We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second visit - even better” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plant Vegan Restaurant

Plant Vegan Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 775 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Plant serves innovative, organic plant-based cuisine, local brews, craft cocktails, and biodynamic wines in a modern inviting setting.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Second visit - even better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Plant is an outstanding restaurant, and it's even better because it's vegan. No meat, dairy or eggs in anything. The atmosphere is cool, not fancy, with an open kitchen. Servers know the food and give great advice when choosing entrees. Our Jerusalem artichoke appetizer was incredible - just like roasted artichoke hearts, maybe better. Hubby had a raw burrito that was cool and crisp with just the right amount of spice. I had a grilled portobella mushroom on chard and polenta with a house made "steak" sauce - divine. We finished up with beet ice cream that is indescribably good - perfect texture and a savory earthiness that left us wanting more. Drinks were local beer and an organic wine from Spain. I love this restaurant and wish I were closer so I could eat here more than once a year. The prices are very fair for the quality of the food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cynthcore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    454
    79
    33
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
144 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Imaginatively wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

I can't say enough good things about this restaurant. I went with 2 friends who were carnivores and they also loved it. The creativity of the dishes is amazing. I always say nothing has to die for you to eat and this places proves it.

We had the fried plantains and roasted Jerusalem artichokes for apps and I had walnut crusted seitan for my entree. The sauces were delicious, the meals were cooked to perfection and the service was flawless. They had a nice wine selection (small) and a 'almost' full bar. The prices aren't bad and it is definitely not kid friendly which is what I look for when choosing a restaurant.

HIGHLY recommend!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DeniseReaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
187 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Vegan can only go so far......”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

I was put off by this place w/in one minute when they refused to cut a birthday cake that wasn't vegan as "it will contaminate our kitchen". Well, cut it at the table then! Things didn't get much better when we asked for a vodka drink only to be told "we only recently opened the bar and we only have gin". In my opinion, vegan food just tries too hard. You can't make a silk purse out of a sow's ear, and you can't make vegan ingredients taste like cheese, or anything else as far as I'm concerned. All the menu items were just that - you don't make oysters, or anything that looks or tastes even close to oysters, out of vegan ingredients. All in all, pretty disappointing but about what one would expect from a overreaching attempt to make vegan ingredients what they are not.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank funlonghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

Wasn't sure about a vegan option, especially considering that the bf can't do without his mealtime meat, but all four of the entrees ordered at our table were delicious!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Vegan meal ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Let me start by saying that my husband (a part time vegan) said that if there were Michelin stars given out for Vegan Restaurants, that Plant should get one.
Everything about the experience at Plant are amazing. From the service, to the warm and welcoming atmosphere. The food is expertly crafted, always delicious, and beautifully presented. Their passion is the food, and you can taste it with every bite.
And don't get me started on the desserts!!! I live for those desserts. Nothing about them makes you think about typical vegan desserts (which normally lack flavor, texture, or are too heavily compensating one way or another). Instead, these desserts are rich, full of flavor, and will always impress.
Thank goodness for places like Plant, and cities like Asheville. Where a vegan can eat their heart out without worry, or hesitation.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plant Vegan Restaurant also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Plant Vegan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing