is so well decorated and enchanting. The atmosphere is relaxing, very quiet and serene - great for couples - don't recommend taking children here.

We stayed in the Kress room, which was very nice and had a lovely bathroom as well. The only thing about this room that my husband did not like was the TV was too small - but as I told him - we did not take this trip to watch TV! (men!)

The breakfast was so DELICIOUS and served on the front porch along with morning coffee. I do wish Breakfast had been served a bit earlier though so we could go ahead and start our day.
I still think of the beautiful antique tablecloths how nicely everything was set up (plates, etc).

The Inn Keepers were very nice and polite and they actually left in the middle of our stay for their own well deserved vacation. They had alternate Inn Keepers who came in to watch over the place while they were gone and these people were just so nice and sweet - I really enjoyed getting to know them. Loved the Golden Retriever Bailey (What a sweetie!)

I would recommend this B&B time and time again to anyone going to Asheville and I hope to return to Asheville very soon to enjoy this delightful town!

  • Liked — Quiet serene atmosphere, VERY CLEAN and GOOD FOOD!
  • Disliked — Small TV in the room
  • Stayed October 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    64
    22
    4
    6
See reviews for
62
343
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2006

My husband and I just got back from a long-weekend at the Hill House. We are SO glad we chose this property.

The inn is owned by Bill and Terry, who are originally from San Francisco and have been in Asheville and running it for the last 3 years.

Bill is the "gardner" and what a garden it is. Beautiful grounds, and Terry tells us there is something in color every season. A wonderful lush variety of plants.

Terry decorated the inn, and she has impeccable taste. Everything is perfect. The inn itself is beautiful, and 8 rooms. We stayed in Kress, which we loved. It was on the 2nd floor all the way to the back, so it was quiet, but it seemed the inn, although full while we were there, was very quiet the whole time.

There is a great parlor, where board games, a large comfortable couch, and book and magazines are available to sit and read. There's also a guest's kitchen, where there is ice, lemonade and iced tea, along with a "bottomless" cookie jar (BIG trouble), tea and coffee. There's a refrigerator also if you want to chill some wine, along with glasses, opener, etc.

Our favorite part, however, was the wrap-around front porch. There are numerous couches, tables and chairs to sit out and while away the hours. We loved it out there. There is also a hammock out in the yard, which is huge, and some adirondack chairs.

Our room had a little sitting area and table, a dressing room/area with large closet and a huge bathroom. The web site does not do this place justice!

Each AM, there is coffee and tea for the early risers at 8am, (great coffee) and then breakfast at 9am. Trust me, you will not be able to eat lunch after eating this breakfast. Our first morning, we had fresh fruit in a bowl with a yogurt topping, and then a delicious pecan-encrusted french toast. Our second morning, we had fresh melons and berries, and then a wonderfully light and tasty frittata/omelet. There were also homemade scones, juice, coffee and tea. Terry cooks all the food, and she should open a restaurant.

Bill and Terry have a sweet 4-year old Golden named Bailey. Bailey doesn't have free reign (much to her dismay), so you will not be bothered if you don't like dogs. But I had requested to see her when we got there, and the owners obliged. Bailey got a nice belly rub, and I got to miss my cat at home a little less.

The inn is in the perfect location. We had considered staying in town so that we could be close to everything, but I am glad that we didn't. It would have been too noisy. This is the best of both worlds - quiet, peaceful, seemingly a world away, yet five minutes from town on a road that is central to everything you would want to see.

Terry and Bill have a way about them that makes everyone feel special, and they take great care to make sure everyone is comfortable and having a good time. They are the perfect hosts. Provided great restaurant recommendations to us, and were there to help with whatever we needed.

There is alot to see in Asheville, and this is the perfect place from which to base yourself. If/when we return to this area, there will be no question where we will stay.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macdebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2006

My wife and I stayed in the Carriage Room of the B&B for a few days in August 2006. The Carriage Room is the largest of all the rooms and is detatched from the main house, which we liked for privacy, comfort and quiet.
I know I said it is the largest of the rooms but it is really a very small 2-story apartment with a tiny living room and kitchen on first floor, small bedroom and bathroom on second floor. The secret to this room is because of the 2-stories, the Carriage Room feels larger than what it actually is. Albeit clean and quiet, the main house has too many small rooms squished into it for our liking.

Breakfast was served on the front porch at 9:00am, with no option for an earlier time, so plan your day accordingly. Breakfast was delicious and very satisfying, something creative each day.
A suggestion for the innkeepers - have that morning coffee available earlier than 8am for your guests.

This B&B is conveniently located about 15 minutes away from the famous Biltmore Estate and Gardens - not to be missed. The Biltmore Village on the other hand was a huge disappointment. We were expecting something more like Carmel, which is not what we saw.

Downtown Ashville leaves something to be desired; it reminded us of downtown Berkeley, dirty and cluttered.

  • Liked — Clean, quiet
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suitcase-is-ready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hill_House_Innkeeper, Owners & Innkeepers at Hill House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 20, 2006
In response to a recent travel review which contains several pieces of misinformation, as owners of the Inn and residents of Asheville, we offer some points of clarification.

Asheville is a wonderful place to visit and live. Comparing it to Berkeley is relevant only to its wonderful diversity. Having lived less than 10 minutes from Berkeley for a good portion of our lives, we can say that Asheville is an extremely clean and safe city. Expecting Carmel in Asheville? -- they couldn't be further apart.

Regarding the Inn, Hill House has a Cottage (not a carriage house) that is original to the house, circa 1885, which is described as 'charming and secluded, with a cozy bedroom'. The Cottage is equipped with a complete kitchen including a coffee maker for early risers. Early risers in the Inn also have access to a coffee maker in the guest kitchen area. The Cottage is also not our largest accommodation -- in the Inn there is the spacious 2-room Flat Iron Suite and a very large Biltmore Suite for those seeking a larger accommodation.

Should travelers need relevant information on Asheville or our Inn, please feel free to get in touch with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2006

Wonderful inn. Great location - very close to downtown. We stayed for a week in the Drhumor room. Breakfasts were excellent. Some of the best we've ever had. We are frequent B&B guests and we found this inn to be among the best we've experienced. The bed and linens were wonderful. Afternoon baked goods were great as well. We really loved spending afternoons on the front porch or in the hammock!

  • Liked — Room, food, friendly hosts
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PeteFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,345 reviews
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#17 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 120 Hillside St, Asheville, NC 28801-1206
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Five Points
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill House Bed & Breakfast Inn lies in the heart of Asheville, NC, just minutes to downtown and Biltmore Estate. Enjoy those extra special touches, from exceptionally restful beds and delightful breakfasts to our expansive wrap-around porch overlooking the gardens. You'll feel comfortably at home in the casual elegance of this 1885 residence with an eclectic mix of antique, traditional and unusual furnishings. Choose from ten guest accommodations, most with fireplaces and/or whirlpool tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hill House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing