We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Ranked #19 of 65 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Point Pleasant, West Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I had a fantastic time in the city of Asheville. Your hotel was in the PERFECT location and our room overlooked the wonderful Smokey Mountains! I would go back in a minute! This hotel is hip and new and totally out of our comfort zone! We loved the bar and even received two drinks on the house! :)

Room Tip: Mountain View! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hi Alissa D,

Thank you for your recent stay and sharing your experience with us. We are glad to hear you and your husband enjoyed your trip to Asheville, and your experience here at Aloft.

Come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    315
    82
    41
    22
See reviews for
152
486
45
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was perfect for a weekend stay in and around Asheville. Service was excellent. Room was clean but a bit small compared to other Aloft hotels. Lounge and lobby were great. Enjoyed breakfast and bar. Live music Fri and Sat nights were a bit odd and didn't fit with city vibe. Everything within walking distance, including Wicked Weed, Hi Wire and local Asheville shops. Highly recommend for anybody visiting Asheville.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mrola13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabun Gap, Georgia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Almost gave the Aloft a 3-star, but it's better than that. Almost gave it a 2-star, but it doesn't deserve that.

Aloft is new, hip, youthful, and smack dab in the middle of Asheville's vibrant downtown experience. Parking is in the attached public parking deck and is reasonable. The rooms are trendy-chic, but smacked a bit of IKEA--I worry that in a year or two they will be more shabby-chic than trendy. We booked a corner suite and really loved our spacious room with tremendous views. We were disappointed, however, that there was no club lounge--a feature that we have come to expect as longtime SPG folks. Worse, breakfast was decidedly pre-fab, and kind of expensive, and there weren't many (any?) convenient early-morning breakfast options nearby. The lounge/bar on the second floor was popular, and the city view terrace was a nice place to have a $6 beer. It was also loud, and our Sunday night experience makes me suspect that on the weekends the loudness of downtown in general will be bothersome.

It may be picking nits to complain about housekeeping, but it was (at least for the level of hotel that Aloft aspires to be) very inconsistent. Although the room was in general very clean, every day there was some small thing that wasn't done, or wasn't done right. No creamer in the coffee service, no bath mats, no hand towels, no sugar in the coffee service, no clean glasses, table top obviously not wiped down, sticky bathroom floor: 5 for 5 less-than-perfects on a 5 night stay is not the sort of thing one might hope for.

Anyway--you may LOVE your stay here, or you may be super-frustrated, If you are AT the loud party it won't bother you, and if you only stay a night or two then the housekeeping won't start to chafe. We're closer to love, but will have higher expectations (and a good breakfast plan) when we return.

Room Tip: Street side rooms may be loud--pool level rooms the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Aloft is one of the best places we've stayed in downtown Asheville. Love the decor! Rooms are wonderful! Beautiful view of the mountains. Love, love the shower :) We are looking forward to staying here again!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiptoe2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyVDK, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Hi tiptoe2013,

So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here in downtown Asheville! We're glad you liked our unique style, found our rooms comfortable, and enjoyed our breathtaking mountain views.

Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Great hotel, friendly staff, comfortable atmosphere and GREAT live music!! They have a pool and a great outdoor lounge area. Parking is easy and lively fun bar area. It is centrally located so you can walk to everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Waited almost a year to stay in this Aloft for the annual BeleChere. We were very attracted to this property due to location and the rooftop pool. We were not disappointed, and I give the highest rating on this review because being within *close* walking distance to our most favorite Asheville restaurants and shops, as well as part of BeleChere was our priority. Pool and pool view/atmosphere was great! There are a few things I wish were better: (1) even on the 5th floor, the noise from the bar below at 1am was really too loud (on the city view side), (2) the room size and (lack of) bed comfort were very much the Aloft minimalist style - not a surprise, however, for the price it's hard to feel good about that, and (3) most disturbing, the "concierge" on duty - two different employees - was very under trained. Given that this was BeleChere weekend, I would have expected those employees to have a top-three (at least) recommendation for every question asked, as well as be able to immediately plot the walking directions on a map. The employee(s') - again two different ones - unapologetic attitude at their own lack of information was stunning for someone in this role. Maybe I should have expected the Aloft concierge to be as minimalist as the rooms? I would still stay again - just managing expectations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_B28117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyVDK, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Hi Mrs_B28117,

Thank you for choosing Aloft for this special event weekend. We're happy you enjoyed your stay and our convenient location in the heart of downtown Asheville.

We would also like to thank you for sharing your thoughts on how we can improve. We see feedback as a gift, and appreciate you taking the time to share these comments with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I took my girlfriend to Asheville for her birthday last week. Upon first arriving we found the hotel with no issues and the parking garage attached was easy to navigate. When we walked in, we were immediately greeted by Alex who checked us in and took great care of us with his warm smile and genuine attitude. Everyone in the hotel was fantastic, and by everyone, I mean every employee we encountered was so friendly and smiley, it was a true treat, from Derrick at the bar, to Jeremy at the front desk, and even a lady in the sales department made us a key when we left ours in the room...oops! The property itself is fantastic. The rooms are well laid out and the beds...or lord the beds were so comfy! The bar was super reasonable for downtown pricing and the drinks were expertly crafted. Overall, this was one of the best stays I've ever had at a hotel and can't thank the staff enough as they truly made this experience a great one for me as well as my girlfriend! Thanks Aloft Asheville!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_me_timbers31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyVDK, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Hi Travel_me_timbers31,

Thank you for choosing Aloft for your recent trip to Asheville, and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We're happy to hear you and your girlfriend enjoyed your stay, and that our staff took such great care of you! Thanks for calling out which team members specifically impressed you - we'll be sure to congratulate them for the exceptional service.

Thanks for staying, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 65 in Asheville
724 reviews
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 65 in Asheville
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Asheville Downtown

Property: Aloft Asheville Downtown
Address: 51 Biltmore Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801-3626
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Downtown Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 65 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aloft Asheville Downtown hotel offers a great view of the mountains while being situated in the heart of downtown Asheville, within walking distance of shopping, restaurants, and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Aloft Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing