We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Front porch is the loveliest spot in Asheville” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hill House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Front porch is the loveliest spot in Asheville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

My pup and I stayed at Hill House for a long weekend. It was perfect in every way. The decor is just our style. Not too heavy and ornate and not to floral and grandmotherly. I felt like Goldielocks, everything was just right. The landscaping is beautiful but the best part is the front porch. In early June the weather was perfect and there was a constant breeze. My pup and I stayed out there as much as possible.

The breakfast was delicious every morning and the staff very helpful. Plus there were bits of cookies and tasties throughout the day.

The house is located only a mile from downtown so we walked downtown so as not to worry about parking, which you have to pay for. Asheville is incredibly dog friendly. Like one guy I stopped to ask for directions, they love dogs more then each other. Ha! Edie got attention everywhere we went.

If in Asheville I recommend visiting the Grove Arcade Gallery.

The restaurants were incredible. I ate at the following and enjoyed each one immensely.
Tupelo Honey - The quintessential Asheville eatery
Farm Burger - No. 5, best burger I've ever had
Wicked Weed Brewery - Wonderful outdoor eating and extremely dog friendly
Chai Pani - totally new food experience for me. Wonderful staff.

I would love to come back for a visit and stay at Hill House.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hill_House_Innkeeper, Owner at Hill House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Katie, You and Edie are welcome back anytime..... David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    64
    22
    4
    5
See reviews for
62
343
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dacula, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Hill House Bed & Breakfast is located about a mile from Asheville Downtown. Which makes it very easy to get out and walk to explore the city.
Our hosts were very welcoming and instantly made us feel at home. The decor was very comfortable. We stayed in the Battery Parm room. The bedroom side of things felt a little squished, but the attached sunroom helped alleviate the slight claustrophobia. The room over all was immaculate and beautiful. The charm of the house makes you feel as if you actually lived there. It is worth noting that since it is an old house it does creak a bit, which could be off-setting to a light sleeper.
The breakfast was phenomenal! We were served the breakfast lasagna and a grilled nectarine with cream. The juice/smoothie was a combination of what was in the fridge- blueberries, strawberries, bannana, and more I believe. My wife who does not like the taste of egg was very much in love with the breakfast lasagna.
All in all a very pleasant experience and well worth a repeat visit on our next trip to Asheville.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrWhiplash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Hill House B & B was the perfect choice for our first B & B experience. It was my fiancé's first trip to Asheville as well as our anniversary so I wanted to plan the perfect getaway. The location was perfect as it was private and secure but also only minutes away from downtown Asheville. As a surprise, I selected the Biltmore for our stay and I do not regret it! After camping at Mt. Pisgah for several nights the jacuzzi tub and bed were heavenly. We felt so relaxed and both slept like babies both nights! The food was extraordinary and David, Crystal, and Nat were amazing, hospitable hosts. The house is well lit and you don't feel as if you have to "sneak" downstairs for a midnight cookie as the jar is endless :) Very clean and tidy and the staff was very respectful of our schedule as space but also made themselves available 24-7. Breakfast in bed was the icing on the cake!
I only wish that we could have spent more time at the house to enjoy the staff's company! I would definitely recommend Hill House for any and all fellow traveler. We will surely stay again! Thanks everyone!

Room Tip: You will not regret the Biltmore and the photos online do not do it justice as it exceeded our expec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoMFeller1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

As we drove into the narrow drive at Hill House, there wasn't much to see. Until the big porch became visible, the beautiful plants and the cottage behind the main house that would be our home in Asheville for the next three nights. The cottage, although the main house is delightful, was the perfect spot for my husband and I as we sought a long weekend away from angry emails and too-many phone calls. It sat separate with it's own kitchen and dining room, it's own porch and it was just perfect for us stressed-out folks desperate for some relaxation.

The breakfasts were top notch with the pear souffle being our singular favorite. Asheville itself is a town in which you can just be who you are. The staff as well as all the guest were nice and interesting and provided a true respite to our weary souls. A morning jog was great to be able to see all the nice homes in the Five Points neighborhood in which Hill House sits. We would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a little break in the great little artistic town that is Asheville, NC.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdpiercewilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We chose Hill House off the internet. We wanted to get married in Asheville and this B and B was.the perfect size. The owner and staff were great. They were happy to do anything that could to make our stay perfect. Friday evening there were finger foods and wine. Breakfast was served Sat am. and was delicious. We had the wedding in the hard at Hill House and the setting was beautiful. Sunday brought another delicious breakfast and then packing to leave. Everyone had a wonderful weekend. Everything was clean, well kept,the staff was wonderful and the setting beautiful. Thank you David, Nat, and Crystal.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

My wife and I needed to get away in the worst way. Instead we found the best way at the Hill House B&B. The room was clean, comfortable, and well equipped in the way you would want them to be in an beautiful old house. The breakfasts were outstanding and the many areas to sit and relax with a glass of wine and your partner could be as private as you want or open to congregating with other travelers. I have been there before and the new owner has kept all the best parts and improved where he could. I will be back, but don't over run the place. We like it cozy and quiet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our stay at the Hill House was such a wonderful experience. David was very down to earth and accommodating, Nat was as well, and was an amazing cook! The breakfast was absolutely excellent and very filling and hearty every morning (croissant French Toast with two sauces, egg soufflé/strata with ham, garnished with lovely flowers or mint!) We felt very much at home and didn't want to leave! We enjoyed the company of the other guests so much, had fun chatting over the afternoon snacks/tea! The fireplace in our Biltmore suite added lovely ambience, and the jacuzzi tub was a treat! The rooms, the house, and the garden are all lovely. And I won't tell you how many hours we spent on the hammock in the garden! We had an excellent time and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KandDLutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,343 reviews
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#17 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 120 Hillside St, Asheville, NC 28801-1206
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Five Points
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill House Bed & Breakfast Inn lies in the heart of Asheville, NC, just minutes to downtown and Biltmore Estate. Enjoy those extra special touches, from exceptionally restful beds and delightful breakfasts to our expansive wrap-around porch overlooking the gardens. You'll feel comfortably at home in the casual elegance of this 1885 residence with an eclectic mix of antique, traditional and unusual furnishings. Choose from ten guest accommodations, most with fireplaces and/or whirlpool tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hill House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing