We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”

Plant Vegan Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 781 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Plant serves innovative, organic plant-based cuisine, local brews, craft cocktails, and biodynamic wines in a modern inviting setting.
Grass Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
133 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Plant is an upscale vegan restaurant. The food is excellent, as is the presentation. Service is good. Food is local and tasty. Food is prepared in view. Went with two non-vegan friends. One was pleased, and there are several options if one likes mushrooms. The other member of our party only had a cheese appetizer and was satisfied. Would definitely return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank asti439797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    457
    79
    33
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
166 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very intersting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We have gone to Laughing Seed perhaps 10 times over the years coming thru Asheville
Not vegetarians but enjoy well cooked interesting food. We stopped only for drinks and appetizers. The hummus is excellent and with the sides created a great taste treat. The seitan skewers with pineapple sauce and a green was interesting and also tastey. First time I have had this dish. We ate outside since it is a gorgeous day in town. The atmosphere outside is lacking the funky urban Intown feel that we enjoy. The inside eating area in lively but a bit loud for us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BJCtravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
2 reviews
“Outstanding delicious handcrafted gourmet vegan food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Plant was the destination restaurant for my birthday and it was definitely a phenomenal choice. The food was delicately prepared, full of flavor, the atmosphere was pleasant with knowledgable and friendly staff. The prices and portions were fair and the creativity and care put in the dishes was truly delectable. Thanks Plant!!! Once again showing us truly plant-based nutrition can healthy, tasty, delicious, and worth any effort.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monique R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Serious Vegan Delicacies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

It is absolutely beyond me how anyone could give Plant anything less than 5 stars. I was in line the day they opened and haven't stopped eating here ever since. Each experience at Plant becomes one of those meals where every bite prompts a wide-eyed, awestruck "mmmmmmm!!!" The food is creative, lively, gorgeous and delicious... although sometimes slow to come out, but that is quickly forgotten at the first bite. I've been vegan for years and Plant is up to par with some of the best veg food I've ever had... from New York to Portland to LA and all over! Although the hike in their prices and the loss of lunch service has kept me from dining here as much as I'd like, a 20-something's budget makes this place an occasional treat well worth every penny. Try the seitan and waffles at Sunday brunch. Better than any chicken and waffles that have ever existed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank v_biddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Wow! Interesting, delicious veggie food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had dinner at Plant on the recommendation of our hotel staff. It was amazing and lived up to all the high praise. Our waitress was friendly and really great with our 3 kids. The food was outstanding - we are a vegetarian family and sometimes struggle to get food that is unusual...not at Plant, here the menu was so interesting - seitan bacon, portabella steak yum! yum!
Definitely give it a try if you are in Asheville.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank felixandmaddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plant Vegan Restaurant also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Plant Vegan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing