We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eclectic Mexican Food”
Review of Lucky Otter

Lucky Otter
Ranked #301 of 793 Restaurants in Asheville
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar
Restaurant details
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Eclectic Mexican Food”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Funky local place with an original mix of ingredients in traditional Mexican "delivery systems" (tacos, burritos, etc....). The margaritas are outstanding. Service was great. Parking and seating are a little problematic, but it's for lack of space and not lack of effort or attention.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    31
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blue Ridge, GA
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“West Asheville jump-off!”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

The absolute jam. Unique, relatively inexpensive burritos. Spent a summer living near Mt. Pisgah and would go there on day's off. When I lived in town, I would make the trip from east to west for a jerk or Thai burrito. Or maybe two burritos and three margaritas (so good).

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shakeyron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Food is great”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Their regular menu as well as daily specials are always a pleasure to the palate. They have their own home made margaritas and beer on tap all at a fair price. The building has its own ambiance, but don't let that fool you. You will enjoy the time there and the food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimmcma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

A good price. We got the salsa sampler, a wise choice. The tomatillo is dry like a Middle Eastern salsa, the guacamole tasted of bacon or beans. I got the BBQ burrito; the bbq was sweet. My paramour got the philly and LOVED it; he added a hot sauce which he wanted to purchase for home. My finicky son reluctantly ordered the nachos and cheese which he claimed was not good (perhaps because I told him if he didn't like it I would take him to Wendy's after). However, his plate was clean when we left. I also had a mimosa which was super-sparkling. We liked the easy in-easy out. A great experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Livelikethelocals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Atmosphere.......Great Service......Delicious !”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Had the Elvis-in-a-bowl. Excellent ! There's lots of local beer here also. My friend had the
"Jerk" burrito.....WOW ! This little place is a treasure.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HollyDiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucky Otter also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Lucky Otter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing