We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Downtown Inn & Suites
Ranked #44 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Cheap but Great”
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Stayed for two nights. Great location to terrific restaurants and the nightlife. Felt safe, clean room. At breakfast across the street at Tupelo Honey Cafe.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Politicurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    256
    122
    54
    56
See reviews for
92
284
34
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

I can only reason that management has undergone some major changes in the last year or two, as our experience with this hotel is in direct opposition to most of the other reviews here! The front desk staff were all twenty-somethings who were really helpful and upbeat. Special shout out goes to Ryan who was charming and gave us a courtesy call about 15 min after we got upstairs to make sure everything was up to our satisfaction. It was! We were on the street side, which we really enjoyed b/c we are both smokers and people watchers and the large outside walkways afforded us much of both. It was a little loud in the mornings, but our three year old son had no trouble sleeping and neither did we. The bathroom ceilings are comedically low, but there was a great working mini fridge and microwave in our room, plus cable and free wifi. Look, this is a 50.00 a night hotel. It is what it is, and what I think it is is a STEAL! We walked everywhere we wanted to shop and eat, our son had an amazing time, and I can't fathom staying anywhere else, unless you are just a hotel snob. I will say that when we checked in on Wed night, the rooms all around us were empty so it was quiet. When we checked out on Friday morning, they were filling up really quickly. Weekends might be different, but as far as our experience goes we couldn"t have been happier to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillandjuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

I have to say the other reviews were right on! This hotel is within walking distance of everything in downtown Asheville at HALF the price of other hotels downtown. It looks like a "no-tell motel" on the outside, but inside the rooms are clean, the showers hot, beds comfortable and the continential breakfast was worth the price. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wvumorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

We have stayed in this hotel a few times before for new years and this last time was the best. This hotel is very old, but they have made some improvements since the last time we stayed. The hotel is in the heart of Downtown so you can walk to everything in the downtown area. The rooms are no Hilton or Hampton Inn (where we usually stay) for that matter, but the room (no frills) was VERY clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom has been updated a little bit which amazingly made a significant improvement of the look, A heck of a lot better than the mis-matched tile that we have encountered during previous visits. I am not sure if all rooms have had this update, but ours did. The room is also equipped with a small fridge, microwave, hair dryer, and coffee maker. Unfortunately the rooms do not have an iron and ironing board, so if you need an iron, bring your own, but they do have an ironing board that you can take to your room. You just need to ask for it. The only negative thing I would have to say is that our room was on the front of the hotel facing the street. We forgot to request a room facing the back with a great view of the mountains, but that was our fault, so if you like to sleep late be sure to request a "moutain view" room. Overall, I give this hotel a "Very Good" rating based on service, cleanliness, location, and value. BTW, they allow pets for a very reasonable rate!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasonnnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

From the outside the hotel looks pretty sad. However the helpful staff, the clean room with its comfy bed made it a great place to stay. It's location is so convenient!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChapelHillExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garner, NC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

We were a little hesitant about staying here, although most of the reviews on tripadvisor had been postive, you just don't know till you see for yourself! We were very pleasantly surprised! From the outside the hotel does look bad, but our rooms were very clean and comfortable and appeared to be recently updated. We were traveling with another couple and had asked to have our rooms located close together, on the same floor. At first they'd assigned us to the same floor, but on opposite sides of the hotel (this hotel has outside corridors to access the rooms) and we were on the city side, very noisy etc. So we talked to the front desk and they were able to move us to the other (quiet) side with mountain views - MUCH NICER!!! So be sure to ask for the mountain side. We were in 512 and 516 and it really was quite nice, and the views/sunset were very nice! This hotel is in a great location, plenty of FREE parking and within walking distance of everything downtown. We visited several eateries and shops. We also drove over to Black Mountain's downtown area - where there is also lots of neat little shops and places to eat. Drove up to The Grovemont Inn and explored the hotel - very nice and, again great views of the downtown area! This was a great vacation and getaway! I'd also recommend taking the Food Tour and Better Tours - Ghost Trolley tour.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reddy2goGarner_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2010

This review has been a long time coming. I have just been too busy to tap out complimentary words. So, the wife and I were evacuated from Hatteras Island this Summer due to a Hurricane (or "an" Hurricane if above Philadelphia). We stayed in a
"whatever box hotel" somewhere in mid-state North Carolina, then decided to make our way further west the next day. I found the Downtown Inn and Suites on the net during our stay at the "Whatever Box." Long story short, we went.

Okay, I was a little scared of the outside and the Lobby. I said to the wife "we don't have to stay here." Get your mind PAST the exterior and lobby! Because I swear for staying in the BEST location in downtown Asheville you will NOT find a better place. The rooms are spotless, the views lovely, and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

Turns out that Dr. Patel now owns the hotel and is re-vamping everything and started with the most important part.... YOUR ROOM. There is plenty of safe parking, I could throw a football and hit the "Arcade" if i wanted to. Their pool seems lovely. The continental breakfast that includes some 'hot' items is open till noon. There are laundry facilities with free soap, which was very helpful for a couple of Hatteras Island refugees.

I am writing this now because I was reminded to, as I am about to book our next stay. Do yourself a favor and stay a few days at the Downtown Inn and suites. really. If you have any questions, email me at Finalplay1969@yahoo.com

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arkansasfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 66 in Asheville
975 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Inn & Suites

Property: Downtown Inn & Suites
Address: 120 Patton Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-3241 (Formerly Days Inn)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Downtown Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Downtown Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Inn And Suites
Downtown Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing