We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a must atop”
Review of Mast General Store

Mast General Store
Ranked #8 of 131 Shopping in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile

Whenever we are near a mast general store we always stop. Very cool store for nostalgic items, outdoor gear and there is candy galore.
The kids including our older ones love it!

Thank Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mast_Guest_Services, Public Relations Manager at Mast General Store, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2018

Tina R,
Thanks for the review and thanks for your loyalty! I hope we'll be able to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"great store"
in 15 reviews
"old fashioned candy"
in 14 reviews
"outdoor clothing"
in 13 reviews
"kitchen items"
in 11 reviews
"valle crucis"
in 9 reviews
"by the pound"
in 8 reviews
"general stores"
in 7 reviews
"candy section"
in 6 reviews
"rocking chairs"
in 7 reviews
"camping gear"
in 5 reviews
"north face"
in 5 reviews
"bulk candy"
in 5 reviews
"love shopping"
in 4 reviews
"women's clothing"
in 4 reviews
"nostalgic items"
in 3 reviews
"quality clothing"
in 3 reviews
"home goods"
in 3 reviews
Filter

46 - 50 of 276 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2017

What an amazing place, you could find something for everyone on your present list including old uncle Ernie , spent ages here and bought fab gifts for grandsons and neighbours watering our plants, load up,your bucket with candy for 7.99 a pound

Thank kiwierps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mast_Guest_Services, Public Relations Manager at Mast General Store, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2018

kiwierps,

Thanks for the review! I hope Old Uncle Ernie enjoyed his gift!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2017

We were lured to the Asheville location by the promise of old-fashioned candy in barrels. The barrels were there, but the candy wasn't old-fashioned. The rest of the large store is a mix of whimsical and boutiquey housewares, clothing, and knick knacks. The college kids who rang us up were very funny and played a little with our bored eight year old, so the atmosphere is very pleasant. Just a little too touristy for our tastes, but definitely something for everybody here.

Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mast_Guest_Services, Public Relations Manager at Mast General Store, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2018

Cathy K,
Thanks so much for the review. We do offer lots of old-fashioned candy in our candy barrels. Lots of folks take a trip down memory lane as they stroll through looking for squirrel nut zippers and Mary Janes. I'm sorry you didn't find what you were looking for and I hope you'll give us another chance very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2017

I was convinced I wasn't going to enjoy the store, considering it a tourist trap, but I actually found several things that I had been looking for for an upcoming trip. They carried a Deuter backpack that I couldn't find in any other outdoor store, and the employee who helped me couldn't have been any more knowledgeable or friendly. I'm SO GLAD we stopped in!

Thank PastorMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mast_Guest_Services, Public Relations Manager at Mast General Store, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2018

PastorMom,
Thanks for the review! I hope the Deuter pack was helpful on your trip and that you'll visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2017

A visit to the candy section of Mast General Store is an important part of our trips to Asheville. Where else can you find candy cigarettes and other old fashioned candy that you remember from childhood. Of course, there are clothes, local items and cooking supplies, too.

Thank cslu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mast_Guest_Services, Public Relations Manager at Mast General Store, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2018

Thanks for the review, cslu1! I hope you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mast General Store also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Mast General Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing