We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“accommodating staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
Ranked #27 of 65 Hotels in Asheville
Etowah, North Carolina
Level Contributor
162 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“accommodating staff”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

I attended a one day training at this hotel. Due to heavy snow we worked through lunch to get out early. The diningroom staff took our 25 orders and prepared them for pickup at noon. All the food was very delicious and we checked the food out with little delay. I hope someone from hotel management congratulates diningroom staff on going above and beyond to meet our needs. I agree that hotel lobby is beautiful partculsrly the inviting fireplace.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guv11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    539
    307
    100
    34
See reviews for
261
546
59
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
241 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This is a great property and just off of I-240. It was cold when we were there so we drove to several locations, but had it been warm there are several areas within reasonable walking distance. We were upgraded to the top floor and had a great view of the mountains. We also had access to the Executive lounge which had a great breakfast. The evening reception wasn't quite as large. It had cheese and crackers, one hot item, and fruit. It was very nice, but limited in comparison to the breakfast. The rooms were very nice and roomy. We were on a cross country trip and having a small refrigerator was nice to store some of our cold items. The hotel has written directions to the Biltmore and other sites. Definitely what you would expect of a Renaissance.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Wow! The artsy vibe you feel entering through the revolving doors on a cold winter night with the modern open sided fireplace ablaze set the tone. Our room was clean and comfy. Front desk was super helpful with restaurant suggestions and even made our dinner reservation!! It was a little walk to the heart of downtown but the cold made it seem much further. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ltiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed here this past weekend while visiting Asheville. I absolutely love this hotel and everything it has to offer. It is in a great location, very modern, and has everything I need to stay connected and navigate. Withing walking distance to shops and great food and a short drive to Biltmore, Biltmore Village and everything Asheville has to offer. The best place downtown to stay for business of pleasure!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
187 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

As a frequent visitor to Marriotts I have to say this place was overwhelmingly average. My biggest complaint is with the size of the bathrooms: miniscule. Possibly the smallest hotel bathroom I've seen. Two people could definitely not maneuver to get ready in there at the same time. It was also in need of an update and included some quick repairs (for example, there was a broken tile on the wall and the wallpaper had been cut around the broken tile instead of replacing the tile). The location, however, is very convenient to walking everywhere you would want to go except Biltmore. Breakfast was included, as were free bottles of water and chocolate during turndown service. Friendly staff. There was some kind of cheesy financial convention going on but the participants did not overwhelm the hotel. If I go back go to Asheville, I would stay somewhere else even though it would mean not earning Marriott points.

Room Tip: High floor; club is on 12. Both directions seemed to have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OakParker98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I am a Marriott Rewards Member and I am generally loyal to the brand. This hotel is the worst Renaissance I have ever stayed at. Hotel has obviously been around a long while. Small rooms and very small bathrooms. My allergies killed me so there must have been a lot of dust or mildew. If you are used to staying at Renaissance hotels you will be disappointed. If you are traveling with kids you find the mini bathroom is a pain. For the same money the Indigo is a better value.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance AVL R, Manager at Renaissance Asheville Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your candid feedback regarding your stay with us. You are correct that our property has been a staple of downtown Asheville for some time, however the concerns about the cleanliness of the room are never acceptable and I have made our housekeeping department aware. We will definitely take feedback regarding the room sizes such as yours into consideration the next time we makeover our rooms. If you would like to contact me directly to further discuss the matter it would be greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,
Kevin Allustiarti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Very good room, great location and very clean.
Front desk staff is very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was not as good as expected though. Limited options to serve and very busy staff to support customers.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcosFFBarbosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 65 in Asheville
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 65 in Asheville
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Asheville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Asheville Hotel

Property: Renaissance Asheville Hotel
Address: 31 Woodfin St, Asheville, NC 28801-3020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Asheville Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When staying at the Renaissance Asheville hotel, you'll be nestled among the Blue Ride and Great Smoky Mountains. Our hotel lies in the heart of downtown Asheville within walking distance to great shops and dining. On-site you'll find a 60' indoor pool, fitness center and whirlpool to enjoy. As a member of the Green Hotels Association, we understand the importance of protecting our surroundings and are proud to offer sustainable dining at our on-site restaurant Writer's Bistro. Our charming rooms offer complimentary wireless Internet, 32 inch LCD HDTV, stunning views of the Great Smoky Mountains, coffee maker/tea service, iron and ironing board, desk with ergonomic chair, marble bathroom with shower/tub combination and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Renaissance Asheville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Asheville
Asheville Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing