We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first time to Asheville and stay in a B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The location is close to downtown yet tucked away so you don't even know you're that close. You can sit on the porch in the evenings and enjoy the serenity of the night rocking away listening to the crickets. do not miss the 9am sit down breakfast. The food and the company is extraordinary. Will stay in B&Bs from now on when available over a hotel.

Room Tip: The ground floors were surprisingly quiet. One of the larger rooms. Quaint rooms with a homey feel...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifer c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
There are newer reviews for Hill House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 560 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

We quite enjoyed our 3 night stay at Hill House. The main house is nicely restored and the front porch is a great place to relax and have a glass of wine. We stayed in the back Hideway room which is part of the owners home at the back of the property. It was cozy and private just a few steps from the main house. 9AM breakfast was right on time and terrific. Each morning we shared a table with different guests and enjoyed the experience quite a bit. David (owner), Crystal and Matthew were very friendly and accommodating. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Lots of parking, very friendly staff (but you hardly know they are there), nicely decorated rooms and a quite area. Just a short drive (or walk) to downtown, it is very convenient for the avid traveler. We stayed here on our way back to the northeast form Florida, and we were very impressed. Something that needs to be mentioned here is the soap supplied for the guests. I have been meaning to email them to request information on how to order it. The fact that they have a discount for younger couples is also amazing, and what helped to make our stay possible. The food was great and the complimentary beverages and cookies were a great feature. We never felt uncomfortable, and we WILL be back. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed here for Belle Chere. Have visited several B&B's in Asheville and this one ranks in the middle. Rooms were very nice. Bed comfortable, sleep quiet, water pressure good, a/c good, and very clean. This is a smaller B&B and most of the sq footage is in the bedrooms, no spacious grand drawing rooms to hang out in. Front porch is very nice, breakfast delicious, one course, self-serve coffee. No complimentary wine. Less perks than other options, but also cheaper than most. Location is great, about a mile walk into downtown.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bankerchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hill_House_Innkeeper, Owner at Hill House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Hill House does offer complimentary wine. We don't have an Innkeeper's Social Hour as some inns do, because we've found many guests prefer to be off the property or in their rooms around 6 pm. But if guests are sitting on the porch or in the parlor between 5 and 7 pm, we always try and offer a glass of wine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Enjoyed this B&B; stayed two nights. Breakfast was served on-time at 9am and was absolutely delicious both days. Even though the B&B was fully occupied, it was quiet, and there was enough parking. Room was decorated beautifully and was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

First of all, the house is absolutely gorgeous. Great rooms, location, cookie jar, fantastic breakfast all great. However the grounds need some TLC especially at those prices. The front was overrun with weeds. This was our final stop on our Blue Ridge Parkway trip and this was the B&B I was most excited about before the trip but was disappointed. The innkeeper and staff were knowledgeable but we didn't get the southern hospitality that we were expecting.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hill_House_Innkeeper, Owner at Hill House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

The front lawn is not "overrun" with weeds. There is some clover and crabgrass, as there has always been in the lawn. But it is kept mowed and detracts little from the lawn's overall appearance. Hard to say what the lady wanted in "southern hospitality" that she didn't felt she received. We were attentive to her and her husband throughout their stay, as we are to all guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Three Minnesota ladies set forth for their first taste of life in North Carolina. In Asheville you couldn't get a bad meal or meet a rude person. Our state has the status of being "Minnesota Nice" but Asheville and most especially our hosts at Hill House were outstanding.

The food was rich and wondrous, and there even was outdoor yoga on mats in the hydrangea garden. It was just so perfect we hope to come again.
Lin Russell

Room Tip: For a small group of three, the room with the sleeping porch was just perfect.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 66 in Asheville
6,254 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 39 in Asheville
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#16 of 39 in Asheville
884 reviews
Historic Montford
Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 120 Hillside St, Asheville, NC 28801-1206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Five Points
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: $178 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill House Bed & Breakfast Inn lies in the heart of Asheville, NC, just minutes to downtown and Biltmore Estate. Enjoy those extra special touches, from exceptionally restful beds and delightful breakfasts to our expansive wrap-around porch overlooking the gardens. You'll feel comfortably at home in the casual elegance of this 1885 residence with an eclectic mix of antique, traditional and unusual furnishings. Choose from ten guest accommodations, many with fireplaces and/or whirlpool tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hill House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing