We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
Ranked #28 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Ponte Vedra Bch, Fl
Level Contributor
9 reviews
“Very pleased”
Reviewed November 4, 2010

We stayed one night at the Renaissance Hotel in Asheville at the end of October. We wanted a hotel downtown and picked the Renaissance because of an offer of extra points through American Express. I was somewhat concerned about the hotel because of some of the reviews on Trip Advisor. I was pleasantly surprised and have no complaints. In fact, I found the hotel very attractive, very fresh and very comfortable. The beds and bedding were terrific. The bathroom amenities were very nice and, as everyone points out, the location is terrific for visiting downtown Asheville. I would definitely pick this hotel for our next trip to Asheville.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank duroce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    531
    303
    98
    33
See reviews for
255
535
58
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2010

The hotel was clean and the staff was very accommodating, but I expected more for the price.

Likes: This hotel had all the amenities. The beds were comfortable and we had plenty of pillows. We utilized the hotels free parking and walked to everything in downtown Asheville.

Dislikes: The bathroom was the smallest that I have ever been in. Our room with two double beds was not large enough for three people. The air conditioner was loud and did a poor job of cooling the room. At one point I turned off the AC because of the noise, but the AC unit next door was just as loud.

I will choose a another hotel for my next stay in Asheville.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisav_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UP Michigan
Level Contributor
124 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

Very comfortable hotel in convenient location in downtown Asheville. We were staying in Asheville to visit the Biltmore Estate and got a very good price on the Renaissance with a bid on Priceline.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaydeNoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We've stayed at the Renaissance last year in October and found that the rooms there were fairly nice. We mostly stay at The Indigo Hotel but wanted to use up some Marriott points for this trip. The bedding was wonderful! Unfortunately on the morning that we left the shower in the room above us began to leak into our shower. What a mess! The place needs some drastic rennovations. The location is better than The Hotel Indigo.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeloveCharleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Stayed for 5 nights during foliage season. Scored winning bid of $80 a night through Priceline. Definitely a bargain for this area.

Pros: Perfect location to downtown, free parking, clean rooms, mini fridge, flat panel tv

Cons: Small room and bathroom, rooms showing wear, no in room safe

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zonedrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

We visited for 2 days in October to view the changing leaves and explore Asheville and the Blue Ridge Parkway. As always this hotel is very clean and the service excellent. They only reason I have it a 'very good' instead of the 'excellent' is the size of the rooms, especially the bathroom. The bathroom was like being in a stylish coffin other than that the hotel is excellent. Close to everything you want to visit in town and easy access to the freeways to get where you want to go quickly. I love this place!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haroldws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

Loved this hotel, great bedding, great rooms, clean, quiet, wonderful bar and lounge in the lobby. Very close to the Biltmore which was our reason for going to Asheville. Totally recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabsMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Asheville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Asheville Hotel

Property: Renaissance Asheville Hotel
Address: 31 Woodfin St, Asheville, NC 28801-3020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Asheville Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When staying at the Renaissance Asheville hotel, you'll be nestled among the Blue Ride and Great Smoky Mountains. Our hotel lies in the heart of downtown Asheville within walking distance to great shops and dining. On-site you'll find a 60' indoor pool, fitness center and whirlpool to enjoy. As a member of the Green Hotels Association, we understand the importance of protecting our surroundings and are proud to offer sustainable dining at our on-site restaurant Writer's Bistro. Our charming rooms offer complimentary wireless Internet, 32 inch LCD HDTV, stunning views of the Great Smoky Mountains, coffee maker/tea service, iron and ironing board, desk with ergonomic chair, marble bathroom with shower/tub combination and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Renaissance Asheville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Asheville
Asheville Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing