We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarion Inn Biltmore Village(Asheville)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown(Asheville)(Great Value!)
$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Residences at Biltmore(Asheville)(Great Value!)
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloft Asheville Downtown(Asheville)(Great Value!)
$259
$188
Aloft.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$314
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Omni Grove Park Inn(Asheville)
$296
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,561)
Filter reviews
1,562 results
Traveler rating
497
579
334
109
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
497
579
334
109
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationwithin walking distancethe thomas wolfedowntown locationan older hotelrestaurants and shopscorner roomlobby barfront desk staffindoor poolbreakfast buffetbed was comfortablefitness centermini fridgewe've stayedthe grove park innconference
Filter
Updating list...
1,500 - 1,505 of 1,562 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2006

If you want to stay at a nice but pricey location within walking distance to downtown Asheville, this is the place. Don't expect anything fancy for your money, but, location location location won on every step. The hotel charges for internet service, which was not the best, it required you to be in a particular place in the room in order to maintain connectivity.
For excellent recommendations, see John at the front desk. He'll guide you based on whatever your interests are.
The room was basic, no frills, Marriott style. Clearly needs to be remodeled and upgraded. The lobby bar was nice. Again, great location and free parking to boot.

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank SciFiChick_Miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2006

I have stayed here multiple times and love it!!!! Staff is friendly and knowledgable. Rooms are cozy and well appointed. Rate is expensive, but this is a full service Renaissance with an unbeatable location. Front desk staff is wonderful and backed up with a great managment team. I met two managers during my stay, one in club lounge and other in the house dining room, Orchards. These gentleman truly represent quality for the Renaissance. Read other reviews, personally think people are nit-picking over little problems. You have to tell the staff about a problem to let them fix it, when they fix it believe me they go above and beyond. With the new renovation starting next year, I can't wait to go back. My company and I will be booking many more trips to Asheville. Let the staff speak for the property, from the bellmen to the managers these people know how to take care of their guests.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Traveler7680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2006

The only advantage the hotel has is the proximity to restaurants and local shops. The hotel has showed it age and it is this travelers understanding that starting in Januray 2007 they will begun construction on updating the hotel. Traveler's beware, they will start on the 11th & 12th floors so expect noise if you decide to stay. On the other hand, the staff were very friendly and pround to serve you!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ICJOYNU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2006

Booked a room w/ a king-sized bed for Fri, 10/17 and Sat, 10/18 and was quoted $249. Stupidly assumed quote was for entire stay as that was about the amount it cost to stay at this hotel only months before, just over $100 per night. Never complained about the room, figured that @ such a rate we couldn't complain, until we checked out and found out that we were being charged $249 a night. I stayed in Manhattan this past April and the rate for a twice-the size room was less than this. I can see paying such an inflated rate for a four star hotel, but not for this place. It is in dire need or a revamp - the floors are dingy and the rooms reek of stale cigarette smoke. The towels were as coarse as shop rags and the parking was a nightmarish free-for all. This was our second stay here - we'd paid about half the rate in the summer and were pleased - because we got what we paid for. I will NEVER stay at this hotel or any Marriott-affiliated hotel if they feel like they deserve to charge so much for such an inferior product. Not to mention the fact that the customer service reps cannot explain the reason for the rate hike OR tell you they don't know what they are doing WITHOUT a negative attitude. "I don't know" and "That's just how it is" is not an answer and not satisfactory customer service. The entire experience was disgusting.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank littlegirltree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2006

The Renaissance was a choice for us due to the location on the East side of downtown. The room was clean and had a coffee pot and hair dryer, the usual ammenities. However, they didn't have queen size beds: just king or two regulars. Also, the fan was so noisy when it kicked on that we had to turn it off; it kept waking us up. The parking is somewhat a problem, as the lot is small and fills up out front. For the price, I would have expected only queen beds in the double rooms, a chocolate candy on the table, a little more service available in sight for carrying bags, and free internet service. All in all, though, a reliable choice with decent views.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sueloma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews