We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“my civic responsibility” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Light Cafe - CLOSED

Green Light Cafe
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Appalachia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“my civic responsibility”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

I would have rated this pleasant place very good instead of poor, but the pseudoscientific misinformation regarding the purpose of chlorophyll in the drinking water was too much for my rational mind to bear, and I consider it my civic responsibility to provide the following comment:

Because the structure of the intact chlorophyll molecule is in the same category as that of the hemoglobin molecule, the conclusion that ingested chlorophyll will enter the bloodstream and effect some kind of benefit there is in currency. There is absolutely no evidence for this and, in fact, the belief flies in the face of everything we know about chlorophyll and human digestion.

Just like the hemoglobin in the meat people eat, an ingested chlorophyll molecule will be denatured by normal stomach acid and broken down by intestinal enzymes into simpler components (this is called DIGESTION), and these will be absorbed into the blood. At that point, the material will consist of much smaller, ordinary soluble compounds along with magnesium. Magnesium is a necessary mineral nutrient, but it's not unique to chlorophyll. To sum up, it's highly unlikely that ingested chlorophyll can produce a unique salubrious effect in the bloodstream.

Is it possible that chlorophyll is somehow resistant to digestion in the human stomach and intestine but is absorbed anyway---instead of passing through like other indigestible material? In a normal person that is highly unlikely, but if it were, it would very probably be a bad thing. Large, foreign molecules of this type in the bloodstream can be potent provocateurs of immunologic responses which can be dangerous.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amateuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    1
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
244 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Green water at the Green Light”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Nice counterbalance to BBQ and heavier fare. Creative dishes, tastefully prepared. When dairy was an issue for one of us, they quickly found an alternative. Chlorophyll in the water was a nice twist.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vao_Fefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Terrific Vegan Find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

This is a quirky little restaurant. I wanted to go because they had such a plethora of vegan food yet still choices for my carnivore husband. I have to say the water they serve took us by surprise. The water is filtered and then has chlorophyll added (yes the stuff that makes plants green). The water had a very refreshing flavor (a bit like cucumber in your water).
For lunch we each chose a spelt crust margharita pizza (i opted for the daiya vegan cheese). These pizzas were delicious. The spelt gave the crust a nutty flavor and it was very filling. To end the meal we split a vegan chocolate chip cookie (fresh from the oven and so deliciously warm).
I would only recommend this place to those who are already vegetarian/vegan as I think the menu is a bit too plant based for those who might not have yet adopted that lifestyle.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Finally an excellent vegan restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

I've lived in the Asheville area for 15 years now. And finally Asheville has what I consider to be an excellent vegan restaurant. I'm not saying some other places aren't good, but none of them have what all adds up to the best of everything: great food, great service, and great prices in a really nice "good feeling" atmosphere.
This might seem mushy, but I always just feel like I'm with family when I go in there to eat. The staff is really sweet to me, and of course the food is delicious!
I like the Sunday brunch, the specials they have when I get there during the lunchtime somedays, and I love their vegan desserts!
They have a specialty water I enjoy too, at no extra charge.
I recommend this to anyone, local or visitor. Obviously I'm a great fan of this place.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank donkey j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

I love this place! The food is great, service is very, very friendly yet efficient. I feel like I'm being served by an old friend. I like to eat there during lunch a lot. But when friends come to town, I love to take them there for an evening meal. They have all been quite impressed, including two of my most picky vegan friends.
I've been there for a Sunday brunch a couple of times too, and like it a lot.
Not only are the entrees really good, but the desserts are tasty too.
And the cost to eat there is quite affordable to us. I feel like I'm paying for the food and not unnecessary fancy decor, though the place is nicely furnished.
I plan on continuing being a frequent visitor.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank firboy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Light Cafe also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing