We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Mexcellent”

El Chapala Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #322 of 781 Restaurants in Asheville
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
322 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexcellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We were surprised by the great food served. So many "Mexican" restaurants serve the same old things. Don't understand others who call this bland. We'd go back in a flash.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guhor1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    38
    8
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Longueuil, Canada
Level Contributor
224 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Mexican food at its blandest!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

The operative word for this restaurant is BLAND! I had a margarita...and it's made with cheap commercial margarita mix. I ordered the flautas...they were tasteless at best. Even the guac was awful. All in all,. it's best to stay away from this place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RAPLongueuil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food and value, the real deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

This seems to be family run with the entire staff speaking Spanish - a good sign. Informal atmosphere. I ordered the Texas (combo) fajitas and they were out of this world. Absolutely delicious and only $10. Unbelievable. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringgold, Georgia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great, fast service with above average Mexican fare. The wait staff was very attentive when we came in with a large group and needed to be in and out fast. Everyone was happy with their food.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jkschroder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huffman, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Great Mexican Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Food was very good and price is reasonable. Portions are large.Green sauce was not what I expected being from Texas but it was good.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marlene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Chapala Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to El Chapala Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing