We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
Ranked #28 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Thank you so much for making our first trip to Asheville together absolutely amazing! Your thoughtfulness and attention to detail made for very special memories. The bed was so cozy and the view was perfect. The location was exactly what we were looking for. We were able to walk a block over to all of the shops and restaurants. Your staff was warm and friendly. Zeb was so personable and sweet. There will be no other option for us upon our return. Thank you again!

Room Tip: I highly recommend a corner suite!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance AVL R, Manager at Renaissance Asheville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I am thrilled that you had such an amazing experience with us! It is our goal as Renaissance Ambassadors to provide a high level of service to our guests and it sounds like we were able to exceed your expectations. I will be sure to make sure to tell Zeb of your kind words . We look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,475)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Asheville Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,020 - 1,026 of 1,475 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel quite often over the last decade. I always enjoyed it until now! I stayed mainly for the comfortable beds, but, they recently did a renovation and the beds are VERY uncomfortable and do not provide a good nights sleep. The rooms are very small but clean. If you have children I would not recommend staying here, you will be very cramped.
Another thing is the parking is very inconvenient.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very small. I always stayed on the 11th or 12th floor. They have a nice concierge...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenAVL, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Asheville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Thank you for your patronage to the Asheville Renaissance Hotel over the many years. We certainly appreciate your loyalty, and hate to lose a valued customer like yourself. We are very proud of our newly renovated lobby, lounge, and restaurant. However, the guest rooms have not been renovated in the past few years, so I am deeply sorry that you ended up in an uncomfortable bed. If I can be of assistance with a future visit to Asheville, please do not hesitate to contact me. Warm regards, Terri.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed here for NYE and do not have one single complaint. While it may appear old on the outside, the inside is beautiful and modern. The bed was comfortable and the room was a nice size. I can understand how the bathroom may be a little small if staying for longer periods of time or with more than 2 people, but it was fine for me and my husband. The front desk staff were wonderful! We were able to walk everywhere!! Ladies, wear your boots or flats there are alot of hills! We will be returning to this property next time we are in Asheville!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MegTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenAVL, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Asheville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and discovered Downtown Asheville! It is our goal as Renaissance Ambassadors to provide a high level of service to our guests, and I am glad to hear that we did. We look forward to serving you during your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here in the beginning of fall 2012. It is a perfect location right downtown with the ability to walk the cute city block. The hotel is nicely decorated. The hotel restaurant is very good and I recommend breakfast. I would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ash24helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance AVL R, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Asheville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed dining with us in the Writer's Bistro. Our chefs have worked hard to create a menu that is local to North Carolina. Please come visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Location, location, location...Easy walking to downtown Asheville restaurants, bars etc.
Hotel has upscale modern lobby and bar area. Staff was courteous. Room was small but had ample amenities. Room was starting to show its age, had some wear and tear but nothing too crazy. Great shower head made for better than average shower experience. Reward member lounge has beautiful view of mtns and grove park. Decent breakfast offerings. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Trash truck made for rude early awakening, ask to stay away from any dumpsters (we were on the end o...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onamissionap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance AVL R, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Asheville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thank you so much for taking time to provide us with your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit. However, I do apologize that the truck interrupted your sleep. We look forward to serving you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I am a platinum Marriott rewards member, and must say this was one of the best staffed Marriott's I've ever been to. Everyone from the front desk, to restaurant, to bellhops were helpful, friendly and welcoming. It is in a great location, easy parking, and a short distance from downtown. It has a great lobby,and the fried green tomato eggs benedict were scrumptious. It's what you would hope to get at any hotel stay. Bravo to entire staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsander722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at the Renaissance January 4th, 2013 with our 2 children. The hotel has a great lobby and very helpful staff. We were able to walk to a lot of restaurants and shops nearby. We will defiantly come back again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hstuartnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 66 in Asheville
993 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Asheville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Asheville Hotel

Address: 31 Woodfin St, Asheville, NC 28801-3020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: $178 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Asheville Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When staying at the Renaissance Asheville hotel, you'll be nestled among the Blue Ride and Great Smoky Mountains. Our hotel lies in the heart of downtown Asheville within walking distance to great shops and dining. On-site you'll find a 60' indoor pool, fitness center and whirlpool to enjoy. As a member of the Green Hotels Association, we understand the importance of protecting our surroundings and are proud to offer sustainable dining at our on-site restaurant Writer's Bistro. Our charming rooms offer complimentary wireless Internet, 32 inch LCD HDTV, stunning views of the Great Smoky Mountains, coffee maker/tea service, iron and ironing board, desk with ergonomic chair, marble bathroom with shower/tub combination and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Asheville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Asheville
Asheville Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing