We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good Hotel, even better location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Asheville Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
Ranked #29 of 60 Hotels in Asheville
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, even better location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Renaissance is a 3-4 star hotel that costs a little more than I'd like to spend, but it was worth it for the location. We could walk to all the great restaurants and night spots in town. The room was comfortable and very quite. I would definitely book it again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NCottrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance AVL R, Manager at Renaissance Asheville Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel! Prior to your next stay, please allow us to check for package deals that can include anything from Chocolate Fetish certificates to tickets to the Biltmore Estate. This can make your visit to Asheville much more economical and eliminates some of the work with regard to planning your activities.
We look forward to seeing you again soon,
Michelle Porche'
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    466
    266
    80
    30
See reviews for
216
476
49
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

It was my first trip to Asheville so there was tons of pressure. I chose this hotel for its location, amenities and price. Even though it snowed, we were able to get everywhere downtown in a 15min or less walk. The lobby screams "I am not your mama's Renaissance!" The decor is ultra modern and quirky. The exercise room had all the mainstays and was well-maintained. The concierge was ready for every question and concern I posed. They had fantastic suggestions customized to my taste and preferences.

Getting the room temperature to stabilize was a daunting task but not a deal breaker.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShareBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance AVL R, Manager at Renaissance Asheville Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to review us! With our renovation last year we have certainly moved on from your mama's type of Renaissance. If there is anything that we may do for you to alleviate some of your planning woes in the future please do let one of our Navigators know.
Thank you again for your time,
Michelle Porche'
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband, son and I stayed here over a long weekend while exploring Asheville and visiting the Biltmore Estate. I loved the convenience of the Renaissance. We were able to walk to breakfast and dinner at several of the cool local restaurants in downtown Asheville. Hotel lobby was beautifully renovated and our room was clean but a little on the small side and the TV service was terrible, but you shouldnt be spending much time in your room watching TV! The pool was nice for our son too and it stays open until 11pm.The service was OUTSTANDING!! All of the people at the front desk were so polite and friendly and went above and beyond with local recommendations and directions.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbum0817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance AVL R, Manager at Renaissance Asheville Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Renaissance Asheville Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had great experiences with our Navigators. We take much pride in our ability to serve guests in a quick, efficient and friendly manner. If there is ever anything that we may do to make your future stays more enjoyable, please do let us know.
Michelle Porche'
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is the best option for walking in the Asheville city center. There are better hotels, but they are a drive or taxi ride away. The eating and drinking options in Asheville are "a-plenty", but the taxis are not. Do yourself a favor and make this your spot in town. You don't regret it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance AVL R, Manager at Renaissance Asheville Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to review us. It sounds like you really enjoy that we are within walking distance to most everything downtown. If there is something in particular that would make us a better option for you in the future, please let us know.
Thank you again for your time,
Michelle Porche'
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I visited for a getaway in April, 2013. The hotel location cannot be beat for exploring downtown Asheville on foot. The staff was very friendly and helpful with area information (as is nearly always the case at Marriott brand hotels in my experience, good job with the hiring and training!). Our room was very comfortable and perfectly clean. Bed was fine. Free wifi in the room was a very welcome feature. The shower was especially good. Most importantly, this location still provides a cup of coffee in the lobby in the morning! I have been very put off with the trend to replace this common courtesy with Starbucks in the lobbies of Marriotts everywhere, which I think is just uncivilized and has tempted me to switch to Sheraton brands.

Kudos!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CburgHokieHoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance AVL R, Manager at Renaissance Asheville Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! It sounds like you genuinely enjoyed your time with us. Let us know if there is anything that we may do during future stays to make your visit more enjoyable.
Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Asheville Hotel,
Michelle Porche'
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gahanna, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The Renaissance Hotel is a good place to stay, comfy beds, indoor pool and whirlpool. Our stay was two nights. The rooms are clean and very spacious. We used this as a base to visit the Biltmore Estate, after all the walking, the whirlpool came in handy.
We had breakfast both mornings in the hotel, where they have an outstanding omelet chef; who can make any kind of omelet or eggs to order.
It’s a little bit of a walk to the center of the town (six blocks), but well within walking distance to get a flavor of Asheville.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artkitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance AVL R, Manager at Renaissance Asheville Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel! It sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in Asheville. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Michelle Porche'
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Our go to spot for weekend get aways or show runs. Right in the middle of everything. Staff is always very kind to you. Rooms are always in top show with great views. The side patio is a great place to hang out before a show.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank wranglerspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance AVL R, Manager at Renaissance Asheville Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! If you ever need anything during your stays, please do not hesitate to let us know. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Michelle Porche'
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#14 of 60 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 stars 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Haywood Park Hotel
#1 of 60 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 stars 589 reviews
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#17 of 60 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 stars 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Asheville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Asheville Hotel

Property: Renaissance Asheville Hotel
Address: 31 Woodfin Street, Asheville, NC 28801
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Asheville Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When staying at the Renaissance Asheville hotel, you'll be nestled among the Blue Ride and Great Smoky Mountains. Our hotel lies in the heart of downtown Asheville within walking distance to great shops and dining. On-site you'll find a 60' indoor pool, fitness center and whirlpool to enjoy. As a member of the Green Hotels Association, we understand the importance of protecting our surroundings and are proud to offer sustainable dining at our on-site restaurant Writer's Bistro. Our charming rooms offer complimentary wireless Internet, 32 inch LCD HDTV, stunning views of the Great Smoky Mountains, coffee maker/tea service, iron and ironing board, desk with ergonomic chair, marble bathroom with shower/tub combination and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Asheville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Asheville
Asheville Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing