We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Downtown Inn & Suites
Ranked #43 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Value, Excellent Location”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

The Downtown Inn is a perfect place for anyone looking to have fun downtown and not spend all their cash on hotel. It is located right in the center of the action, so it can can get noisy if you have a room that faces the street. We came to Asheville to enjoy the nightlife, so it didn't bother us. We checked in and there was a discrepancy between the Hotels.com charge and the actual bill. The Front Desk handled it in a friendly manner and there were no issues. The room reminded me of a typical motel that you find in any tourist area. It was clean. The bed was much more comfortable than I expected. The rooms are motel-style, but there are security gates. We felt safe, You get free breakfast with your stay, too. It's better than the average continental layout and there is plenty of good hangover food. The staff was always friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful time in Asheville and we will definitely stay at the DI again.

If you are planning a trip to Asheville, I recommend you read the reviews and match your wants and needs to your hotel. If you want a friendly, clean, comfortable, central place to lay your head and keep your stuff, this is the best value.

Room Tip: I mentioned this in my review, but if you are a light sleeper who likes to go to bed early, I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    249
    118
    53
    53
See reviews for
87
276
33
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Asheville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Check in process was slow, and reception staff not overly friendly but otherwise hotel stay was great. Clean,comfortable and affordable. I stay here every trip to Asheville, great location and meets travel needs.




  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Our stay consisted of 2 wonderful nights! The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff was helpful and friendly, We received a call shortly after checking in to make sure we were happy with the accommodations upon arrival. We were initially overcharged for the room, but it was fixed and had no problem with the express check-out.
We parked the car and never had reason to move it. All of the restaurants and microbrews were within walking distance.
The free breakfast is served until noon and constantly being refreshed and tended to by the staff. Such a great value and even had a hot serving line with biscuits, eggs, and sausage!
The owner is making improvements and renovations, as this is an older motel. We were extremely pleased with all aspects and will most definitely WILL BE returning!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antarctica
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

If you're looking for a spotless, modern place, this is not for you. If you're looking for a comfortable place to stay with a great location at a great value, here it is.
The place is certainly past its prime, but it's very adequate and does the job. The location is amazing, the price is probably the cheapest in downtown, and the parking is free.
To be clear, even though the place needs updating, we did not find it dirty, unsafe, or inhospitable in any way. It's an average hotel room with some great features.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank static1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Downtown Inn and suites is all about giving a little and getting a little. What do you have to give up: Newer accommodations, recently remodeled rooms and a fancy presentation.
What do you get: one of the best centralized lodging locations for your stay in Asheville. Without a doubt, it is a perfect location to start your visit.
Walk across the street and you can visit Wall Street and the Grove Arcade. (It is not the type of arcade that you may be thinking about, but rather the term that was used to describe a building that focused on the intermingling of businesses and living spaces in the 1920’s.
Directly to the right of the hotel is a short walk to a small beer and wine shop, restaurants and various shops.
I try to get a room facing the street (room #203 is a good choice). Please note that this is actually what I always termed a motel because the room doors open to the outside and not to a hallway, such as a hotel. As soon as you open the room door on the second floor, you are facing the street.
There is a lot that could be done to renovate this facility, but in doing so it might honestly take away some of the ironic charm.

Room Tip: I have stayed on both sides of the motel, and I prefer the side facing the mountains in the winter m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnnydurango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Downtown Inn & Suites is in an excellent location in Asheville, and the price for its proximity to Asheville bars and restaurants is phenomenal. The rooms we had were older, motel-style rooms with a standard layout and few amenities, but we didn't pick the hotel to spend much time in the rooms.

Complementary breakfast was a little lackluster; the sausage sandwiches and patties were a little frightening, but there was a good selection of cereals and juices.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen City
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Great location. I love parking the car and not having to get back in until I leave town. Not a fancy place but they are clean enough and very reasonably priced. They even allow pets, love having my four-legged friend with me!

Room Tip: Mountain side is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faunista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Inn & Suites

Property: Downtown Inn & Suites
Address: 120 Patton Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-3241 (Formerly Days Inn)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Downtown Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Downtown Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Inn And Suites
Downtown Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing