We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even carryout is fabulous”

Plant Vegan Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 793 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Plant serves innovative, organic plant-based cuisine, local brews, craft cocktails, and biodynamic wines in a modern inviting setting.
Gloucester, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Even carryout is fabulous”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Kids, parents, and grandparents were too tired to go out for dinner. Called for carryout! Best carryout food I can recall.
Plant deserves its top rating.

Helpful?
Thank Will G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    82
    34
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Not Great, Not Bad”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We had such high hopes for Plant, but found our experience much more on the "ok" scale as opposed to outstanding. The restaurant itself is very unassuming with an interior that is simple yet comfortable. We were seated promptly at the reserved time, but after that service was incredibly slow. If we had been in a large group and enjoying good conversation and company, I'd applaud them for not rushing us. But we weren't. Group of two. Sitting around hoping our next course would appear. The food was good, but not great. We had the Hummus, Jerk Black Lentil Croquettes and Chicken O' The Wood Apricot Adobo. Don't get me wrong, we finished our plates. But was it food we'll be craving, or that would make us rush back? No, I hate to say that it wasn't. We really wanted to like Plant more than we did, but with so many great vegetarian options in Asheville, not sure we'll be returning any time soon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Even if...”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

So even if you are not a vegan, Plant is a go-to restaurant because the chef knows how to prepare food that is not only good for you, but knows how to bring out memorable flavors.

We were most pleased with the attentive and knowledgeable staff. After identifying a severe nut allergy, the waitstaff steered us in the right direction. The help in selecting the repast was spot on and yes, the food was outstanding.

And yes, the dessert---oh my gosh--truly wonderful.

So, give it a whirl. You will enjoy the dinning experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank essay811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen City
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tasty vegan”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Food was very tasty. Went to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. Love his red curry, not as crazy about my fried mushroom dish. Wish we had gotten dessert there too!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Faunista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The dining experience is very good. I would say in the top 50 restaurants in Asheville. There are a few other good vegan ones.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheAuracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plant Vegan Restaurant also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Plant Vegan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing