We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first hostel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Asheville Hostel & Guest House
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“My first hostel experience”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I honestly can't compare to other hostels, but I had a nice experience here. Location is top notch, as we we were walking distance from the downtown area. The rooms were simple yet clean. There is a big sense of community, and interesting people to share stories with in the living room. The "rules" are easy to follow: basically, take care of your own mess and put things back. I was there for a wedding and there was a large group of us staying in their care. The multiple houses really made for a great experience. The caretaker was flexible in a variety of ways to accommodate us; It was like a family reunion. I'd definitely recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OfeDaizy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    32
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
31
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Great place to stay. Staff was very friendly and helpful, accommodations were fantastic for the price, and the location is so convenient for anything downtown. The house was clean and felt like home. Would definitely stay here next time we're in Asheville.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaneyforkriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is probably the nicest hostel I've stayed at, ever. It's clean, comfy, and the people who work there are friendly and helpful. Especially BJ, the manager. I came here with my dad (who is notoriously finicky) and he thought it was wonderful. The house itself is beautiful too!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kjf256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was our third stay in the hostel with our two girls, and we continue to be extremely pleased with the atmosphere, the friendly hospitality, the clean bedrooms and bathrooms, and the convenient location to everything downtown. Even though it is a youthful place, it is not a loud party place. You can actually get a good night's sleep, which is not always the case with hostels. BJ, the owner, is very friendly and available whenever you have a question about the hostel or Asheville in general. We are already looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johntennessee2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My partner and I enjoyed the homey atmosphere of this old house as an alternative to a motel/hotel. We felt very welcome by the staff person who met us at the door when we called upon arrival...even though it's designated as a youth hostel and we're no longer officially youth. Our room was very basic, but clean and quiet. The hall bath worked out fine and the open kitchen came in handy as a place to sit and make a cup of tea. The outside was a little unkempt, but we were very comfortable staying here and walking to downtown restaurants, bakeries, theaters, etc. We would like to stay here again on our next visit to Asheville.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NealB37093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I had stayed in the Arthaus Hostel several years ago and found this place in the same block by looking for that place. The same man owns or manages both, apparently. Both times I found the location ideal, the house and bedroom and kitchen and bathroom and common spaces clean, airy, well-maintained. I'd recommend it to anybody who doesn't want a sterile motel/hotel franchise experience.

Room Tip: Choose a room that sleeps the number in your party early or you'll have to take one larger than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hostel was the best for our budget and overall stay in asheville. We stayed at a crappy motel 6 the night before which was about $60 for the night, seemed really seedy and was over 15min from downtown. The hostel was an 11min walk from its side of town to the other and the owners were extremely friendly and gave us all kinda of info about places to go and how to get to them. The hostel has shared rooms and private rooms all for a good price but we payed a little extra to get a private bungalow that they have behind the house. It was spacious and comfortable and best of all we could safely walk to anywhere downtown. The private rooms are cheaper than most hotels with access to living areas and a full kitchen. The bungalow was inexpensive as well and comes with a full bathroom and small kitchen area. We will definitely stay there again on our next trip through Asheville.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowleyisaband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 65 in Asheville
961 reviews
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 65 in Asheville
724 reviews
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 65 in Asheville
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asheville Hostel & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asheville Hostel & Guest House

Property: Asheville Hostel & Guest House
Address: 16 Ravenscroft Dr, Asheville, NC 28801-3637
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Asheville's International Private Bedroom Youth Hostel & Guest House. Keyed bedrooms, shared lockable bathrooms. Tiny House is the only room with bathroom in room. Check pricing, availability and reserve online. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Asheville Hostel & Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing