We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok, i guess...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Ranked #19 of 65 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“ok, i guess...”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

My wife and I came here for our 3rd anniversary - we'd never been to Asheville and we wanted to stay downtown. It's in a great location to get around downtown without using a car. Staff was nice and rooms were clean, but they were a little smaller than I thought they were compared to the pictures.
The bar was packed Saturday night - almost hard to move around. They should have considered moving the check in desk further away.
I can't really complain - it met expectations, but for some reason I assumed it would be nicer than it really was. The finishes, while modern, seem to age and wear easily for such a new hotel. Also, the construction of the building seemed below par. There was a roof pond atop the parking garage - we could see it from our room window.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benji A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    314
    82
    41
    22
See reviews for
152
485
45
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed at this hotel on a Friday night the first weekend in December. The hotel was clean. Decorated in typical Aloft decor. Staff were friendly and helpful. Walls were thin. Heard a sneeze from the next room just as clearly as if the person was in our room. Street noise too until late at night from motorcycles, cars and emergency vehicles. Location is great for walking around downtown. The pool is beautiful, especially for a downtown hotel. Rooms were small. Nice bar area on second floor. Free parking in downtown while staying in this hotel is great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadrider59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Aloft Asheville for our 1 year anniversary and it was wonderful. The rooms are modern, updated, clean, and were just a refreshing change from boring outdated hotels. There was even a Starbucks located in the hotel which is always nice! It was cold so we didn't use the pool but we walked around it and the roof top pool looked very nice.
If you want to stay downtown and be able to walk to all the shops, restaurants, and nightlife then this is the place to stay!! We loved the convenience of being able to walk everywhere! We will definitely be staying here again!

Room Tip: The rooms on the 3rd floor are a little noisy because the lounge on the 2nd floor has live music som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed there during Thanksgiving weekend. Very convenient to locations in downtown Asheville. The hotel is very typical of Aloft - modern and clean. The staff felt a bit inexperienced. Most likely because the hotel is still relatively new. Nice bar area with balcony seating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wabbitAndBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineHarris, General Manager at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear wabbitAndBug,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review in regards to your stay with us. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and do look forward to your return. If I can be of any assistance for future reservations please do not hesitate to email me at catherine.harris@aloftashevilledowntown.com or call 828 232 2838. Enjoy the rest of your week and thank you again.

In Hospitality,
Catherine Harris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We just returned after a four day get-away to the ALoft Asheville! Location is in the middle of the downtown Arts and shopping district.

The views from our 3rd floor Cabana room were great, and the pool deck with fireplaces just topped off the fabulous weather this Thanksgiving weekend. Best of all we have found a new favorite hotel that embraces our four legged kids! They loved the plush dog beds and the special dog turf/run for the late night relief was an added bonus to both the kids and mom and dad!

Did I say it was cool? The rooms are very modern and minimalist, yet we were cozy and comfortable. The beds were fabulous and we napped with the door to the patio open and brisk breeze blowing!

We watched the sun up and sun downs from the beautiful patio balcony with special fire pit for warmth. The cabana rooms and bar would make for a special get away in warmer times! I'd return in a heartbeat! The only thing that could have made things better would have been a hot tub!

The second floor reception was alive with activities and families playing board games and pool near the comfy chairs and seats around the fire place. The bar allowed for some nice cocktails and permitted the kids to enjoy themselves, as well! The first floor lobby area was a tad confusing, but once we realized the writing on the black board directed us to go to the second floor lobby, we were set! Customer service was impeccable. We tend to wake very early and needed a refill of coffee, which the night manager kindly took care of for us! We had breakfast at the food nook which was tasty and quick!

As someone else posted, this is not your conventional hotel, but something way more exciting and cool! This hotel would be suitable for couples, as well as families! Moreover, we reward hotels that treat dogs as well as they do their customers! Molly and GW say, Thank You, ALoft!

Room Tip: Snag a cabana room on the third floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineHarris, General Manager at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Karen B,

Wow thank you so much for such a wonderful review about your recent stay with us. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to let the world know about how "Cool" we are... I must agree with you that our views are breathtaking from Air Level. Our four legged guests are very special to us when they get to stay, I must say we love to give them the royal treatment with their own bed, food & water bowls, and a special treat when they arrive. Come back to Asheville soon and tell your friends about us... Thank you again and have a wonderful week.

In Hospitality,
Catherine Harris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband I recently were there in late October for our week long fall vacation. The hotel surpassed our expectations. We had the city view on the 3rd floor. Our room was beautiful! The only downer was limited drawer space for clothes. Aside from that, no complaints. The entire staff did a great job of welcoming us! There is a Starbucks and bar conveniently located on the 2nd floor; making it a great place to unwind. Although chilly, the rooftop makes for excellent people watching [the heaters outside are an added bonus, so is the fireplace]. Also, you couldn't ask for a better location. I would advise people that consider going that isn't a traditional hotel. I think its great that the Aloft thinks out of the box. It might be more laid back, but provides quality customer service. I hope to return here in the future. Bravo, ALOFT!!

Room Tip: 3rd Floor has a great city view and offers quick access to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanttoseetheworld247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineHarris, General Manager at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear wanttoseetheworld247,

My name is Catherine Harris and I am the General Manager for the Aloft Asheville Downtown. Thank you so much for taking the time to say such Great things about your experience during your stay with us. It is our goal to provide all of our guests with the same experience you had. We too hope to see you again soon in Asheville, we value you as our guest and strive to be your number one hotel choice when visiting Asheville. If I can ever be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly catherine.harris@aloftashevilledowntown.com. Thank you again and safe travels as you see the world....

In Hospitality,
Catherine Harris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Nice new hotel, trendy typical Aloft. Staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. I read some previous comments and have to disagree about the Staff. Everyone from front desk, to snack bar attendants to bar staff late at night extremely cooperative and professional. Rooms are nice, good views over the city or mountains. Situated handily in the downtown close walking to many fine restaurants. Overall a great 4 day stay experience in the Aloft Asheville.

Room Tip: Ask for a montain view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jwbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineHarris, General Manager at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear John W,

My name is Catherine Harris and I am the General Manager for the Aloft Asheville Downtown. I am thrilled to read and share your wonderful comments about our great Talent from the Front Desk, Re:Fresh, Re:Fuel, and W xyz. All of our talent enjoy's meeting and hearing from our very valued guests. We strive to provide the best service which is our number one goal. We do hope you will return again soon and we thank you for the time you took to leave us a great review on Trip Advisor. If I may ever be of any assistance please do not hesitate to call me at 828-232-2838 or email me at catherine.harris@aloftashevilledowntown.com. Thank you again and safe travels.

In Hospitality,
Catherine Harris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 65 in Asheville
724 reviews
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 65 in Asheville
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Asheville Downtown

Property: Aloft Asheville Downtown
Address: 51 Biltmore Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801-3626
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Downtown Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 65 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aloft Asheville Downtown hotel offers a great view of the mountains while being situated in the heart of downtown Asheville, within walking distance of shopping, restaurants, and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Aloft Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing