We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Aloft!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Ranked #19 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Amazing Aloft!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel has a hip, modern vibe and great atmosphere. The balcony, bar and pool were amazing. The views from the pool/lounge area were outstanding. The hotel itself was comfortable and lacked that generic feel you sometimes get with hotels. The dowtown location was very convenient. All in all, loved it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    316
    83
    41
    23
See reviews for
154
493
47
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield County, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Aloft Asheville is in a great location, central to the downtown shopping and restaurant district. The Biltmore Estate is a short drive away. It has a spacious, lively lounge area adjacent to its bar, which opens to an outdoor deck. The food at the bar was very good, and the bartenders and waitstaff were friendly and helpful. The beds were really comfortable.

The only drawbacks were the room sizes and configurations. The rooms themselves had little floorspace beyond what was covered by the furniture. The bathroom area where the sink was located was the only place with any space to change, but the door to the room opened right into it. Also, the divider between the bathroom space and the area with the beds does not go all the way to the ceiling, so if you get up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom and turn on the light, the sleeping area is also illuminated. None of this would matter to a solo traveler, but it is a bit inconvenient otherwise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctmominlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLozano, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear ctmominlaw,

Thank for sharing your comments about your recent stay. We are so glad you enjoy the location and our hotel features, like the pool and outdoor space. We do apologize the your room configuration did not meet your expectations. We hope you choose to stay with us again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knightdale, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I got an opportunity to stay at Aloft for a several day training and it was spectacular! The design of the hotel is updated and modern and the amenities were great. My husband travelled with me and we got a king room, equipped with great linens, decor and comfy bed. The bathroom is fully modernized with walk-in glass shower, big enough to have a bamboo table to set your toiletries on. They also allow dogs up to 80lbs., which was great for us. We had to pay $50 for it but it was better to be able to travel with our dog and take him on walks in downtown. The room windows open as well, letting in some of that crisp Appalachian air! They also have a full restaurant and a cafe. The coffee and breakfast offerings were plentiful, including fresh oatmeal and espresso. If you're able and want to great get away with your partner or just to hang out with friends, it's a great place to stay. You are able to walk to The Grove Arcade, and all within 1/3 of a mile, you can get to most of what wonderful downtown Asheville has to offer.

Room Tip: To get a good view of downtown, get a room on the west side of the building, along the edge of Biltm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jermsshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I've stayed in several Aloft properties throughout the country, and this one is without question the best. Asheville is a very walkable downtown area, and this property is positioned almost right in the middle of it, providing no more than a 10 minute walk to almost anywhere in the area you'd want to go. Staff was top notch, getting us checked in and out easily and providing some great suggestions for food and drink spots downtown when asked. WXYZ Bar was nice, much larger than most of the Aloft properties I've been to, and with a fantastic balcony overlooking the street below. The drinks were less than stellar, but the bartenders making them were nice and carried on good conversation. The rooms were standard Aloft, but what I really loved was that rather than having bottled water in the room, you were provided with a pitcher to fill op down the hall at a filtered reverse osmosis water station. Great touch that allowed us as much filtered water as we wanted while also cutting down on waste. I can't say enough good things about this hotel, and I look forward to staying there again on my next trip to Asheville.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaggyMEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Loved this hotel! Great pet friendly location. Not much area to exercise our dogs, but very pet friendly town. Roof top had a faux grass pet area near the pool. Never seen this at a hotel before, very cool. Great balcony overlooking one of the main streets in town for cocktails. We had a corner room with lots of space. Nice pool and fire pit area on roof. Will definitely stay here again. Erik was the person that helped up at check in, not the most accommodating person at the Aloft.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkdaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLozano, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hi jkdaves,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on your recent stay. We are so glad you and your dog enjoyed your accommodations as well as the pool. We hope you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Very modern, contemporary setting - perfect for the yuppie crowds of Asheville. Staff was very friendly and helpful and the bed was very comfortable. Rooms were a little small for the price but were OK. Had drinks and appetizers in the bar on the 2nd floor and they were very, very good. In fact, we found that we didn't need to have dinner after having the outstanding small plates offered there. We had a waitress named Erika that was exceptionally friendly and attentive, which made the experience even more enjoyable. Location was great - right downtown with tons of things to see within easy walking distance. Would stay again.

Room Tip: They have city view and mountain view rooms available - the mountain view was gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arkies10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n. carolina
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had a birthday get away and the hotel was superb, the room was comfortable and clean and the cabana was a nice upgrade. The location was ideal for exploring downtown Asheville and dining , we parked the car and never used it till we left. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: in nice weather the rooms on the pool level with the cabanas were perfect for sitting and reading.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrGadget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLozano, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hi DrGadget,

Thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay. We are so glad you enjoyed your accommodations as well as our location. We hope you birthday getaway was memorable and glad we were able to be apart of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
734 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Asheville Downtown

Property: Aloft Asheville Downtown
Address: 51 Biltmore Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801-3626
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Downtown Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aloft Asheville Downtown hotel offers a great view of the mountains while being situated in the heart of downtown Asheville, within walking distance of shopping, restaurants, and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Aloft Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing