We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun for whole family”

Asheville Outdoor Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Asheville Outdoor Center (formerly Southern Waterways) has been offering family-friendly calm-water river paddling since 1992. Enjoy a leisurely 7-mile canoe, kayak, or raft paddle down the French Broad River through the Biltmore Estate property. We also offer Stand-Up Paddle boarding, gem mining, bike rentals and outdoor events. Please check out our website for more information and call us to make a reservation. Normal business hours are Tuesday-Sunday 9AM-5PM. We are the "Pioneers of the French Broad."
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
152 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fun for whole family”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Staff was very professional,and polite. This is a well organized outdoor river adventure for the entire family. We canoed while ours tubed down the river. Liked the picnic area and free parking.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    20
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great float trip!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We did a float trip with AOC in July on the French Broad River. Our original float date was postponed due to the river being high from unusual rains, so we rescheduled to later in our stay. Safety was a priority for the staff. We were a small family group scheduled to drop in the river with a couple other families and a large youth group. We all watched a safety video and were given specific instructions for moving past bridges on the river. A guide used photographs so we would know what to expect around the bridges. Since the river was still high, staff accompanied us on the float trip to help anyone with issues. We had a great time and would do it again in a heartbeat! The river goes through the Biltmore property but you have to keep your eyes open to see the buildings as you pass by.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cancunbeach08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“7 mile kayak trip to heaven”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Wow, great personnel, great value for the 7 mile self guided kayak trip! Best thing we did this vacation. Traveled in tandem kayaks with one adult and one child a piece. Calm, lovely float down the French Broad, great for family and friends alike =) Will return!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vyletsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great venue!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Visited the center for the WNC Highland Celtic Heritage event and had a phenomenal time! The venue was accommodating, great location close to businesses if needed, but secluded enough to create the family friendly environment that made the event so much fun! Great place for the venue, multiple bands playing celtic music like the internationally known Albannach, local favorite My Three Kilts and some Appalachian punk from Cutthroat Shamrock, plus many more wonderful bands, craftspeople, and great food. The Outdoor center worked hard to accommodate all this plus keep patrons happy! They truly excel at customer service!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue68007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
118 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“My first "float" trip...”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

...and I wasn't quite sure what to expect. Turns out we didn't even get wet! Very calm, peaceful & serene. A great way to see the "backside" of the Biltmore estate.

Nature at it's best. If you want adventure white-water rafting, go elsewhere. This is more tame, would be most suitable for children and overall a very pleasant experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank GypsyAtLast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asheville Outdoor Center also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Asheville Outdoor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing