We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We chose to skip dinner reservations and concert because we were enjoying Hill House so much!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Very clean and spacious room! Complimentary wine and cookies on Hill House porch was the highlight of our Asheville trip! Hill House was the perfect B&B. Very nice, high quality without being stuffy. Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fyfranca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hill_House_Innkeeper, Owner at Hill House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Margaret, Glad you enjoyed our cookies so much. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 573 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

Everything about the property is lovingly cared for, from the rooms to the grounds. It's a very peaceful space to get away to. I loved our room and it's extra sitting space off to the side. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hill_House_Innkeeper, Owner at Hill House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Kayt, Thanks so much for the kind words....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed 3 nights at Hill House. A Thursday to Sunday stay. The room was one of the smaller offerings at this Inn as we made a last minute trip to escape the FL heat. The room was perfect and well appointed with a comfortable bed. The decor was warm, inviting and functional. Breakfasts were divine and a great way to start each day at 9am. In the evenings from 5-7pm the wine and light appetizer platter was a nice way to commune once again with other guests before setting out to town for dinner. The overall reason I liked the Inn was because the staff was always available without being intrusive which made for a relaxed atmosphere.

Room Tip: Go to the Inn's website directly to view pictures of each room. For a historic home the rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shoprichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hill_House_Innkeeper, Owner at Hill House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Joan, You're too kind. Thanks, David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Although we were only able to stay at this B & B for one night, we thoroughly enjoyed our time there. We were greeted by name at check-in and shown around the home. We easily found our way to downtown, just a quick drive down Merrimon Ave. The Arcade room, on the first floor, was very cozy and comfortable. The breakfast, a peach soufflé and slice of ham, was served with coffee and juice with bits of fruit in it. Delicious. We also enjoyed the company of Crystal, who along with the food delivered some quite interesting stories!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYNCDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hill_House_Innkeeper, Owner at Hill House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thanks for the nice words, MM. Crystal certainly loves to chat up guests after breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The room was good... the bed very comfortable. I enjoyed the socializing immensely (to my surprise, actually). The same group was there for most of my stay, and we talked over coffee before breakfast, during breakfast, and then at the wine and hors d'oeuvres time in late afternoon. Hill House is close to a superb grocery store, as well as within an easy walk to downtown. I recommend this B & B without reservation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hill_House_Innkeeper, Owner at Hill House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

I have to tell everyone that Nat, one of Hill House's assistant innkeepers, is Mark's son. But honest, Mark had a great time here.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My pup and I stayed at Hill House for a long weekend. It was perfect in every way. The decor is just our style. Not too heavy and ornate and not to floral and grandmotherly. I felt like Goldielocks, everything was just right. The landscaping is beautiful but the best part is the front porch. In early June the weather was perfect and there was a constant breeze. My pup and I stayed out there as much as possible.

The breakfast was delicious every morning and the staff very helpful. Plus there were bits of cookies and tasties throughout the day.

The house is located only a mile from downtown so we walked downtown so as not to worry about parking, which you have to pay for. Asheville is incredibly dog friendly. Like one guy I stopped to ask for directions, they love dogs more then each other. Ha! Edie got attention everywhere we went.

If in Asheville I recommend visiting the Grove Arcade Gallery.

The restaurants were incredible. I ate at the following and enjoyed each one immensely.
Tupelo Honey - The quintessential Asheville eatery
Farm Burger - No. 5, best burger I've ever had
Wicked Weed Brewery - Wonderful outdoor eating and extremely dog friendly
Chai Pani - totally new food experience for me. Wonderful staff.

I would love to come back for a visit and stay at Hill House.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hill_House_Innkeeper, Owner at Hill House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Katie, You and Edie are welcome back anytime..... David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Hill House Bed & Breakfast is located about a mile from Asheville Downtown. Which makes it very easy to get out and walk to explore the city.
Our hosts were very welcoming and instantly made us feel at home. The decor was very comfortable. We stayed in the Battery Parm room. The bedroom side of things felt a little squished, but the attached sunroom helped alleviate the slight claustrophobia. The room over all was immaculate and beautiful. The charm of the house makes you feel as if you actually lived there. It is worth noting that since it is an old house it does creak a bit, which could be off-setting to a light sleeper.
The breakfast was phenomenal! We were served the breakfast lasagna and a grilled nectarine with cream. The juice/smoothie was a combination of what was in the fridge- blueberries, strawberries, bannana, and more I believe. My wife who does not like the taste of egg was very much in love with the breakfast lasagna.
All in all a very pleasant experience and well worth a repeat visit on our next trip to Asheville.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrWhiplash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#5 of 39 in Asheville
819 reviews
Biltmore Village Inn
#8 of 39 in Asheville
1,649 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Princess Anne Hotel
#12 of 39 in Asheville
712 reviews
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 120 Hillside St, Asheville, NC 28801-1206
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Five Points
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: $155 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill House Bed & Breakfast Inn lies in the heart of Asheville, NC, just minutes to downtown and Biltmore Estate. Enjoy those extra special touches, from exceptionally restful beds and delightful breakfasts to our expansive wrap-around porch overlooking the gardens. You'll feel comfortably at home in the casual elegance of this 1885 residence with an eclectic mix of antique, traditional and unusual furnishings. Choose from ten guest accommodations, many with fireplaces and/or whirlpool tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hill House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing