We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum”
Review of Eating Asheville

Eating Asheville
Ranked #2 of 33 Food & Drink in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover incredible sights and tastes on our walking food tours with Asheville's ultimate foodies! Find out why Asheville is one of the nation's fastest growing culinary hot spots. From Asheville's most famous chefs to local favorites, our tours are always a blast! Join us as we eat, drink, and walk Asheville one bite at a time.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

A great way to experience some different restaurants in downtown Asheville. This was our 4th trip to Asheville and we finally started trying some new restaurants (thanks to this tour). We had gotten stuck on a couple wonderful places and didn't want to go outside of our comfort zone, so glad we tried this tour! We ended up eating at 3 of the restaurants on the tour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lenzylamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    887
    82
    22
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Don't miss out!!!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We found this on TripAdvisor and immediately booked the High Roller tour...a splurge for our birthday. Best decision over!!! Stephen (one of the owners) was our tour guide and everything was done perfectly. We had 7 stops with 5 drinks and some Asheville trivia to boot. Each place was a little different and we got a great sampling of the awesome food scene in Asheville. In fact, we were so impressed, we immediately booked dinner at one restaurant and returned for brunch the next day at another. And all of the locations were very accomodating of food allergies and preferences so don't let that deter you from this experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank noodle1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Getting to see my town from another perspective!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Being in the hospitality industry allows me to always be at the forefront of the latest and greatest events that are happening in this magical city! This adventure is filled with great key points of the city that I didn;t know about. The humor that Stephen adds to his tours make for a very entertianing and totally enjoyable afternoon. You get to meet some interesting perople that are visiting the area and get to try some fabulous food and drinks--loved that Limones tried something on us before it makes to their menu, talk about pushing the experience.
All in all, make sure you book this when you come to Asheville-- he fills quickly!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zambelligori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is my 4th foodie tour, each one in a different U.S. city. I've come to love the combination of light history of the city, a walk around the foodie district and of course, the sampling of foods at different locations.
Eating Asheville did not disappoint! Our guide, Stephen, greeted each tour member personally and engaged us throughout the tour. The stops were well thought-out and delicious, at some of the top restaurants in Asheville. But not only did we have 6 or 7 very generously sized samples, we also had accompanying alcoholic beverages at almost every stop.

One big plus on this particular tour was that every stop allowed us a place to sit down and enjoy our small plates.

By the way, my two sons, aged 20 and 16 accompanied us on the tour. While they obviously could not have the alcoholic drinks, the restaurants did provide them with very nice substitute concoctions. My young son is also a vegetarian and each restaurant made sure to provide him with a comparable and delicious option when necessary.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Don't Postpone Joy"”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is the moto of one of the owners of one of the six awesome places that we stopped at on Saturday's Tour. It is also my recommendation to those of you planning a trip to Asheville. Don't Postpone Joy, book a tour today. Like some of the other reviewers I recommend taking the tour on your first day, so that you can plan the rest around things you learn from the guides. Staurt and Carrie (sorry if I am spelling those incorrectly) were extrodinary tour guides, they not only knew the back stories of all of the restaurants, but had a lot of great recommendations for the rest of the trip. Since they rotate the restaurants I won't go done the whole list of were we toured, but Chestnut and Zambra were stand outs of the day. We ended our day with delicious chocolate at the famous French Broad Chocolate Lounge. That was an even bigger treat after we saw the line wrapped around their building on our way back to the hotel after dinner. Just hours before that our tour group used a private room and got to hear about the history and work of French Broad Chocolates all without the wait. So again, I can't recommend Eating Asheville enough!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank msmarek08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eating Asheville also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Eating Asheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing