We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a Solid Choice in Asheville”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
Ranked #28 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Reviewed July 19, 2014

The Renaissance continues to be a solid offering, located just off of downtown Asheville. The rooms were updated just a few years ago and are holding up well, and the lobby offers an attractive welcome.

An attractive bar just off the lobby offers a nice selection of wine and cocktails. We skipped the restaurant this time in favor of great restaurants nearby, but the hotel restaurant has been solid in the past.

Staff were eager to help in any way, offering suggestions for city events this weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner, mountain view room.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Patrick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,475)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Asheville Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

755 - 761 of 1,475 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2014

Traveled to this hotel for business and was pleasantly surprised by how it turned out after reading the previous reviews. Happy to have found a nice hotel with free parking and wifi in a great location.

Check in was smooth with an exceptionally professional and friendly employee who convinced me to check out the area for dinner in spite of my exhaustion factor. (So glad I did! Loved my dinner at Suwanna Thai!)

I stayed on what apparently is "the dog floor" -- floor 3 (see earlier reviews from fellow travelers). But I heard no dogs! Excellent!

Enjoyed a workout and found the workout room to be clean and well equipped. It could use a larger area for abs/stretching, but I like that there is so much equipment in there to choose from. It's also very clean and has beautiful views overlooking Asheville.

The room was a little small but very clean and well appointed. I was put in a room by the elevator, which I'm not a fan of (loud people exiting, "dings" from elevator arriving), but the white noise app on my phone took care of it.

The AC didn't work as efficiently as I had hoped, and I found it got pretty hot in the bathroom while I was getting ready. But it's not unique to this hotel. Unfortunately, I'm noticing the AC seems to be regulated at top line hotels in order to cut electricity expenses. That makes me sad.

I will definitely look into staying here again the next time I'm in that area on business. Thumbs up overall.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GamecockGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for business. Great part of town for walking around downtown. Bathroom in my king was very small with the door in front of the toilet. Bed was good and everything worked. Just needs updating and a facelift. Limited parking near the front but it was at least free!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank TheClozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance AVL R, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Asheville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your visit to Asheville. We hope to serve you again in the near future!
Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Spent 3 nights in the Asheville Renaissance and overall, it was a nice place to stay. Staff is beyond courteous and extremely helpful. Room was very clean and pleasant. The hotel lobby and patio are nice places to sit. The restaurant is clean, airy and very comfortable. On the flip side, though, the bed I had was pretty awful. If you like a soft, mushy bed and soft, mushy pillows, you'll like it. I didn't get a good night's sleep the whole 3 nights because I found the bed very uncomfortable. The 2nd area of concern is the concierge lounge which is really showing its age. The place was mobbed with families and kids and the poor guy who had to manage the place just couldn't keep up with it. The hot breakfast was cold and at one point the place the breakfast buffet was swept clean with no replacement food available. My advice is if you use this hotel in tourist season, go to the concierge lounge early! On another positive note, the hotel is very convenient to downtown Asheville and is a good base to explore the city.

Room Tip: We were offered a room with two queen beds as opposed to a king which we had requested. The queen ro...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Sushihunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance AVL R, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Asheville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to send us your wonderful feedback. I appreciate your comments about our staff. We are looking forward to an upcoming renovation at the beginning of next year. I will certainly pass a long your feedback about the Concierge Lounge experience.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed at the Renaissance Asheville for a wedding, and although we booked months in advance, we were put on the 3rd floor - unbeknown to us, the dog friendly floor. There was barking the first afternoon we were there: we made mention of it at the desk and were told that it would be taken care of. That same night the barking continued throughout the night from multiple rooms - it was like sleeping in a kennel. We complained the next morning and were changed to a different room and given a $20 voucher. All that is well and good, but doesn't compensate for the fatigue that results from a 700 mile drive, a lost night's sleep and being too tired to actually enjoy a once in a lifetime event, the wedding.

Room Tip: Make sure that you are not placed on the 3rd floor.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance AVL R, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Asheville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. While we tried to correct the situation, it is clear we fell short in providing a solution. I will share your feedback with our team so we can continue to learn from our guests’ feedback.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Our party of 9 booked 3 rooms at this hotel. Upon arrival the staff was courteous and we were able to check in immediately to our rooms which was nice after a long travel day. The rooms are clean but dated. We paid $280 for our room and some Hampton Inns are nicer. We all hung out on the side patio which is very nice. We tried to order room service to the patio versus having the hotel prepare food and deliver to 3 rooms on 2 different floors, we thought it would be easy for them and made sense, the idiots that run this hotel need a lesson in "thinking outside of the box" and customer service. When we talked to management about this after the waitress had no idea how to get food delivered to the patio, the manager, blank stare simply said "its out policy, we don't deliver to the patio". We all thought this was insane so we walked to the inside restaurant and were told they had a wedding party of 20 arriving and could not seat or serve us...."they were too busy". We asked about ordering and having them deliver to the patio then, they refused. 2 out of our group walked to Mello Mushroom and purchased pizzas and they were yummy! Great pizza. We did however have a great view of the July 4th fireworks and the room was quiet. If you are looking for a hotel in downtown Asheville so you can walk around, this hotel has good location. That's about it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kaw0806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance AVL R, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Asheville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your constructive feedback. I would sincerely like to apologize for the frustration we caused you while trying to dine on the patio. I will certainly be sharing this information with our leadership team.
Kind Regards,
Terri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed in a 5th floor room with one King size bed facing the mountains in June 2014.

There is carpet throughout the room with tile in the bathroom.
The thermostat is wall mounted near the bed. However our room never reached our desired temperature over a three day period.
The air conditioner/heater is located on the exterior wall of windows
The bedroom and sitting area are well furnished. The sitting area has a desk unit with pull out table and chair. Multiple outlets are available on the desk using 110V electricity. An additional cloth chair, ottoman, and floor lamp are also present
King size bed was comfortable (firm), pillows were very soft (not firm)
There is a door handle based deadbolt on the entry door
There is no safe in the room. A safe is available in the lobby if needed.
There is a chest of drawers with multiple drawers and a closet with ample space for hanging clothing
Various types of clothes hangers are provided in the closet
A hair dryer, ironing board and iron are provided in each room
A coffee maker, coffee grounds, small refrigerator, glasses, paper coffee cups are provided in the room
Television in the suite is a flat screen about 40 inches sitting on a bank of drawers
There are two sets of curtains in the room. The thick curtains on the windows do a good job of blocking out light
Ceiling fans are not present in the suite
Bathroom is small and has a small shower/tub combo with a single sink and ample amount of counter space. The bathtub is small and the ceiling is low over the shower so you will hit your hands on the ceiling if you raise your arms in the shower. There was a lot of water pressure from the shower head.
There is no exhaust fan in the bathroom. The toilet is eco friendly (water saving).
Aveda soaps, shampoo, conditioners bottles are provided daily in the bathroom
The hallway entry doors do not seal well. You will hear noise from the hallway. In addition the walls between rooms are not soundproof. We heard various noises in the room above ours.
The maid services did an excellent job every day.
There is a do not disturb door hanger for the entry door.
The wireless network worked well. Connection speeds were good except for one time when the router needed to be reset.

Reception
The reception desk is very helpful. They were happy to talk about the area and directions. The reception personnel are full of ideas/opinions on what to do if you ask. There are maps of the area and attractions if desired.

Parking
There is ample parking on the property. The parking in front of the hotel is usually full of cars, but there is a large parking lot behind the hotel for additional parking. The lot behind the hotel is fenced and gated for security.

Notes for the area
Recommend reservations at restaurants for nights, as the best places get booked up quickly. Go to Over Easy and White Duck Taco Stop if on a budget. Splurge at Admiral, Table, and Vue 1913 for a special meal if possible. Most restaurants are fine with casual/business casual dress. Most restaurants were accepting of a collared shirt/nice T-shirt and nice shorts/jeans for men for dinner.

We liked the location of this hotel, but there is nothing special about the hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room facing downtown when a wedding is occurring at the hotel and you may end up with a fr...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buffgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance AVL R, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Asheville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I'm sure the details about your visit and our property will be very helpful to other travelers. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Terri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 66 in Asheville
993 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Asheville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Asheville Hotel

Address: 31 Woodfin St, Asheville, NC 28801-3020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: $178 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Asheville Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When staying at the Renaissance Asheville hotel, you'll be nestled among the Blue Ride and Great Smoky Mountains. Our hotel lies in the heart of downtown Asheville within walking distance to great shops and dining. On-site you'll find a 60' indoor pool, fitness center and whirlpool to enjoy. As a member of the Green Hotels Association, we understand the importance of protecting our surroundings and are proud to offer sustainable dining at our on-site restaurant Writer's Bistro. Our charming rooms offer complimentary wireless Internet, 32 inch LCD HDTV, stunning views of the Great Smoky Mountains, coffee maker/tea service, iron and ironing board, desk with ergonomic chair, marble bathroom with shower/tub combination and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Asheville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Asheville
Asheville Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing