We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hasn't changed in over a decade”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Downtown Inn & Suites
Ranked #46 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is what it is, a place to sleep and shower between activities. The room we had was clean, if outdated. What you will receive here is friendly service, free breakfast, and a free place to park your car while you are walking around downtown. Granted, the free parking is VERY tight (no Suburbans), but if you want to pay $3, you can park in a nearby lot. I suggest that you drive a small car and check in early. This is not a froo-froo-fancy-shampoo kind of hotel. You will not be wearing a fluffy robe and drinking espresso. What you will be doing is staying downtown for under a hundred bucks a night. :)

Room Tip: Ask for mountain view - the street side is very loud
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supermo2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (594)
There are newer reviews for Downtown Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 594 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012

We've stayed several times at this very affordable hotel and will do it again and again. It is very clean, has a nice outdoor pool, and it offers an unusally good continental breakfast (including eggs, sausage, waffles, and bagels). Staff have always been friendly and attentive, and the manager Joline has always been very responsive to my occasional requests. Parking is free, and Location is a Real Big Plus if you like to indulge in this city's many nearby taverns. You can stay out as late as you want, and you never have to worry about a DUI.

Room Tip: If you do not mind the sound of water going into the pool, the mountain side rooms are very nice.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cisco289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

No frills here but it is cheap and clean. The AC worked, the phone didn't. No bed bugs, or gross stains on the carpet even though they are pet friendly. The location is perfect. The one downside is the parking lot. The spaces are cramped and there are not enough of them. The staff was nice and our room was a steal, under $200 for a weekend stay! I would definitely go back!

Room Tip: We had a room on the end that faces the street. It was nice and the noise level was fine even though...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clkiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This hotel is in the ideal location if you want to leave your car and walk the downtown area. It is convenient to all restaurants, shops, etc. It is a few minutes drive from the Visitors' Center and 10 minutes from the Biltmore and Biltmore Village. Breakfast included a variety of things such as make -your-own-waffles, sausage, biscuits, eggs, cereal. pastries, breads, yogurt, cereal, fresh fruit and of course beverages. Check-in was quick and easy. Yes, the rooms and hotel as a whole are dated but clean and we only paid, with AAA discount $71.00 per night.floors. The pool looked very nice but we didn't use it. Reading previous reviews this hotel was exactly what I expected.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors facing the mountains are very quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EndlessSummer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is certainly not the most modern, luxurious hotel in Asheville. But it is very affordable, clean and close to everything downtown. The location can't be beat - it's right across the street from Jack of the Wood and steps from the Thirsty Monk. It's an easy walk to any of the shops, restaurants and breweries downtown.
The room was a decent size, we easily fit four people. There was a fridge and microwave, and a nice big vanity area right outside the bathroom. The tile in the bathroom was definitely a little nasty. And the blankets on the beds were scratchy. But it was overall clean and quiet.
The pool area is very nice - private and clean.
The free continental breakfast was expansive - waffles, bagels, fruit, cereal, eggs etc. The lobby and room where the breakfast was served are definitely in need of renovations.
It's a great location and a great price. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoriCAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The hotel is located very close to most of the activities to see and do downtown, but you get what you pay for. You can park your car and walk to just about anywhere. The rooms are dated, and a little threadbare, but they are sufficient if you just need a place to park your head for a few hours. The staff are helpful, but not a place to take the kids.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip196672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We have two chocolate labs (each 70 lbs) and finding hotels who will welcome them can be difficult. Truthfully, we chose this hotel because of their pet policy and because it is relatively inexpensive. We didn't really care too much about how nice the rooms were. The hotel is close to the main attractions in downtown Asheville, including great restaurants and bars. Looking back, even if we didn't have the dogs, the location would have sold us. If you are going to have some drinks and don't want to have to drive, this is the place to stay. I think many of the guests were there for this purpose (although to be fair, we did stay during the weekend!).

The room was not fabulous but also not horrible. It was very clean for a pet-room which we definitely appreciated. However, the small details in the room reminded us that we were in a cheap hotel. Nothing awful, just not high-end. The bed was comfortable and the room was large enough that we didn't feel as though we were on top of each other, even with the dogs. The A/C was loud and the room was a little damp smelling. Again, though, for the price, we were fine with all of this.

There is no real green-space around the hotel which was a bit of an issue for our dogs. There is a bank across the street with some grass that our dogs used in the mornings and evenings. Make sure you take your poop bags with you to clean up after your dog!

There were a lot of "questionable" people lingering around the area. This may be because the bus depot was just across the street or it may be simply because of it's downtown location. I never felt unsafe with any of these people but it may bother others if they are not used to urban settings. (We saw several people sleeping on the sidewalk close to the bus depot and around the bank where our dogs used the grass. We also witnessed many "casualties" of a night of partying who were roaming the streets around 6:00 AM when we were walking the dogs. One in particular vomitted in each trash can as he walked down the streeet! Lol! :))

All in all, if we were to return to Asheville (which we loved!) we would consider staying at this hotel again. The price is good and their pet-friendly policy cannot be beat! Although we took our dogs with us everywhere we went, the hotel does permit guests to leave the dogs in the room while they are out. This is not something many other hotels allow. If you are staying with your dogs, I would recommend this hotel. There are a few other hotels downtown but I doubt they are anywhere near as reasonably-priced as this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to elevator #2 to prevent having to go through the lobby every time you leave y...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chocolatelabmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 66 in Asheville
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AC Hotel Asheville Downtown
#43 of 66 in Asheville
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Inn & Suites

Address: 120 Patton Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-3241 (Formerly Days Inn)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: $84 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Downtown Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Downtown Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Inn And Suites
Downtown Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing