We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Solid hotel, great view of the city/mountains” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Asheville Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
Ranked #29 of 61 Hotels in Asheville
swansea
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Solid hotel, great view of the city/mountains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The front desk guy was a good guy, great to talk to, loved his job, although he made you feel like he was hooking you up for things that weren't really hook-ups in the end. We had a corner room, 805, and seemed split into 2 rooms and was actually the smallest hotel room I've had since London. It was rather comical at some points getting ready for the night. That said, the decor was really nice, and it was clean. The beds were firm and good, and our view was awesome, as I think any view in Asheville was awesome. The bathroom was very, very, very small but the water pressure was great. It was about 3 - 7 blocks walk to most of the restaurants we went to, and 7 minutes to the Biltmore. There seems to be 3 areas of Asheville to stay in; 1. the Biltmore area which is the best and most quaint area. 2. The city, which has the most to eat and shop and drink. 3. The outlying parts which are mostly malls / suburbs type areas. I liked the Biltmore area the best, but for the city, this hotel was a good price, good value and really nice.

Room Tip: HIGH Rooms, Good views, no traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miwsnrubua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance AVL R, Manager at Renaissance Asheville Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am happy to hear about the great service you had but sorry to hear you felt he may have misrepresented the room but that room is one of our corner queens which is a noticeably larger room than our standard rooms. The bathroom size is a common subject we hear through feedback so we appreciate you mentioning it for our tracking.

I am glad you enjoyed the rest of Asheville so much during your stay and I hope you return here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    476
    278
    84
    29
See reviews for
223
485
51
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The staff we had contact with were all very nice and helpful. The location is great, the lobby is spectacular, so is the pool and workout room, but I was very disappointed with our room. It was small and had a popcorn ceiling. Not what I expected for what we paid. We requested a high floor for a mountain view. We were on the 10th, but the view was of the condos next door. The bathroom was tiny and dirty. I just wish the sleekness of the lobby had been carried throughout the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance AVL R, Manager at Renaissance Asheville Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your candid review of our property. Unfortunately our standard rooms do have a small amount of variance in the size and the view of the mountains with a high room is always a highly sought after room type. We hope you decide to visit with us in the future, and please take the opportunity to consider a View of the Land and Sky room. These rooms are all on high floors with guaranteed views of the mountains. We do try to successfully fill all other requests for similar rooms but unfortunately it seems we missed the mark with you. I apologize for our rooms not being up to your expectations but do hope that you will come back and see us again.

Sincerely,
Kevin Allustiarti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We are Platinum Elite Marriott members and had a reservation at the Grand Bohemian for over a month. We arrived on our date to be told they did not have 2 double bed's only 1 King, we were a family of 3 and needed a bed for our daughter. (We had reserved 2 bouble beds) We asked if there was anything they could do for us as an Platinum member, give upgrade? Well they said NO, that is all they have. She suggested going to the Renaissance down the street, so we went there. The Front Desk was just great, for a last minute reservation. We spoke with Alex and Susan Johnton, they both worked to get us the best room within minutes they truly made our stay very memorable. Went out of there way to accommodate us, great room, service, pool. We will definitely want to go back there instead of the Grand Bohemian, we felt it had more to offer. Thank you Alex & Susan

Room Tip: 11 floor, suite was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JupiterFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Hotel had an impressive lobby to walk into...staff was very nice and helpful upon arrival our first evening. Easy walking distance to downtown restaurants and shops. Room was clean. Had 2 double beds, no suite, so room was not large but expected size for downtown area hotel. Bathroom felt tight. Had requested room on higher floor and was rewarded with a skyline view of the mountains. Travelled with children~they LOVED the large, real-sized (not mini) indoor pool. Workout room was awesome with many pieces of equipment.

Room Tip: Request higher floor with view, suite is possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bec k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, MD
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

You know what they say: location, location, location! This hotel makes walking around downtown Asheville a breeze, as it is close to everything. The front desk clerk was extremely efficient and welcoming, so our visit began well. We were given a fifth floor corner room, and we were delighted with the larger size. There was also a comfortable corner chair and ottoman with good lighting. The beds were comfortable as well. The furniture in the lobby is literally indescribable - like nothing I'd ever seen. Ultra modern? Tres chic? Not sure, but it was fun to look at. Overall, no complaints here - we would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDtravelertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
206 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Nothing too special, but nice hotel and nice location. Walking distance to downtown. Bathrooms were kind of small, so if traveling with a family, you might consider someting else. YMCA is right across the parking lot.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jnenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a one night stay at Renaissance Asheville Hotel. The hotel location is unbeatable and the staff is friendly and helpful (a special shout out to Jeb at the front desk!).

We stayed in a king bedroom on the 6th floor and found that the furniture was in good condition, though we did feel that the bed was a bit too firm and the pillows were a little too well used. Also, we noticed a split in the wallpaper and discovered a good size hole in the wall behind it. I'm not sure if the hotel was aware of the damage and it just hadn't been fixed or if the incident had not been reported. Either way, the hole wasn't really visible so it did not affect our stay. There were very few outside disturbances and I didn't need my earplugs as I normally do when staying in hotels.

Unfortunately, we awoke at around 1am to discover that the AC unit in our room wasn't working properly and we did lose quite a lot of sleep due to the warmth of our room. As the hotel was fully booked, moving to another room wasn't an option. We addressed the issue with the front desk when we were checking out and they were very apologetic and we were compensated for our inconvenience. This was a very satisfactory outcome and we appreciated how heartfelt their apology was. It's also worth noting that the thermostat appeared to be locked so the temp couldn't be lowered beyond 67F. So if you like a really cold room, as we do, you're out of luck.

Overall, our honest opinion is that the hotel is overpriced given the standard of comfort. But, if you're after a central location within easy reach of all that downtown has to offer then this is a good hotel for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SolTropical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#13 of 61 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 stars 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#21 of 61 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Asheville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Asheville Hotel

Property: Renaissance Asheville Hotel
Address: 31 Woodfin St, Asheville, NC 28801-3020
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Asheville Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When staying at the Renaissance Asheville hotel, you'll be nestled among the Blue Ride and Great Smoky Mountains. Our hotel lies in the heart of downtown Asheville within walking distance to great shops and dining. On-site you'll find a 60' indoor pool, fitness center and whirlpool to enjoy. As a member of the Green Hotels Association, we understand the importance of protecting our surroundings and are proud to offer sustainable dining at our on-site restaurant Writer's Bistro. Our charming rooms offer complimentary wireless Internet, 32 inch LCD HDTV, stunning views of the Great Smoky Mountains, coffee maker/tea service, iron and ironing board, desk with ergonomic chair, marble bathroom with shower/tub combination and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Asheville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Asheville
Asheville Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing