We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!! I can't wait to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Ranked #19 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed in this hotel right after it opened. All I can say is wow! The overall experience was fantastic. The hotel has a check-in desk/ motor lobby on the first floor but the real hotel starts on the second floor. The second floor has another concierge/check-in desk along with the XZY bar, pool table, several couches, a huge outside seating area, and the breakfast area. Essentially the whole second floor is an open area that functions depending on the time of day. During breakfast, lunch, or dinner(drinks) the entire floor is used to service guest. I got a cinnamon crunch waffle for breakfast that was to die for. Other than breakfast I only enjoyed the space for cocktails. I was put in a mountain view king suite that was just top notch. Nothing in the rooms seemed cheap and the bed was extremely comfortable. The third floor has a massive pool deck along with with a "dog walk" that let's your pets do their business. My only complaint with this area is that there were no umbrellas and the pool water was a bit cold. All-in-all this hotel was just down right amazing. It's brand new and it's located in the heart of downtown Asheville. The location allows you to walk to all of the shops and restaurants with out the need for a cab. My only major complaint is that I could not stay longer.

Room Tip: Book a room and experience Asheville!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineHarris, General Manager at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Greetings John B,
Thank you for posting such great comments in regards to your recent stay with us, we greatly appreciate the time you took to let everyone know about us. I personally wanted to let you know that we are diligently working on getting umbrella's for our fabulous Air Level, and thank you for pointing this out to us. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your Cinnamon Crunch Waffle straight from our Chef - Rob, he truly does an AMAZING job with all of our menu items offered from Awake as well as our W xyz Lounge. We have had such positive feedback in regards to our menu selections we are now offering Lunch on the LEDGE during weekends. I do hope you have another opportunity to travel back to the Asheville area and stay longer. If I may be of any assistance for your travel arrangements to Asheville please do not hesitate to contact me directly via email or phone. Thank you again for your comments and safe travels to you.
In Hospitality,
Catherine Harris
General Manager
828.232.2838
catherine.harris@aloftashevilledowntown.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,003)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

991 - 997 of 1,004 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed at the Aloft Asheville Downtown on the first 3 nights they were opened. Staying at the hotel was a wonderful experience with the attentive staff, mountain views, trendy bar and local art. The Aloft is a pet friendly hotel in the heart of downtown, just a short walk to all of Asheville's best restaurants, shops, entertainment and local culture!! My room was spacious and my bed was comfy and inviting! The views from the hotel are breathtaking. The outdoor patio that overlooks downtown (Biltmore Ave.) is the perfect place for drinks at night or breakfast the next morning. The Aloft is SUPER pet friendly with an great pet walk area near the pool deck so make sure you bring your 4 legged fur friends. P.S. they have pet beds with treats! Enjoyed every minute of it!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Potterygirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineHarris, General Manager at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Greetings Potterygirly,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review for us in regards to your recent stay at the aloft Asheville Downtown... We love when our four legged fur friends get to come visit us, they do get special treats and a bed of their very own along with a water and food bowl. We are very excited about our fabulous location and the breath taking views spanning from the City of Asheville to our Gorgeous Mountain Views. Please do come back to see us soon and if I may of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Thank you again and safe travels...
In Hospitality,
Catherine Harris
General Manager
828.232.2838
catherine.harris@aloftashevilledowntown.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Nice bar called WXYZ, the food was great! Service was excellent. Drinks at the Ledge overlooking Biltmore Avenue were also great. Breakfast was really good. Nice comfortable rooms with modern amentities.

Room Tip: Mountain View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Virginia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Discovered the Aloft was opening in Asheville, booked the room and what a great experience. Downtown Asheville is wonderful but great hotels nearby are scarce. The Aloft is a terrific choice as it is perfectly located so one can walk to restaurants and entertainment (or just stroll). What impressed me most was the energy. The bar is trendy and fun with great food and a unique wine list. The ability to venture onto the outdoor patio for drinks or breakfast made both experiences worth the visit unto itself. I arrived wanting a hotel close to downtown. I departed with a new appreciation of what can make a trip out of town something to rave about. This is one of those hotels that surprises you in a good way. Bottom line, it really was a "wow" experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the mountains or a cabana room directly off the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neverlost1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed during the first week of opening. Trendy decor with a fabulous collection of local art adorning the walls of the public spaces. Great, convenient center of downtown location. The front outdoor patio with seating area and fireplace is right on Biltmore with a great urban feel, yet the pool deck on the back side is quiet with beautiful views of the mountains. Room was very comfortable. We like the floor plan, large TV, and glass surround shower. Highly recommend. Will definately be back......soon.

Room Tip: backside rooms have great quiet view of mtns,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Our stay at tw Aloft was on only their second night. The location is very convenient to walking to anything downtown and the attached parking garage is inexpensive and provides comfort for any extra belongings left in the auto. The room was nice - typical / standard Aloft room though perhaps slightly smaller. The staff were nice and welcoming but very new and still unsure of how to answer standard questions. I imagine that will fall into place in the coming weeks

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dorsburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Exciting, fresh, new Asheville hotel offers a great location walking distance to Asheville's best restaurants, shops and more! Modern rooms offer fun contemporary decor and great city and mountain views. Super pet friendly to the extent of a special dog walk area and fabulous doggie amenities! We will bring our four legged friend with us next time! We arrived the day after opening and found the staff friendly and welcoming. Bartender Cynthia at the hotel's hip Wxyz bar makes the best martinis to be found anywhere! Asheville lodging has just stepped up to the next level!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank reniecarroll1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Asheville Downtown

Address: 51 Biltmore Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801-3626
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Downtown Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range: $181 - $579 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aloft Asheville Downtown hotel offers a great view of the mountains while being situated in the heart of downtown Asheville, within walking distance of shopping, restaurants, and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Aloft Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing