We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aloft Asheville Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Ranked #19 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel was great! Everything was clean, the pool had a beautiful view of the mountains. The outside bar was very nice and resonably priced. Location was amazing! I did not get back in my car once the whole weekend. Max at check in was very helpful and friendly. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyVDK, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Hi Jean B,

Thanks for the great feedback - we're so happy you enjoyed your stay! Glad to hear you found our hotel clean, location convenient, and amenities enjoyable.

We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    296
    78
    41
    21
See reviews for
146
467
43
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We just stayed here for a night and it was amazing. I had never stayed in Aloft Hotel before and really enjoyed the very Modern theme of the room and lobby areas including the fun floors in the elevator and the use of local artwork . The bar with outside seating was also fun and although I never went in the pool it looked great from our room windows . Everyone on the front desk was very helpful and provided exceptional customer service. As other reviewers have noted the location is perfect for walking to all bars and restaurants in the City ...I cannot wait to stay here again when visiting Asheville one of my favorite places !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyVDK, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Hi BBinNC,

We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your first Aloft Hotels experience, and that you enjoyed our unique style, convenient location, and exceptional customer service! We hope to see you again next time you're in Asheville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
370 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We decided to stay at Aloft on this particular trip to Asheville because we wanted to be downtown for our only night there. I chose the Aloft because it is relatively new, we are Starwood Elite members and because other hotels were already booked. It was indeed in a good location, surrounded by Asheville's eclectic collection of restaurants, cafe's, bars, art galleries and shops.

Upon check-in, my Starwood status was not recognized until I brought up the possibility of an upgrade based on our gold level. An upgrade was available but the bedding was not what we reserved. No big deal. Our room was clean and modern, and although it was small, it was more than adequate for our brief stay. We did run out of toilet paper with no replacement rolls in the room, but only right before we checked out. The room had pull down room-darkening shades to block light coming from the street. Toiletries by "Bliss" spa products were nice. The bathroom and shower were plenty spacious even in a non-traditional layout, space saving layout. The full length mirror on the water closet/shower door was a nice touch.

The lobby/check-in area can be confusing, but it worked out ok. The main lobby is on the second floor, not street level. The lobby had a pool table and a snack bar, as well as a balcony with tables looking out front onto Biltmore Ave.

All in all, it was a fine, no-frills type stay, but $300/night is very steep for what you get at the Aloft. In my opinion, this hotel should be closer to $150-$175/night. Location alone does not warrant the room rate we paid.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KelekeWahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very nice hotel; modern architecture and decor. Everything was very clean and smelled new. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We checked into the hotel on a Saturday night around 10 pm. It was hard to get to the hotel due to the large amount of vehicular and pedestrian traffic in that area of town. The ground level of the hotel was bustling with activity and I thought this is not going to be a great place to get some sleep. We stayed on the third floor which was on level with the deck and pool area. We had the continental breakfast which is OK. The biggest problem we had was trying to get some sleep. The air conditioning fan stayed on constantly and was very loud. We tried sleeping with pillows over our head to drown out the sound (didn't work). When I figured out how to make the AC fan turn off, then we could hear other people in the hotel in the adjoining rooms. When I went to get some ice in the morning, there wasn't any on the third floor. I did inform the front desk about the loud air conditioning and they were going to submit a work order to address the problem. If you're going to Asheville to experience the nightlife and party, this is the place to go. But if you just want a nice quiet place to get some rest, I would recommend going somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Just spent two nights there. They were very busy and it showed. As in most understaffed Hotels it was not totally clean. A lot of hair in the shower drain. Black slate floors in the bath and shower. You can't tell if it is clean or not. Not much detail cleaning done there. Pool was a mess in the afternoon without much attention. The two elevators are slow and the king room is small. BUT. It was a different experience and just enough to get by. It has a few of the Starwood extras that they seem to think are special. The parking is great. The pool is not. But for the location it was much easier than the worn out Four Points Sheraton. For a 115 room hotel it is not totally done with all that Starwood should insist on. A little extra help and a little extra care would help this place.

Room Tip: The location will sell this place. The place is sold out most night and the staff show it. The cle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

After a night of camping in the forest south of Asheville, we decided to spend a little more than usual on a nice hotel. We heard about the city being a beer city, so we didn't want to worry about driving anywhere.
This hotel was by far the best choice. The guy that helped us, Max?, was very nice. We didn't make reservations, so he found us a room that had just been cleaned right in time for us, considering that we got there around 2 and check in is at 3.
From our room, we could see the mountains and that was enough for me to be happy. The rooftop pool was neat, and everything was very modern. The rooms were not decorated like the usual "my grandma decorated this place" room. The showers were really neat.
After seeing the city, we stopped by the bar on the second floor, and that was the icing on the cake. Their chairs were comfy, beer prices reasonable, and the server was nice.

All in all, the hotel made our experience in Asheville even better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firerod0302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

As others have said, the location is great. Right in the middle of things, and an easy walk to any downtown location. If you're going to an Orange Peel show (as we were), this is the place to stay--a 30 second walk!

The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. We had a slight problem when our door keys suddenly stopped working (they were doing maintenance on the key system and something burped), but this was quickly resolved, and otherwise everything was great. We especially loved the lobby/bar area and its outside seating, as well as the pool area. We got a mountain view room and it was great to be able to lie in bed and see the beautiful mountains off in the distance (and by the way, the bed was very comfortable!). Other reviewers have mentioned noise issues, but we had no problems with noise at all. Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arbyunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
0.3 mi away
Haywood Park Hotel
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
0.3 mi away
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 63 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Asheville Downtown

Property: Aloft Asheville Downtown
Address: 51 Biltmore Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801-3626
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Downtown Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aloft Asheville Downtown hotel offers a great view of the mountains while being situated in the heart of downtown Asheville, within walking distance of shopping, restaurants, and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Aloft Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing