We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location for visiting downtown Asheville”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
Ranked #28 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed in Asheville for a getaway weekend, and chose the Renaissance for the downtown location and the fact that it is a more upscale hotel. We were not disappointed.

The outside is generic looking, but looks are deceiving. Although the lobby isn't isn't huge by any means, it was gorgeous. One sitting area had the feel of a home library (if your home is the Biltmore, that is.)

Our room was very nice. Not elaborate or overly decorated, but not plain either. The bed was SO comfortable. The room was spotless and the toiletries were Aveda - which is pretty nice, I thought.

The only downsides that we saw were (1) the parking. It was just weird. There was plenty of parking around back, so finding a spot was no problem. There was just something odd about it. Another reviewer had mentioned the 'greeter' you encountered in the road, and we still weren't clear what that was about. There is a new condo across the street, so maybe they have problems with the condo using their parking. Who knows. But it was a little strange.

And we didn't find a vending machine for a simple snack. Found drink machine, but not a snack vendor. It would have been handy to have been able to buy a pack of crackers for the late night munchies.

We did encounter a problem on the 2nd night. The 1st night we had some noisy neighbors, but not excessively. The 2nd night about 2:30 in the morning there was a lot of door slamming, stomping, yelling. We waited it out and didn't call down to the desk. It did stop and we went back to sleep. That, however, isn't the hotel's fault at all. Some people are just trashy and don't know how to respect other people or other property.

All in all, our next trip to Asheville will probably take us right back here. For location, amenities, and price, we were very satisfied.

Room Tip: the higher up, the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaggieSue_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,128 - 1,134 of 1,516 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights while in Asheville for business. I chose the hotel for its convenient location downtown. While the overall look of the hotel is very nice and upscale, I was not at all impressed.
The parking situation is very inconvenient. Every time I drove into the parking lot, there was someone with a clipboard to check and make sure I was really a guest, looking up my name and I had to show them my room card. The parking lot is rather small and cramped, though there is a large lot in the back of the hotel, yet is kind of inconvenient.
In the rooms, at least 2 of the glass glasses in the bathroom were absolutely filthy on more than one day. I would have preferred individually wrapped plastic cups you find at less expensive hotels, at least I know those are clean. The floor was also not vacuumed regularly, as I found a few piles of very long, curly dark hair in the bathroom and in the room. I have very short, light hair, so I know it didn't come from me.
They provide packets of coffee in the room, however requests for Regular coffe - not decaf - were ignored.
There was a restaurant in the hotel, which was very, very expensive. Because of this, there was no complimentary breakfast. There was a refrigerator in the room, but no microwave.

Despite the convenient location, I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmj4817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed at the Asheville Renaissance for a week during a work-related retreat. The hotel lobby area has been recently updated. Rooms were comfortable but not overly spacious. The double-bed room featured a fridge, which was a nice addition. Rooms were average. I thought the bed was very comfortable, perhaps one of the most comfortable I have tried in a hotel. Air conditioning was normal volume. Stay away from the rooms behind the elevators, as you can hear the clicking of the elevator. Staff was pleasant. Fitness room was above average, with Life Fitness ellipticals and nice treadmills. Hotel includes indoor pool and hottub.
Breakfast was average, with typical cereal, fruit, eggs, sausage, bacon, biscuits, grits. I would have liked soy milk but it was not available. The omelet station was a nice touch. Skip the hotel breakfast and try the many options downtown. Most things are within a 12 minute walk. While there, ate at the Early Girl Eatery, Tupelo Honey, and Papas and Beer. All VERY good.

Room Tip: If you get placed next to the elevator, ask to be moved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twoandchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Excellent location to all amenities and travels to other attractions. Enjoyed our stay with pleasant people and great services at hand. I have to say that everyone is right! This is a fantastic place to stay! great location.. Simply loved it all!...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed here in May 2012. Our first experience was that there didn't seem to be anyone to help with the luggage. We ended up just lugging our stuff to the room over several trips. The room was very small, so we went back to the front desk to ask about a bigger room but were told that was the size to expect. The room was so small, a person sitting at the desk blocked movement otherwise, Seriously, there was only enough room for one luggage rack. The other suitcase went on the chair crammed in the corner. Bathroom - the door almost hit the toilet when you opened it.

All this for $200 a night for two nights. Since we were staying in Asheville several more nights, we quickly found other accommodations that were easily a better value. We definitely expected more when staying at the Renaissance.

The staff was very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MClevenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Liked the downtown location, as we walked all over downtown Asheville. The decor. Was recently updated, and quite attractive. The bathroom was small and very tight quarters. For a hotel of this quality, I guess I thought the club level should have offered more in the way of snacks, and it is only open during the week. The food in the restaurant was good for breakfast, and the staff was nice.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank steelpanwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I love the rooms and service at the Renaissance Asheville! The location makes it ideal for personal anx professional travelers. The lobby and bar areas and the restaurant have recently received a bright update. I will be back one noticeable missing detail is the concierge lounge and breakfast area. Having just stayed at the Marriott in South Park with a very special coffee bar; i was truly disappointed when upon arrival as a Gold member; stopped upstairs in the concierge level only to find coffee and powdered creamers; additionally the breakfast fruit wasn't presented nor the breakfast so i weng downstairs go the restaurant which was fine. So, why my complaint? This is a beautiful hotel and those extra touches are alwayz noticed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbara5650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#20 of 66 in Asheville
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AC Hotel Asheville Downtown
#40 of 66 in Asheville
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Asheville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Asheville Hotel

Address: 31 Woodfin St, Asheville, NC 28801-3020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: $163 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Asheville Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When staying at the Renaissance Asheville hotel, you'll be nestled among the Blue Ride and Great Smoky Mountains. Our hotel lies in the heart of downtown Asheville within walking distance to great shops and dining. On-site you'll find a 60' indoor pool, fitness center and whirlpool to enjoy. As a member of the Green Hotels Association, we understand the importance of protecting our surroundings and are proud to offer sustainable dining at our on-site restaurant Writer's Bistro. Our charming rooms offer complimentary wireless Internet, 32 inch LCD HDTV, stunning views of the Great Smoky Mountains, coffee maker/tea service, iron and ironing board, desk with ergonomic chair, marble bathroom with shower/tub combination and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Renaissance Asheville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Asheville
Asheville Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing