We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Marriott's Jewel in Asheville”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
Ranked #27 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Reviewed May 31, 2011

This is my 3rd stay at this hotel and nothing has changed. It is still the standard marriott with large rooms and all the standard amenities. Great location for exploring the city on foot, room service is quick and very good. Service staff is excellent with lots of opinions about where to go, where to eat, what to see and do. I arrived in desperate need of a haircut and after asking a man at the front desk for a recommendation he pointed me to a local barbershop that was great and didn't charge an exhorbitant amount. My only complain about the hotel is the small size of the bathrooms. Other than that they are still the nicest place to stay as far as I am concerned when you want to explore Asheville on foot.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haroldws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,254 - 1,260 of 1,490 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2011

Odd, but it did smell like feet when we got off of the elevator on the fourth floor. In the room, it wasn't quite as bad, but my husband saw that there was a connecting door to the adjoining room. He has a strong distaste for that, so I called down to the front desk, and they moved us into a non-adjoining room on the third floor, which did not smell like feet at all.

It is fairly obvious that this former Radisson is an older hotel by the size of the rooms, but everything has been completely refurbished and is updated and decor is modern and nicely appointed.

The location is great for walking to downtown Asheville eateries and bars, and it tends to be much less expensive than more boutique hotels in the area.

The staff deserves special props-everyone was uber pleasant and helpful. We already have reservations to stay again in June.

Room Tip: The fourth floor smells like feet. Be warned.
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank tpoakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

We were apprehensive about staying at the Renaissance after reading some of the reviews. However, we were relieved after staying there for two nights and with a Rotary Convention in Town to have a quiet and restful stay. The restaurant is good for breakfast. We recommend the breakfast buffet for value and quality. The rooms are clean and the staff friendly and responsive.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelWell040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

I checked into this hotel with three rooms. At 2am people started knocking on our doors and yelling all drunk. My sister was pregnant and woke up screaming in a panic.

I understand that thus happens sometimes. But the most shocking part was that when I mentioned this to the front desk, they were least bothered and never e ben once uttered an apology. Instead Tammy the front desk clerk goes "what is so surprising about people knocking on the door" I am an employee in the hotel industry and I have never heard such an ignorant reply ever. If this is there mindset towards service then this is appalling. The other most shocking part is that either a front office manager or GM was standing right next to the front desk, heard it all and did not do anything. She just played deaf. She is still patrolling the front desk, but I guess she has missed the most part of her duty "service". Very sad

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kblitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

Nice place easy downtown Location and good deal going with priceline

Room Tip: book ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ridge18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Priceline hotel for $55/night. It was well-located for walking around downtown and had free parking. It fit our needs perfectly. It's not as charming as some of the non-chain options in Asheville but I have nothing negative to say about it.

The front desk was friendly and helpful at getting you to all the tourist sites. It's also a stop for the Gray Line trolley and right next to the Thomas Wolfe memorial house.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schlegal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

We normally stay at a cabin, but this was a last minute trip. We were very comfortable and couldn't ask for better service. We enjoyed the convenience of walking downtown and enjoying the unique shops. Relaxing trip.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCHousewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 66 in Asheville
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Asheville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Asheville Hotel

Address: 31 Woodfin St, Asheville, NC 28801-3020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: $171 - $507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Asheville Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When staying at the Renaissance Asheville hotel, you'll be nestled among the Blue Ride and Great Smoky Mountains. Our hotel lies in the heart of downtown Asheville within walking distance to great shops and dining. On-site you'll find a 60' indoor pool, fitness center and whirlpool to enjoy. As a member of the Green Hotels Association, we understand the importance of protecting our surroundings and are proud to offer sustainable dining at our on-site restaurant Writer's Bistro. Our charming rooms offer complimentary wireless Internet, 32 inch LCD HDTV, stunning views of the Great Smoky Mountains, coffee maker/tea service, iron and ironing board, desk with ergonomic chair, marble bathroom with shower/tub combination and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Asheville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Asheville
Asheville Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing