We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky Spot in Downtown Asheville”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Ranked #20 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Two nights at aloft while looking for a place to relocate to in Asheville. We found the hotel to be quite nice overall. You'll start by parking the car in the attached garage. If you enter off Biltmore Ave, you'll have hotel parking on the level at which you enter. While that is convenient, it gets a bit crowded. We preferred going in two levels below the hotel, which you reach by going around the block to the back. It means one more elevator ride, but the space availability is much better.

Our room faced south, which was good for us, since it kept us away from the street noise. While Asheville isn't exactly rocking in March, it can be noisy during the summertime. The downside was that the room overlooked the pool, where there were lots of lights at night. The electric screens on the window are not as good at blocking light as blackout drapes would be. HVAC cranked (a good thing), which kept the room cool despite the afternoon sun in the windows.

The biggest issue was that there isn't much light in the room. Two little reading lights over the bed and one desk lamp comprise the total lighting for the bedroom area. The light in the loo is better, but who wants to read or work there?

Overall, very good, and a place I would be happy to stay again.

Room Tip: The hotel is in an "L" shape, with north facing rooms looking at downtown and east facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luv2travl003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,011)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

675 - 681 of 1,011 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

We just had a great weekend in Asheville and so nice to park the car on Friday and not worry about it again until Sunday. We could walk to everything from the super location. We were on the 5th floor pool /mtn view. Beds were super comfy and the place was spotless. We had a quibble with the room temperature tho. It was either too hot or too cold. The comforter is too hot it seems and when you crank up the a/c the blower is aimed right at the bed. besides that one issue we loved our stay. Staff was friendly. Lots of activity in the lounge/balcony with a live jazz band at night. We enjoyed the yummy breakfast at City bakery directly across the street.

Room Tip: ask for a mountain view (not street side). I would pick 4th floor or higher to avoid lounge noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sonsonatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Great location, but questionable start to their career in Asheville. We got married June 2013, and made an online reservation at this hotel for our honeymoon. So thrilled we would get to stay next to everything we had planned, in a new swanky hotel. Asheville is a very special place to us that we try to visit every couple years. Of course we wanted the best suite they had (since we only had a short time for our honeymoon - spare no expense). I come bepopping in all happy and glowing, then they tell me they "doublebooked" our reservation and they can only offer us a pool view room, not the luxury suite with whirlpool tub we booked. I was probably more dissappointed than i should have been, but a girl has high expectations for her honeymoon! The guy at the front desk was caring, but the manager was not there at the moment. He graciously offered to make us reservations at the swanky restaurant (Red Stag), which we accepted because we had no time to catch our breath and make other plans. So, road weary, dissappointed and exasperated, we went to this fancy restaurant (Red Stag is AMAHZING btw), while he talked to his manager to see what they could do. So, around dessert, they call me back, they couldn't give us what we wanted (obviously cause they already gave the room away), and could give us a small (small) discount on a pool view room (I'm not in Asheville on my honeymoon for a pool), so we declined. ALoft didn't offer to give us any future coupons to encourage us to try them again (which was VERY dissappointing cause i really wanted to like this property). We ended up (after having a travel agent friend from home book us something) staying at the Haywood downtown in the biggest suite i've ever seen with the biggest bathroom (with whirpool tub i've ever seen), a great view of downtown Asheville, and chilled champagne waiting on us when the ordeal was over (around 10pm when we finally got everything settled and to a room). The Haywood was very apologetic for the ALOFT and very accomodating on our arrival at their hotel!

NOT A WAY TO START A HONEYMOON, didn't get to do what we planned that first evening because the ALoft hotel double booked us. But i was happy after the champagne took affect (can't keep a honeymooner down too long i guess). ALoft gave us some reason of the online reservation doesn't always talk to the direct hotel, blah blah blah. Who doesn't make online reservations these days!!?! Be warned.

Room Tip: um? not sure how you prevent doublebooking, but this is a practice they do. be warned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
9  Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily F, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Hi Anna F,
First off, congratulations on the wedding! I’m very sorry your experience with our hotel led to a bump in your honeymoon plans. I’m glad you were able to talk to a representative from the hotel, but of course understand that it doesn’t fix it all. Thank you for sharing your story with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

As usual trip advisor was tremendous help in choosing our hotel the weekend of March 14-16. I read a review that said stay away from rooms on biltmore ave and ask for a corner room mountain view and ask for room above 3rd floor. No better advise has ever been given. I made that request upon making reservations and was very pleasantly accomadated. Every one from the checkin employees to the housekeeping staff to any emotes of the hotel were just exceptionally nice. We checked in about 330 and had to wait on our room which was not a problem, but came to realize later the next day I think they need to hire more refresh staff as they call them there. Room was somewhat smaller than we were used to bit quite adequate. Beds were super comfortable and the had a small refrig on the floor with bags of ice for u to grab and go and that was REALLY nice. The 5 floor was super quiet and it is so convenient to every thing downtown. A lovely stay

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Clemson1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Just got back from a long weekend trip with friends in Asheville. We've stayed at other Alofts in other cities before and so was happy to see Asheville had one and a great location and rate. We booked through Southwest.com and got a very reasonable rate. The hotel is a in a great location in Downtown Asheville. Very convenient to breweries in the area and great places to eat. The staff was very nice as well. They accommodated our request to be near our friends' rooms and overall were just very pleasant. Great bar for before a night out or for one more on your way to bed. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily F, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Hi Julianne W,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate your recommendation! I’m happy to hear you were able to take advantage of the convenient location and interact with our welcoming staff. We hope to see you and your friends back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We've stayed in all the downtown hotels. Aloft is in an excellent location, modern and clean, comfy beds. Love the shower, but wish we'd had a tub as well. Convenient parking. Our midweek stay was at a good rate; they are beating the overpriced Indigo on that front. However, the neighborhood can be noisy. Try for a room on a higher floor that does not face Biltmore Avenue.

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank nextvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This hotel was wonderful! This hotel is very pet friendly...we took our dog and our cat! There is absolutely no extra fee to bring pets. When we arrived, they told us that we could move to the 3rd floor and have a view of the pool. The 3rd floor I'm guessing is the "dog floor" and we loved it! Not only was our view of the pool nice, but it was also located near the outside dog area (which we found so nice!) There is also a really nice sitting area with a fire pit.

When we made our reservation, I put that it would be my birthday the day we arrived. I was pleasantly surprised to find an envelope in our room for two complimentary drinks at the bar. The bar was very nice and the atmosphere was pleasant. (I saw one person complain that the bar closed at 12 during the week.....most shops in Asheville close at 9 or 10, if your looking to party late this may not be your type of town)

I had read on the website beforehand that you could get a "puppy love" package. We didn't get one when we arrived so I called the front desk and they came right up and brought it to us. It included a big pillow bed, a ball, dog treats, and a bowl. I thought it was so great how they cater to animals. They do make you sign a waiver saying not to leave your dog unattended in the room, but I am guessing that may mean running around. Anyways, we brought my dog's crate, so we just put her in there when we went out. We had absolutely no problems.

We will definitely be back here soon!

Room Tip: 3rd floor is for pets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmo887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Residences at Biltmore
#26 of 66 in Asheville
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Asheville Downtown

Address: 51 Biltmore Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801-3626
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Downtown Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range: $171 - $519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aloft Asheville Downtown hotel offers a great view of the mountains while being situated in the heart of downtown Asheville, within walking distance of shopping, restaurants, and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aloft Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing