We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not our ideal place” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Downtown Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Downtown Inn & Suites
Ranked #42 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
leigh, Lancs
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not our ideal place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2008

Having spent the previous night in Waynesboro, Virginia we heard about Asheville and how nice it was. We were originally en-route to Gatlinburg but when we saw signs for Asheville we decided to check it out.
We called in at the local Welcome Centre to get a list of hotels in walking distance of the downtown area and were told the Days Inn was right in the middle. The lady at the Welcome Centre rang to see if they had a room available and then told us about various things going on in the area, she made Asheville sound very pretty so we made our way to the hotel with the intention of staying for at least 2 nights!
When we arrived we were a bit shocked because Asheville was not as we'd expected and certainly not as described in the Welcome Centre. And the hotel is right on the corner of a very busy road with the rooms on the 2nd floor where we were at street level so that along with the outside walkways gives you no privacy in your room unless you close the curtains shutting out all the light.
There was also a language barrier with the staff even though we were english!
We decided it was too late to go elsewhere so just booked 1 night, the room was dated and basic but would do for a stopover.
We went out around the downtown area to a couple of bars for a drink and watched a drum concert in the little park just up from the hotel on Patton Avenue.
It turned out to be a good night with plenty of choice and variety but we were advised by a local not to stray off the main Patton Avenue as it was not safe because of gangs of lads.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pammy8891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    240
    117
    52
    53
See reviews for
85
270
33
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Upper South
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2008

We chose this hotel because it was near a concert venue. There is no way to understate how horrible it was. The lobby was not air conditioned and smelled of sweat and smoke. There were some late-teen or 20-something employees lounging about with friends. Junk was everywhere. Still, we asked for a key and took a look at our room. Everything in it was worn and tattered. The bathroom smelled badly and looked dirty. Out back there was a dry swimming pool surrounded by a rusty chain link fence. Don't let anyone fool you with rave reviews about this place -- it was downright scary. We left.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CiscoCrooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, GA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2008

As everyone has said, this hotel is in the perfect location but is awful. It is one of those that your mother would tell you when you enter the room, "do NOT touch the phone, the remote control, or bedspread, and do NOT walk on the carpet in your barefeet." The front desk staff was nice but the lobby was depressing at best. The hotel offers a breakfast bar, we declined just because of the appearance of the room.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Anything other than the location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Snellvillemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2008

This Days Inn is in about as good a location as you can get in Asheville. That's about all I can say in praise of this place. It's not a very attractive hotel, to start with. A bit run down, almost seedy. Our room smelled not unlike sewage which we attributed to the fact that there was a BAD leak under the sink and the carpeting below was soaked. When I told the desk boy while checking out the next morning, he was at best indifferent, though I think I detected latent hostility in his response. Oh well, if you want to stay downtown in a pretty cool city, opt for the Four Points.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Smell of room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank palmetto1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2008

I made reservations on 13 May 08 for the night of 7 June 2008. I requested 2 double, adjoining, non-smoking rooms. On the 5th of June I called the Hotel directly to confirm reservation and that the rooms were adjoining and was assured that my reservation was confirmed and correct. Upon arrival on 7 June I was informed that our rooms were on the 2nd & 4th Floors (Hardly adjoining) and that one of these rooms was a smoking room. The only thing the desk staff managed to do right was offer to call the other Days Inn in Asheville. Of course they had only one room available. The access to this hotel is terrible, it is located at an intersection with very poor visibility. The driveway into the hotel is like a dungeon and if you have a vehicle larger than a compact car good luck parking in the cramped parking lot. We never made it to a room here but the outside of the building was at best in very poor condition and very run down. The lobby was not dirty but in my opinion could have been in much better shape. Since it was after 8 pm when we arrived to check in (again I conveyed this information with the confirmation call) We then had the added headache of finding other accomodations since we were traveling with 2 adults our 2 daughters and son. I would Highly recomend the Hilton on Tunnel Rd. in Asheville. These folks were outstanding, sympathetic to the situation & were very accomodating for our overnight stay.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank NixDraco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2008

Overall, the worst hotel experience in recent memory. I contacted the Days Inn corporate about this 'franchise' and was sent back an e-mail saying the property management? would contact me about my issues. The very people who caused the issues are going to say something to defend thier horrible hotel? I find the Days Inn corporate brand managers response ridiculous. I suggested they investigate themselves, and then remove the franchise. Would McDonalds allow thier name to remain on a dirty, run down, poorly managed location, after hundreds of customer complaints? No way.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Viperfreak2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Missouri
Level Contributor
177 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2008

Great, great location; but a so, so experience. Paid $66.00 (5/26/08, tax included) for a king room for two adults with free parking and continental breakfast. One block from downtown, near a number of nice restaurants and wonderful, eclectic shopping. The motel is very rundown, but linens and bath were acceptably clean. If you are looking for a posh experience, this is not the place for you. But, if you are value conscious and willing to put up with a bit of fraying around the edges, then this motel will work for you. Good value and terrific location.

  • Liked — Location, value
  • Disliked — Rundown condition
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 68amx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 63 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Inn & Suites

Property: Downtown Inn & Suites
Address: 120 Patton Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-3241 (Formerly Days Inn)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Downtown Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Downtown Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Inn And Suites
Downtown Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing