We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Tacos in a funky place !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Duck Taco Shop

White Duck Taco Shop
Ranked #35 of 775 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Almonte, Canada
Level Contributor
182 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good Tacos in a funky place !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

As other reviewers have noted, this place is a little out of the way, but worth the effort. The place was buzzing when my wife and I arrived just before noon on a very cold day. Too cold to eat outside but there were still tables inside. There is a chalk board that shows the tacos of the day other items. The lady at the counter suggested we order a couple of tacos each. We ordered Fish, Bangkok Shrimp. Jerk Chicken and Buffalo Chicken tacos. We also ordered some chops and salsa. They give you a number and you go find a table and they bring the food to you. Our chips and salsa arrived quickly and the homemade salsas were excellent. Shortly our tacos arrived. They were all very tasty and full of fresh ingredients. They may look small, but they are filling. We both loved all of the tacos we ordered. Unfortunately we are leaving Asheville tomorrow or we would be back. Do not miss this place. The food is excellent and the price is very reasonable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    574
    255
    71
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
172 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great tacos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Found this thru TripAdvisor, then got a recommendation from an Asheville resident. The tacos were delicious, but I'd hate to be there on a day that was busier than a cold Wednesday in mid-March! I'm almost afraid to recommend it, because we'll never be able to get in the next time we go to Asheville.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
104 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Tasty, cheap eats for a great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Came here with my family. Everyone had a taco (tilapia is on so the most popular) chips/salsa and a beer. The food was very good and cheap! The selection of beer was not vast (2-3 on tap) if they had a larger beer selection it would be a better place to visit. The chips/salsa was great! I'd rather just eat that than tacos most days. 5 people ate for $30! We ate outside in the sunshine by the train tracks. The place is a little hard to find but worth search. (Building has large orangish roof and says Hatchery)

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashd0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
306 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
“Duck-Like Conditions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you are looking for unique tacos in a funky location, you will have to make the White Duck Taco Shop a stop on your itinerary! My husband and I have been wanting to eat at this River Arts District (RAD) restaurant for a long time. We finally found time to have lunch with some friends who live in the city.
Unfortunately, the weather was miserable the day we went. The parking lot is a dirt and gravel parking lot. Despite water ponding in areas, the ground was hard enough that the red clay did not stick to our shoes. Rain meant that no one was eating outside at the numerous tables thus seating was extremely limited for our lunch. Somehow we ended up snagging a table as soon as people eating there left.
Tacos here are the soft shell variety. The choices almost seem endless. We had a hard time choosing, but we ended up with four that we shared: Black Bean, Spicy Buffalo Chicken, Fish, and Steak & Cheese. Of the four tacos, the black bean was just fair. I thoroughly enjoyed the Spicy Buffalo Chicken taco. We both thought the marinated fish taco had a lot of flavors. It was not as good as the ones one gets in San Diego, though. And, the Steak & Cheese was great pleasant surprise. Who would have thought of this as a taco? Apparently, the owners did and have used tender meat to go in it.
Due to it being so busy, we did not have a chance to get the highly-recommended Coconut Macaroon Pie with Salted Caramel. Our friends confirmed it is a delight to end a lunch with this dessert.
While the food gets five-stars, the primitive interior gives the overall rating for White Duck Taco just four stars. The next time we are in Asheville, a stop at this RAD restaurant will be mandatory.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MagyarNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piedmont of NC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yummy tacos, unique experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Unique selection of tacos. Shabby chic interior. No frills interior and service. Think tacos were around $3.50 each. We tried gyro, fish, buffalo chicken and bangkok shrimp. The shrimp and chicken were our favorites, we definitely hope to get back to try more. We went early on Sat. to avoid crowd.
Stay away from salted carmel macroon dessert, not worth it. Kind of a sour note to our otherwise delicious dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank onamissionap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Duck Taco Shop also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to White Duck Taco Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing