We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars and more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Ranked #20 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

This place rocks. Can't say enough good things about this swank hotel. It's hot a bar that has the best mixologists in town. Great staff and rooms with the best views. Pretty people everywhere and high energy.

If your not young at heart, this may not be the place for you so beware!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FabulousFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,019)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

973 - 979 of 1,019 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

We arrived late Wednesday night to the downtown Asheville area and happened upon Aloft. We ended up staying and were immediately taken back by the cool/ hip qualities that it offered. You walk in to a lobby desk that backs up to an entire chalkboard wall, which they list events/ weather on and guests can write on as well. On the second floor is the wxyz lounge that guests as well as folks from the community can hang out at. Live entertainment was there each night of our stay.

We were lucky enough to stay in a room with a cabana- which is a breath taking and a must have if you stay at this hotel! You walk out to your own open seating area that you can make private by drawing the outside curtains or you can walk our further to the outdoor pool or just beyond it to the retro seating area that is lit up, music streaming through the speakers, and a fire pit that is on at night. The view of the mountains is amazing! Literally it felt like we were on the side of the mountain in a cabin but yet in the city with all of its fun.

And we did take our children, one is 1.5 years old and the other is 5 years old. It worked out just fine.

The only complaints I would have are:
- there was a dog yapping all through the night on the second night of our stay that was in a room nearby
-evidently workers in the hotel were drilling/ hammering in the early morning hours in an electrical room near ours
-no microwave in the room
-towels were a bit cheap, left fuzz in your hair after drying

Cool features:
-Pre-made bags of ice with good ice that wasn't your cheap, typical hotel ice
-Water flask for you to keep by your bed
-Washer/Dryer available for use with short cycles (good for us because we were on over a week long trip)

Regardless it was such a fantastic stay! Very sweet stop!

Room Tip: If you have a child still in a pack in play the division between your sleeping area and the bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Parking was easy and the location can't be beat for downtown shopping and dining. The common areas are great for people watching. Staff was friendly and helpful, although best to keep your door locked or the privacy sign up as we had two interruptions for a 'refresh' within 3 hours of checking in. The rooms are small but adequate. Overall, comparable to the Indigo but with a few kinks to work out. would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calliehope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Had a great weekend here in Asheville. Good location. And room upgrade for platinum status was a great choice #501.
The parking situation with room keys needs to be fixed and the awkward 2nd floor reception with a 1st floor desk doesn't make sense to arriving guests. Other than this, good stay.

Good job aloft on a successful new launch of this property.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willbw02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed a week in a suite, so really got to know the place. If you stay on the third floor, which is above the second bar/lounge/rec area, be prepared for noise on nights with live music. Very modern furniture, but not the least bit comfortable. Very well located to enjoy the best of downtown.

Stayed: October 2012
Thank Just4grinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My boyfriend and I love Asheville and when we saw the location of this place we booked it immediately. Although, we went there for the location, we couldn't have been happier with our room, food, the bar, the ledge overlooking the street, the pool area, the staff. It was a great trip and this hotel was huge part of why!!!

Room Tip: 6th floor has a balcony overlooking the pool and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harbend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The location of this hotel is super...within walking distance of restaurants, shops, sightseeing and entertainment. Parked the car here for $5.00 per day and relaxed while spending the time walking around. The room was pleasant, clean, but the lighting in the room is a bit harsh and every sound in the bathroom can be heard in the bedroom area...I think because there is only a shower and the area to the toilet/shower area is a pocket style door that is very loud in the next room.

Room Tip: Our room faced the pool and had a view of the mountains; perhaps quieter than facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JrnyJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Residences at Biltmore
#26 of 66 in Asheville
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Asheville Downtown

Address: 51 Biltmore Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801-3626
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Downtown Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range: $156 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aloft Asheville Downtown hotel offers a great view of the mountains while being situated in the heart of downtown Asheville, within walking distance of shopping, restaurants, and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aloft Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing