We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“downtown location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Downtown Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Downtown Inn & Suites
Ranked #42 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
North Port
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“downtown location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

If you want to be close to the action, this hotel is for you. It is a old hotel and needs to be updated, but our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The pool looks nice but is heated by the sun, which means it is cold. Breakfast is same as many hotels, bagels, powder eggs, biscuits and gravy. Nothing fancy but is included in the stay. The best thing about this hotel is the location, if your a club hopper, this hotel is ideal since no driving required.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TOBYDOG145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    240
    117
    52
    53
See reviews for
85
270
33
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Just stayed there. Yeah, the decor is a bit dated and, from the outside, it may not be the most appealing but our stay there was awesome. Sure, the rooms are not perfect and may seem a bit dingy (it's not going to be like a Marriott or Hilton) but they are CLEAN. We didn't hear much street noise although we were on the backside and it was a Sunday night. The FREE breakfast is great. Waffles, bagels, fruit, biscuts and gravy, muffins, everything you get a nicer hotel continental breakfast. The best was very comfy. The best thing was, it is a great staging point for bar hopping. Bars right across the street, down a side street, all over the place. We are planning on staying there next year as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glimmertwin70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
89 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Right in downtown Asheville, and half the price of most places. Walking distance to all the bars and restaurants. Make no mistake- this is a big retro motel with the old-style outside doors, but they've done a great job keeping it up. I had some unease at the front desk, based on the appearance and atmosphere of the check-in area. However, the room was spotless and comfortable. The breakfast was big and fresh, with lots of options. Add in the nice views of the town and the funky/groovy pool area, and this place is a great bang for your buck. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Urban_Hillbillly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I were looking to get away for a few days for our anniversary and we stayed at the Downtown Inn & Suites. Yes, as others have said, it is an older hotel . . . BUT it is very clean and all the staff we dealt with, from the front desk to the cleaning staff were extremely friendly and personable. The location was perfect. We were able to walk to dinner every night. We enjoyed the pool several times too. The privacy wall with paintings of the mountains and the fountains flowing made it very relaxing. The breakfast included make your own waffles, bagels, croissants, muffins, fruit, eggs, sausage, biscuits, cereal, coffee and juice. And the price was very affordable! We will definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor facing the mountains. We had no trouble with noise at all. It was very pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

OK, don't drive by and think I am an idiot for giving this 5 stars, dig a little deeper to see what I am talking about. I just stayed in Asheville and decided on the Downtown Inn & Suites after reading all the reviews on Tripadvisor. I had to laugh out loud when one reviewer upon initially seeing the place said, "what have I gotten into?" They're updating the outside, however it does look a little odd since you enter on what appears to be the basement side in the garage. But, really, don't judge a book by this cover, you will not get the prize.

So, it's a tad outdated, but it's clean, very clean. The people behind the desk and the cleaning crew are all terrific, kind, sincere, friendly, helpful, all you could ask for. Bear in mind that you can't stay here if you are a local, only those living outside of Asheville can say here.

Our room was a king bed facing the mountains in the back on the 5th floor, perfect. A small table and chairs, a flat screen TV, a microwave, refrigerator, coffee pot, a desk, very comfy bed............comfortable, quiet, clean, met all my expectations and I can be picky too!

We stayed 3 nights at the beginning of our southern road trip and 3 nights at the end, so we have a really good idea of the place and the service. They offer a complimentary breakfast which had little omelets and sausage patties along with cereal, bagels, pastries, and more. There is a small swimming pool next to the dining area. There are two elevators, one conveniently located outside next to the parking lot, which made loading and unloading the car really easy. It is a couple of blocks from the center of Asheville, so you can walk into town and find a wonderful restaurant, night spot or that glorious chocolate lounge which is a whole other post! You are centrally located and close to everything in downtown Asheville.

On our second stay, I noticed that our room did not have a table, it was simply empty in the corner. So, my husband went downstairs and told the young man who hopped right upstairs, apologized, said they were rearranging furniture and immediately carried a table and chairs directly in to our room. We didn't really expect such immediate service, we just really wanted him to know and thought perhaps the next day the maintenance crew would bring another table in. That's how all the service is in this place, they are all very friendly and sincerely earnest in their desire to be of service, including the cleaning team.

Every time we walked through the lobby, the young woman greeted us with a warm smile and a friendly hello. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will certainly return. I would recommend you give the Downtown Inn & Suites a try. Oh, and by the way, it is remarkably reasonable too. AND, they offer AAA and AARP discounts. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the mountain side are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie33107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

View is great. Nice walkability to downtown. Very clean updated rooms in an older hotel. Closest park is known for its drum circles. We were surprisingly pleased at the price and even stayed a second night. Breakfast was adequate Days Inn style, but still using styrofoam...while Asheville is supposed to be known for its forward thinking...when will hotels stop? When we all make it important.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleOma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chciago
Level Contributor
430 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

If you want something right downtown and not overly fussy, then this is your place. You can walk almost anywhere and parking is included. Yes, it is a cheaper venue and yes, the place seems a bit dicey. However, we had a great stay and the room was very clean. On this point I am very particular, because I do NOT want bedbugs traveling along. The room was adequate and what I expected. The place itself looks quite nice from the outside, just kind of funky with it's lobby on the inside. Don't be put off. Give it a chance. The pool was okay and rather scenic. The noise, for being in the midst of all the action, was really minimal. Breakfast is included and whereas it wasn't great, it was functional and had some hot items. So, if looking to spend a little less, this may be a good choice for you. If looking for a bit more, then try the Princess Anne.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boystowtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 63 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Inn & Suites

Property: Downtown Inn & Suites
Address: 120 Patton Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-3241 (Formerly Days Inn)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Downtown Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Downtown Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Inn And Suites
Downtown Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing