We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
Ranked #29 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
annapolis
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent staff and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

If you are going to Asheville, NC, the Grove Park Inn is the destination of choice. That said, I still find this Renaissance the best choice for location, value and service. From here you can park and walk anywhere in Asheville. It's the best pick for business.

I write because I got excellent service again. I was traveling from Tennessee towards my next destination in the Carolina's. I realized at 8 PM I couldn't keep driving and was tired and hungry. I called a few hotels and got Susan J at the Marriott who not only got me a room at a good rate but offered to find me a restaurant that could take me at 10 PM when I got to Asheville.

After a few suggestion and a few calls she came back with a restaurant and a reservation. I went straight there and then to the hotel. That's going the extra mile for a business traveler. (The usual answer is ..."our restaurant will be open till 10 and then we have room service...")

The hotel is a basic modern Renaissance. Good basic gym. Restaurant is fairly standard. Nice outdoor sitting area. The heart of Asheville is about a three to four block walk.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms have great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    522
    301
    97
    33
See reviews for
252
529
57
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ca
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

short version:
Overpriced, moderately run down, aged hotel with *horrid customer service.
Would never stay here again.

I realize Marriot is a giant chain but this will *definitely inspire second thoughts next time I'm booking a hotel and see it's a Marriot.

long version:
Stayed here for 2 nights and while it wasn't the worst place we've stayed in Asheville we'll never go back.

The room was a semi clean version of what you might expect to see in an 80's porn flick. It had the typical has-been hotel amenities like the broken door lock and bathroom designed for liliputians. What stood out were the gaudy carpet and "modern" furniture ( what appeared to be old hotel furniture with multiple coats of black spray paint ).
The view was nice but the window was covered in scratches if you got close.

The air conditioner made a predictable death rattle every 4 minutes or so which was loud enough that we couldn't sleep until we turned it off. We probably should have gone back down to the desk but as we'd arrived pretty late we just wanted to get to sleep.

Being awoken at 7 the next morning by a fire alarm was less than enjoyable but we filed out into the parking lot along with the rest of the bleary eyed patrons. The idea of being on the 9th floor while a building is on fire isn't a comforting thought but the fire alarm going off is a good sign ... or so I thought.
Unfortunately I'm the type of person that once I'm awake I'm up for the rest of the day regardless of how tired I am so our weekend trip to Asheville was spent walking around like zombies.

Speaking with housekeeping the next day I was told the alarm was triggered in the hotel's laundry and was caused by lack of maintenance on equipment.

I think the hotel knew they screwed up because it looked like they had put a higher up on desk duty the following morning when we where checking out.
When we checked *in they had got the room rate wrong for one of the nights and said they'd corrected it but when we got our bill it was still the same error so we had to go down to checkout.
Since we were there I decided to ask about the fire alarm.

I actually wasn't too upset about not getting a discount so much as how they handled it. (a $20 discount on a $500 bill is more of token than anything)

"The alarm was caused by a natural occurrence. Providing a discount would mean we were admitting fault so we are not offering any discounts"

Over and over ... she knew some other words but not many.
The consistency of her wording made it fairly apparent that this was the official line that had been drilled into her head.

She *confirmed what I'd heard from housekeeping but would always fall back to :
"The alarm was caused by a natural occurrence. Providing a discount would mean we were admitting fault so we are not offering any discounts"

Poorly maintained equipment ... a "natural occurrence" ... REALLY??
Infuriating really.

I can understand if a kid pulled the alarm - not their problem.
(I can think of a slew of other things I wouldn't consider to be their problem too)
But this was caused by *their equipment and *their decision not to keep it maintained .. not really much different than if *their staff deciding to have a fire drill at 7 am.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Breag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance AVL R, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Asheville Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience that the fire alarm caused you. I know it can be extremely frustrating being woken early and unable to return to a restful sleep. The alarm did sound because it detected a possible threat. For the safety of our guests and with the fire department's recommendation, we did evacuate the building. I would like to assure you that all of our Life Safety Elements are monitored, not only by our engineers, but also through an outside company. We are held to very high standards by Marriott and the Fire Marshal and remain in compliance with our equipment. Once again, I understand that fire alarms in hotels can be frustrating, but the safety of our guests is very important to us. We do look forward to serving you in the near future with the excellence you have come to expect from Renaissance Hotels
Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

The Renaissance is always our first choice when visiting Asheville. The staff is very welcoming, the rooms are clean and fresh and the location to downtown restaurants and activities can't be beat. After a wonderful visit last weekend and two hours into our ride home, my husband realized he left a pair of slacks and dress shirt in the closet. I called Housekeeping and Patti couldn't have been more helpful in locating his clothes and shipping them out by Fed Ex, no expense to us. The honesty of your cleaning crew is refreshing, thank you! And we'll see you again real soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSEDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilhowie, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Had a short but pretty good stay here. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Parking out front is a cluster with a lot of people improvising parking spots. Room and bath were a little on the small side but still comfortable and clean. Bed was comfy as well.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jacob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

I was really looking forward to my business stay at the Renaissance Hotel. However, I was underwhelmed. First off, there were no out of room dining options, coffee stand or anywhere to get food. There were a ton of fans near what seemed to have been the restaurant. However, I was not notified by the staff of the lack of dining options. So, I headed up to the Concierge Lounge. It's totally creepy behind big black doors. Upon entering in the evening there was no bottled water. Then, the next morning there was again no water and the food was not being replenished at 8:15am. All I wanted was a yogurt which they had already run out of. I would suggest they stock the lounge better. The shower was dirty with visible mold in the grout lines. I will say, the location is nice and free parking is a nice perk as well. I have stayed at much nicer full service Marriott Hotels, the Renaissance needs to up its game!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance AVL R, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Asheville Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Carly C,
Please allow me to express my sincere apologies for your disappointment with the dining options in the hotel and our Concierge Lounge. Unfortunately, due to the severe storm Asheville endured, our restaurant did experience some flooding and we were forced to close. It appears we feel considerably short in our efforts to provide the first class experience you have come to expect from a hotel of our caliber. I can assure you that we will do everything possible to ensure your next visit to the Asheville Renaissance Hotel is an exceptional one.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
173 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

I would have given an excellent rating it weren't for the fact that one night after 7:30 PM the room still hadn't been cleaned. Other than that this property is what one expects from a Marriott hotel. The staff, except as noted above, is exceptional. The Concierge was instrumental in us making an intelligent choice of a restaurant. The place the concierge suggested, not our original choice, was great. We were very happy to have decided to follow his suggestion. Also, I left a pair of shoes behind and by the time i realized it I was already 300 miles away. The lost and found staff was courteous and solicitous in helping out. As it turned out the shoes got home before I did. I call that impeccable service. The room itself was on par with other Renaissance properties

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azzurri4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
508 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

I recently had the opportunity to stay at this downtown Asheville Hotel on a business trip. The Hotel is conveniently located within walking to all the great downtown restaurants, bars and shopping. Quite frankly, I could not have asked for a better downtown location then this hotel. The hotel is clean and the staff was very friendly. The room itself was a little small with the bathroom smaller but it suited me perfectly. The hotel has a small bar but a very nice Executive Lounge. It is a great choice for business and I think would have been a wonderful hotel for a couples weekend in Asheville. I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueMarlinDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#18 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Asheville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Asheville Hotel

Property: Renaissance Asheville Hotel
Address: 31 Woodfin St, Asheville, NC 28801-3020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Asheville Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When staying at the Renaissance Asheville hotel, you'll be nestled among the Blue Ride and Great Smoky Mountains. Our hotel lies in the heart of downtown Asheville within walking distance to great shops and dining. On-site you'll find a 60' indoor pool, fitness center and whirlpool to enjoy. As a member of the Green Hotels Association, we understand the importance of protecting our surroundings and are proud to offer sustainable dining at our on-site restaurant Writer's Bistro. Our charming rooms offer complimentary wireless Internet, 32 inch LCD HDTV, stunning views of the Great Smoky Mountains, coffee maker/tea service, iron and ironing board, desk with ergonomic chair, marble bathroom with shower/tub combination and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Asheville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Asheville
Asheville Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing